Program profile · official sources

Introduction to AI

A general AI introduction combining conceptual study with exercises and peer review.

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Who it is for

The recorded preparation for Introduction to AI is: No complicated math or programming required

Who should skip it

Compare a coding-focused course if your priority is implementation practice; this introduction requires neither complicated mathematics nor programming.

Official source · 2026-09-13

Facts checked 7 Oct 2026

Price
Free
(Course access and the certificate are free.)
Time
Approximately 4–8 hours per part; provider recommends finishing in 6 weeks, self-paced (duration checked 13 September 2026).
Level
Not listed
Credential
Certificate

Share the certificate URL on LinkedIn.

Format
Free online course; self-paced
Prerequisites
No complicated math or programming required

What you actually do

MinnaLearn and the University of Helsinki introduce AI definitions, problem solving, probability applications, machine-learning types, neural networks and societal implications. Exercises include peer-evaluated work, so the learning experience involves responding to others as well as completing your own material. The conceptual breadth is relevant to a first orientation rather than a specialist engineering syllabus.

The course is a useful comparison when your goal is to understand AI ideas without beginning with code. Definitions, problem solving and probability can provide a language for discussing what a system does, while the later societal topics widen the perspective beyond technical behaviour. That breadth differs from a course designed around one programming framework or application.

The exercise-based format also matters. Reading an explanation and working through a problem are different learning activities, and peer evaluation adds a social component. A learner who wants entirely independent consumption of videos should consider that participation requirement alongside the content. The required reviews are part of earning the certificate, not merely an optional community feature inferred from the platform.

No complicated mathematics or programming is required, but that does not mean every concept will be equally familiar. You can identify which ideas are new to you and use that personal starting point when judging the provider’s suggested pace. The record does not set an individual study schedule or promise that every learner finishes at the same speed.

The alternatives help separate a general conceptual overview from more tool-oriented or provider-specific introductions. Compare what you want to understand next rather than choosing solely on a free price or a certificate title. A course can be free and still require meaningful work to earn its completion credential.

For a concrete learning objective, choose an AI claim you would like to examine more carefully. You might want to distinguish a prediction from a rule, understand why uncertainty matters or discuss a system’s implications. These are ways to frame your own interest, not new assignments or outcomes promised by the provider. The course’s introductory scope can support those questions without establishing specialised implementation competence. The peer component also means that completion depends on more than reading all the chapters. Consider whether you can participate in reviewing others’ work and receiving reviews on your own submissions. That interaction is part of the stated course experience, while a wholly self-contained quiz-based course would offer a different learning arrangement.

Official source · 2026-10-07

Before you start

No complicated math or programming required

Official source · 2026-09-13

Curriculum

The provider estimates roughly four to eight hours per part and recommends six weeks, with self-paced study. These part-level estimates do not establish a fixed completion deadline or a timed examination.

EntrySubjectListed timeShareRoleObserved
1What is AI?Not statedNot calculatedChapter2026-09-13
2AI problem solvingNot statedNot calculatedChapter2026-09-13
3Real world AINot statedNot calculatedChapter2026-09-13
4Machine learningNot statedNot calculatedChapter2026-09-13
5Neural networksNot statedNot calculatedChapter2026-09-13
6ImplicationsNot statedNot calculatedChapter2026-09-13

US price

Purchase informationRecorded terms
Access and billingCourse access and the certificate are free.
Refund and retakesRefund and retake terms are not established in these stored policy fields.

Official source · 2026-09-13 | Official source · 2026-09-13

Alternatives

AI for Everyone

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
DeepLearning.AI · Online, self-paced course with 35 video lessons and 4 graded assignments on the Pro route; Coursera enrollment is separate.Beginner6h54m in the publisher overview; Coursera separately estimates 7 hoursCourse completion certificateSelected direct Pro route: USD 50 for one regular/reference month, observed 25 October 2026, not a guaranteed completion total. Separately, the publisher’s Coursera-framed FAQ quotes $49 for 180 days of certificate eligibility without an ISO currency label.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?Non-technical business professionals, leaders, managers, product managers and marketers seeking AI literacy, realistic opportunities, project workflows and organizational AI strategy.
What preparation is required?No technical or business background required; no prior experience required.
What remains unconfirmed?Provider does not state a separate certification exam, post-issue credential expiry or renewal; these remain unknown.

Official source · 2026-10-25 | Official source · 2026-10-25 | Official source · 2026-09-06

Official source · 2026-10-25 | Official source · 2026-10-25

Intro to AI

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
365 Data Science · 100% online, self-paced courseBasic3 hours (provider headline; module and exam timings listed separately)Provider-issued course certificateAs shown in the United States on 14 October 2026, access sits in the Self-study plan at USD 29 a month billed annually; there is no fixed completion price. Certificates are included with the Self-study learning plan.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?Learners passionate about the field and eager to explore its potential, business stakeholders, and anyone aiming to start a career in AI.
What preparation is required?No experience is required. We'll start from the basics and build your understanding step by step. Advanced preparation: None.
How is the award earned?Pass the course exam; general certificate terms state 60% or above. Certificates are included with the Self-study learning plan.
What remains unconfirmed?Expiry, renewal, and retake conditions are not explicitly established. CPE credit acceptance depends on individual state boards.

Official source · 2026-09-28 | Official source · 2026-09-28

Official source · 2026-10-14 | Official source · 2026-10-14

Questions before enrolling

What exercise and peer-review requirements earn the free certificate?

Certificate and completion observations 2026-09-13: complete at least 90% of exercises with at least 50% correct, and provide and receive the required peer reviews for peer-evaluated work. Course access and the certificate are free. The recorded certificate is Elements of AI: Introduction to AI, with issuer recorded as MinnaLearn or University of Helsinki. Its URL can be shared on LinkedIn. A separate examination, expiry and renewal are not established. Share the certificate URL on LinkedIn.

Official source · 2026-09-13 | Official source · 2026-09-13 | Official source · 2026-09-13

Change log

  • : Official course facts recorded. · Source
← All programs