Program profile · official sources

OpenAI Fundamentals

DataCamp offers the OpenAI Fundamentals skill track, a beginner-level program designed for building artificial intelligence systems using OpenAI frontier models. With 15 provider-listed hours, the curriculum consists of five primary courses and two separate bonus items. Topics include working with the OpenAI API, multi-modal systems, prompt engineering, the OpenAI Responses API, and embeddings. The track requires no prior experience with artificial intelligence or Python. Access is provided through the DataCamp Premium subscription, priced at USD 35 per month at the regular price checked on 8 September 2026. This subscription provides one month of access and does not guarantee total completion cost. Upon completion, learners receive a Statement of Accomplishment.

Facts checked 9 Sep 2026

Price
DataCamp Premium — USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price
Time
15 hours

Provider-listed track duration; not guaranteed elapsed completion time.

Level
Beginner
Credential
Statement of Accomplishment

Add this credential to your LinkedIn profile, resume, or CV; share it on social media and in your performance review.

Prerequisites
There are no prerequisites for this track

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Price
DataCamp Premium — USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price. (see provider page)
Premium for Individuals. English public pages with USD explicitly selected; visitor country not stated. Monthly regular access is USD 35 with no monthly promotion shown. Annual regular USD 330 and promotional USD 165 are separate billed totals; no promotion expiry or additional account/geographic restriction is stated. Access price is not a guarantee of track completion. · Official pricing
Duration
15 hoursProvider-listed track duration; not guaranteed elapsed completion time.
Level
Beginner
Format
Track
Credential
Statement of Accomplishment
Prerequisites
There are no prerequisites for this track

Course and activity access

Career and Skill tracks: Basic not included; Premium included.. Official source

Chart scrolls horizontally. Open the full-size chart.

OpenAI Fundamentals: USD 35; position among 36 other courses and tracks with accepted USD prices. Payment scopes differ.

See the full registry price landscape. Prices retain their stated payment scope; they are not comparable completion costs.

What’s covered

  • Working with the OpenAI API
  • Multi-Modal Systems with the OpenAI API
  • Prompt Engineering with the OpenAI API
  • Working with the OpenAI Responses API
  • Introduction to Embeddings with the OpenAI API

Prerequisites: There are no prerequisites for this track

Explore DataCamp

View official program ↗

What are the prerequisites for the OpenAI Fundamentals track?

DataCamp states that there are no prerequisites required to begin the OpenAI Fundamentals track. The official FAQ explicitly notes that the track is suitable for beginners, and learners do not need any prior experience with artificial intelligence or the Python programming language to enroll and start building systems with OpenAI frontier models. Because this is a beginner-level program, foundational concepts for utilizing the OpenAI API, implementing prompting techniques, and encoding large text corpora using embeddings are introduced within the five main curriculum courses themselves.

How much does the DataCamp OpenAI Fundamentals program cost?

Access to the OpenAI Fundamentals skill track is available through the DataCamp Premium subscription. As checked on 8 September 2026, the Premium subscription is priced at USD 35 per month at the regular rate when billed on a monthly basis. It is important to note that this price reflects exactly one month of Premium access rather than a guaranteed total cost to complete the fifteen-hour track. The reviewed track access does not establish whether external OpenAI API or hardware usage would incur additional costs. Basic access does not include this skill track.

What credential is awarded upon completion of this program?

Learners who successfully finish the five courses in the OpenAI Fundamentals track earn a Statement of Accomplishment issued by DataCamp. This statement is intended to be added to a resume, CV, or LinkedIn profile, and shared in performance reviews or on social media. This credential is a statement of completion for the track and does not constitute an independent professional certification. The provider documentation does not state any specific final exam requirement to earn the statement, nor does it list any expiration dates or renewal requirements for the credential.

What you actually do

  • Working with the OpenAI API — Course · Source
  • Multi-Modal Systems with the OpenAI API — Course · Source
  • Prompt Engineering with the OpenAI API — Course · Source
  • Working with the OpenAI Responses API — Course · Source
  • Introduction to Embeddings with the OpenAI API — Course · Source

What the credential is

Credential type
Statement of Accomplishment · www.datacamp.com / openai-fundamentals
Credential
Statement of Accomplishment · www.datacamp.com / openai-fundamentals
Issuer
DataCamp · www.datacamp.com / openai-fundamentals
Sharing
Add this credential to your LinkedIn profile, resume, or CV; share it on social media and in your performance review. · www.datacamp.com / openai-fundamentals

Who should skip it

  • Learners seeking advanced material, as the provider explicitly designates this skill track as a beginner-level program with no prior AI or Python experience required. · Source
  • Individuals requiring a separately assessed professional certification rather than a Statement of Accomplishment; the reviewed track terms leave exam requirements, expiry, and renewal unstated. · Source
  • Students wanting a one-time purchase course, because access requires an ongoing DataCamp Premium monthly subscription. · Source

Alternatives in the registry

Related by topic or level.

  • Generative AI for Everyone — DeepLearning.AI Pro — USD 50/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price; Publisher lists 5 hours 1 minute of content; the separate Coursera route estimates approximately 6 hours. Not a guaranteed elapsed completion time..
  • Google AI Essentials — Google AI Essentials monthly subscription — USD 49 / month regular; U.S. and Canada; other countries may have lower local pricing shown at Coursera checkout.; Under 10 hours in the program description.
  • Google AI Professional Certificate — Google AI Professional Certificate — USD 49 / month regular; US price; prices may vary in other countries. No Canadian currency inference.; 8 hours (top-level estimate); separate module estimates total 13 hours..

Change log

  • : Registry admission from previously reviewed official evidence; individual fact dates are preserved. · Source
← All programs