Price guide · 7 min read
Free and Under-USD-100 AI Certificates: What the Price Actually Buys
As shown in our registry on 7 October 2026, 3 AI programs are free to take and 46 carry an accepted price under USD 100. Only 5 of those 46 are certification exams, where the figure is the fee for one exam attempt. The other 41 are access prices: they buy a month or a set period of access, not a finished certificate.
The short answer in numbers
| Price state | Programs | What the figure means |
|---|---|---|
| Free | 3 | The provider states that the course costs nothing. A certificate can still cost extra. |
| Exam fee under USD 100 | 5 | The fee for one exam attempt. Preparation and retakes are not included. |
| Access price under USD 100 | 41 | One month, or one stated access period. Not the total cost to finish. |
| Accepted price of USD 100 or more | 38 | Outside this guide. |
| Accepted price in another currency | 1 | Shown in the currency the provider states, not converted to USD. Outside this guide. |
| No accepted price | 71 | We have not accepted a figure yet. It does not mean free. |
Counts come from the registry snapshot of 7 October 2026: 159 current programs. Each figure in the tables below keeps the date it was checked.
Certification exams with a fee under USD 100
For a certification, the exam fee is the clearest price, but it is the fee alone. None of the exams below includes preparation, and a failed attempt is paid again where the provider states a retake rule. Two AWS figures are beta prices: AWS lists USD 100 as the standard price of the AI Business Strategist exam, which is not under USD 100, and the general availability fee for MLA-C02 is not stated.
| Certification | Provider | Exam fee alone | Checked | What the fee does not cover |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01 beta) | Amazon Web Services | USD 50 | 4 October 2026 | Beta price. AWS lists USD 100 as the standard exam price. Each attempt is paid at the full registration fee (AWS certification FAQ, checked 4 October 2026). |
| AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C02, beta) | Amazon Web Services | USD 75 | 4 October 2026 | Beta pricing. The general availability fee is not stated. Optional preparation is separate. |
| Claude Certified Associate - Foundations | Anthropic | USD 99 | 7 October 2026 | Open only to people at Claude Partner Network organizations. A retake is the full exam fee. |
| Google Cloud Generative AI Leader | Google Cloud | USD 99 | 4 September 2026 | One initial attempt. The USD figure is dated 4 September 2026; the US page showed $99 plus tax where applicable on 27 September 2026. Preparation and additional attempts are not included. |
| Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Fundamentals (AI-901) | Microsoft Learn | USD 99 | 4 September 2026 | United States exam region, one attempt. Payment is required for retakes if applicable; no retake amount was verified. Preparation and cloud usage are not included. |
Free programs
Free means the provider states that the course costs nothing. It does not always mean the certificate is free.
| Program | Provider | What is free | Certificate | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Introduction to AI | University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn | Course access and the certificate. | Free digital certificate after the course requirements are passed. | 13 September 2026 |
| Building AI | University of Helsinki and MinnaLearn | Course content and all exercises. | Optional certificate: EUR 50 including VAT if applicable, after a pass and a purchase. Not converted to USD. | 13 September 2026 |
| Practical Deep Learning for Coders | fast.ai | The course, and the course book online. | No certificate is stated on the captured course page. | 7 October 2026 |
Access prices under USD 100: one month is not the total
Most low prices in the registry are subscriptions. The figure buys one billing period, and the total depends on how long you keep paying. Only two records carry a provider estimate of the total: most learners finish the Google Data Analytics and Google Advanced Data Analytics certificates for under 300 USD, the provider estimates. That estimate does not guarantee a total below USD 100.
| Provider | Access price | Checked | Programs | Total cost to finish |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DataCamp | USD 35 for one month of Premium access | 6 September 2026 | Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists | No completion total is stated. |
| DataCamp | USD 35 for one month of Premium access | 8 September 2026 | AI Agent Fundamentals, AI Business Fundamentals, AI Fundamentals, Associate AI Engineer for Developers, ChatGPT Fundamentals, Deep Learning in Python, Developing AI Applications, Developing Applications with LangChain, Developing Large Language Models, Hugging Face Fundamentals, Image Processing in Python, Keras Fundamentals, MLOps Fundamentals, Machine Learning Engineer, Machine Learning Fundamentals in Python, Machine Learning Fundamentals in R, Machine Learning Scientist in Python, Machine Learning Scientist in R, Machine Learning in Production in Python, Natural Language Processing in Python, OpenAI Fundamentals, Supervised Machine Learning in Python, Supervised Machine Learning in R, Time Series in Python | No completion total is stated. |
| 365 Data Science | USD 36 for one month of Self-Study access | 9 September 2026 | AI Agent Architecture, AI Agents in Practice, Build Conversational AI Memory with LangGraph, Evaluating AI Agents: From Metrics to Real-World Impact, Intro to AI Agents and Agentic AI, Introduction to Vector Databases with Pinecone | No completion total is stated. |
| DeepLearning.AI | USD 49 per month for all four courses until the subscription ends; separately, USD 49 once for one course, with access for 180 days or until completion | 29 September 2026 | DeepLearning.AI TensorFlow Developer Professional Certificate | No completion total is stated. |
| USD 49 per month, regular subscription | 8 September 2026 | Google AI Professional Certificate | No completion total is stated. | |
| USD 49 per month after a seven-day free trial | 2 October 2026 | Google Advanced Data Analytics Professional Certificate | Provider estimate: under 300 USD for most learners. | |
| USD 49 per month after a seven-day free trial | 3 October 2026 | Google Data Analytics Professional Certificate | Provider estimate: under 300 USD for most learners. | |
| USD 49 per month after a seven-day free trial | 3 October 2026 | Google AI Essentials | No completion total is stated. | |
| USD 49 per month after a seven-day free trial | 7 October 2026 | Google Prompting Essentials | No completion total is stated. | |
| DeepLearning.AI | USD 50 for one month of Pro access | 6 September 2026 | Generative AI for Everyone | No completion total is stated. |
| IBM | USD 59 per month with Coursera Plus | 2 October 2026 | IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate, IBM AI Product Manager Professional Certificate | Annual USD 399 is an alternative plan. No completion total is stated. |
| IBM | USD 59 per month with Coursera Plus | 3 October 2026 | IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate | No completion total is stated. |
Exam fee alone versus total cost
Use an exam fee to compare exams with each other, not with a course. The total for a certification is the fee for each attempt you take plus any preparation you choose; for a subscription it is the monthly price times the months you keep it. Our records do not turn either into a single completion price unless the provider states one, and they do not convert another currency into US dollars.
Why some low-cost programs are not listed
71 current programs have no accepted price, and 1 has an accepted price in another currency only: INSEAD’s Transforming Your Business with AI, EUR 2,100, checked 5 September 2026, shown as stated and not converted to USD. Some may be free or cheap on the provider’s page, but until we accept a dated figure they are not counted as free or as under USD 100. Under USD 100 also means below 100: the AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01) exam, at USD 100 (checked 4 September 2026), is not included. The directory price filter follows the same rule: Under USD 100 shows accepted USD prices only.
For the full cost method, read The True Cost of an AI Certificate. To choose between programs, use How to Choose an AI Course or our frequently asked questions.
Compare listed program details →
Last reviewed: 7 October 2026. See the editorial policy.
← All decision guides