Program profile · official sources

Google Prompting Essentials

Google Prompting Essentials is a beginner, self-paced four-course specialization on writing clear and specific prompts for generative AI tools at work. Its courses cover a prompting framework, everyday work tasks, data analysis and presentations, and using AI as a creative or expert partner, with responsible use and checking outputs for bias and errors. No prior experience is required. Course estimates total 6 hours; the program says under 10 hours. As shown in the United States on 7 October 2026, Coursera charges USD 49 per month after an initial 7-day free trial; financial aid is available. Completion earns a certificate from Google, not a professional certification.

Facts checked 7 Oct 2026

Price
Google Prompting Essentials monthly subscription : USD 49 / month regular; As shown in the United States on 7 October 2026; U.S. and Canada.
Provider link

See price and enroll at Google (official site) ↗

Official site. No commission.

Time
Under 10 hours in the program description

The four course estimates total 6 hours, and Coursera also shows 4 hours to complete; no single guaranteed total or weekly workload is inferred.

Level
Beginner
Credential
certificate

Add this credential to your LinkedIn profile, resume, or CV. Share it on social media and in your performance review.

Prerequisites
No experience required.
Format
Online, self-paced four-course specialization with flexible scheduling.

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Chart scrolls horizontally. Open the full-size chart.

Google Prompting Essentials: USD 49; position among 40 other courses and tracks with accepted USD prices. Payment scopes differ. This price checked 2026-10-07. Registry snapshot 2026-10-07.

See the full registry price landscape. Prices retain their stated payment scope; they are not comparable completion costs.

What’s covered

  • Start Writing Prompts like a Pro
  • Design Prompts for Everyday Work Tasks
  • Speed Up Data Analysis and Presentation Building
  • Use AI as a Creative or Expert Partner

Prerequisites: No experience required.

Explore Google · Explore Coursera

What you actually do

  • Start Writing Prompts like a Pro : 2 hours; Provider-listed component course estimate; the four estimates total 6 hours and differ from the separate 4-hour top-level label. · Source
  • Design Prompts for Everyday Work Tasks : 1 hour; Provider-listed component course estimate; the four estimates total 6 hours and differ from the separate 4-hour top-level label. · Source
  • Speed Up Data Analysis and Presentation Building : 1 hour; Provider-listed component course estimate; the four estimates total 6 hours and differ from the separate 4-hour top-level label. · Source
  • Use AI as a Creative or Expert Partner : 2 hours; Provider-listed component course estimate; the four estimates total 6 hours and differ from the separate 4-hour top-level label. · Source

What the credential is

Credential type
certificate · www.coursera.org / prompting-essentials-google
Credential
Google Prompting Essentials Certificate · www.coursera.org / prompting-essentials-google
Issuer
Google · www.coursera.org / prompting-essentials-google
Sharing
Add this credential to your LinkedIn profile, resume, or CV. Share it on social media and in your performance review. · www.coursera.org / prompting-essentials-google
Credential scope
Complete the four-course program for the Google career certificate. This course-completion credential is not a professional certification. Provider does not state a standalone exam, credential expiry or renewal. · www.coursera.org / prompting-essentials-google
Exam required
provider does not state · www.coursera.org / prompting-essentials-google
Credential expires
provider does not state · www.coursera.org / prompting-essentials-google
Renewal
provider does not state · www.coursera.org / prompting-essentials-google

Total cost : access scenario

Conditional regular-price access cost: USD 49 × 1 = USD 49 for 1 × month.

One billing period of access; not a completion guarantee.

As shown in the United States on 7 October 2026; U.S. and Canada. In the U.S. and Canada, Coursera charges $49 per month after the initial 7-day free trial period. Prices may vary in other countries. Financial aid is available. Official source

This is the stated access-payment scenario, not the total price of completing the program. Completion time does not determine purchased periods. No taxes, currency conversion or future renewals are assumed.

No promotional price stated in the checked source.

Who should skip it

  • The program does not prepare you for a dedicated job as a prompt engineer; it teaches prompting skills applicable to many jobs. · Official source · 2026-10-07
  • The Specialization doesn't carry university credit, though some universities may choose to accept Specialization Certificates for credit. · Official source · 2026-10-07

Alternatives in the registry

Related by topic or level.

  • AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01) : USD 100 (One initial exam attempt; check applicable regional pricing and taxes. Optional preparation and retakes are not included.); 90 minutes (exam only; not preparation time).
  • AI Fundamentals : DataCamp Premium : USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price; Approximately 9 hours.
  • AI for Everyone : DeepLearning.AI Pro : USD 50/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price; 6h54m in the publisher overview; Coursera separately estimates 7 hours.

Change log

  • : Publishing-day recheck of official US sources; no factual change. · Source
← All programs