Program profile · official sources
IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate
IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate is a beginner-level, online series of 16 courses offered by IBM on Coursera. The overview estimates six months at six hours per week, with self-paced study. Basic computer literacy is the stated background requirement. The curriculum moves from AI concepts and Python through data analysis, machine learning, deep learning, transformer models, fine-tuning, and applications using RAG and LangChain. Hands-on work includes Python applications, model training, and a guided generative AI application project. Completion provides a shareable IBM certificate. Consider it if you want a multi-course introduction to technical generative AI development; it is not for someone seeking only a short, non-coding overview of AI tools.
Facts checked 15 Oct 2026
- Price
- Coursera Plus Monthly : USD 59 / month regular; United States on 2 October 2026
- Provider link
See price and enroll at IBM (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.
- Time
- Estimated 6 months at 6 hours a week; self-paced
- Level
- Beginner
- Credential
- Professional Certificate
Shareable certificate; LinkedIn profile, resume/CV and social media.
- Prerequisites
- Basic computer literacy; no prior experience required.
- Format
- Online, self-paced 16-course series
Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.
Sources ↗
- Price : https://www.coursera.org/courseraplus
- Duration : https://www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-generative-ai-engineering
- Official program page : https://www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-generative-ai-engineering
- Provider subscription terms : https://www.coursera.org/courseraplus
Chart scrolls horizontally. Open the full-size chart.
See the full registry price landscape. Prices retain their stated payment scope; they are not comparable completion costs.
What’s covered
- Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI)
- Generative AI: Introduction and Applications
- Generative AI: Prompt Engineering Basics
- Python for Data Science, AI & Development
- Developing AI Applications with Python and Flask
- Building Generative AI-Powered Applications with Python
- Data Analysis with Python
- Machine Learning with Python
- Introduction to Deep Learning & Neural Networks with Keras
- Generative AI and LLMs: Architecture and Data Preparation
- Gen AI Foundational Models for NLP & Language Understanding
- Generative AI Language Modeling with Transformers
- Generative AI Engineering and Fine-Tuning Transformers
- Generative AI Advanced Fine-Tuning for LLMs
- Fundamentals of AI Agents Using RAG and LangChain
- Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain
Prerequisites: Basic computer literacy; no prior experience required.
Is IBM's Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate suitable for beginners?
The program is labeled beginner level, and its FAQ specifies basic computer literacy as the necessary background. The 16-course curriculum covers Python, data analysis, machine learning, deep learning, transformers, and generative AI applications. IBM recommends taking the courses in their presented order because they build on earlier material. It is a plausible starting point if you are willing to learn programming; it is not a non-coding route through generative AI.
How long does IBM's Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate take?
The overview estimates six months at six hours per week for the 16-course series. The FAQ describes completion in just under six months with five to six hours of weekly study, and confirms that the program is self-paced. Use roughly six months as a planning estimate, not a fixed deadline or promised result. The recommended course order matters because later modules build on earlier knowledge, so assess whether you can sustain the weekly commitment before enrolling.
What practical work is included in IBM's Generative AI Engineering program?
The program includes hands-on labs and projects involving Python applications, Flask deployment, language model training, transformer tasks, fine-tuning, and RAG and LangChain. Its guided project involves building AI agents and applications using RAG and LangChain. Those assignments make it relevant if you want to study implementation through structured exercises. Choose it for that technical practice rather than only for a survey of consumer AI tools.
What certificate does IBM's Generative AI Engineering program provide?
Completion provides a shareable certificate from IBM through a 16-course Professional Certificate program on Coursera. The page says it can be added to a professional profile, resume, or CV. It also describes possible college credit, but acceptance is decided by the receiving institution. Choose the program primarily for its curriculum and project work; if academic credit is central to your decision, confirm acceptance with your institution before committing time or money.
What you actually do
- Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) : 13 hours; Provider-listed component course 1 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI: Introduction and Applications : 8 hours; Provider-listed component course 2 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI: Prompt Engineering Basics : 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 3 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Python for Data Science, AI & Development : 24 hours; Provider-listed component course 4 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Developing AI Applications with Python and Flask : 12 hours; Provider-listed component course 5 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Building Generative AI-Powered Applications with Python : 15 hours; Provider-listed component course 6 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Data Analysis with Python : 16 hours; Provider-listed component course 7 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Machine Learning with Python : 20 hours; Provider-listed component course 8 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Introduction to Deep Learning & Neural Networks with Keras : 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 9 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI and LLMs: Architecture and Data Preparation : 6 hours; Provider-listed component course 10 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Gen AI Foundational Models for NLP & Language Understanding : 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 11 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI Language Modeling with Transformers : 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 12 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI Engineering and Fine-Tuning Transformers : 8 hours; Provider-listed component course 13 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI Advanced Fine-Tuning for LLMs : 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 14 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Fundamentals of AI Agents Using RAG and LangChain : 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 15 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain : 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 16 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
What the credential is
- Credential type
- Professional Certificate · www.coursera.org / ibm-generative-ai-engineering
- Credential
- IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate · www.coursera.org / ibm-generative-ai-engineering
- Issuer
- IBM · www.coursera.org / ibm-generative-ai-engineering
- Sharing
- Shareable certificate; LinkedIn profile, resume/CV and social media. · www.coursera.org / ibm-generative-ai-engineering
- Credential scope
- Shareable Professional Certificate from IBM. The reviewed official program page does not state a separate certification exam, expiry or renewal; do not infer no exam or lifetime validity. · www.coursera.org / ibm-generative-ai-engineering
- Exam required
- provider does not state · www.coursera.org / ibm-generative-ai-engineering
- Credential expires
- provider does not state · www.coursera.org / ibm-generative-ai-engineering
- Renewal
- provider does not state · www.coursera.org / ibm-generative-ai-engineering
Alternatives in the registry
Related by topic or level.
- AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01) · USD 100 (One initial exam attempt; check applicable regional pricing and taxes. Optional preparation and retakes are not included.); 90 minutes (exam only; not preparation time).
- AI Fundamentals · DataCamp Premium · USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price; Approximately 9 hours.
- Google AI Professional Certificate · Google AI Professional Certificate · USD 49 / month regular; US price; prices may vary in other countries. No Canadian currency inference.; 8 hours (top-level estimate); separate module estimates total 13 hours..
Change log
- : First recorded review of source-supported program depth and credential details. · Source
- : Recorded published regular access pricing separately from promotional offers; added an explicit one-period access-cost scenario with regional and checkout limitations. · Source
- : Rechecked current sixteen-course series, audience, basic-literacy/no-prior-experience statements, IBM credential and Plus eligibility. Preserve provider schedule separately from content hours and regular monthly price separately from savings. · Source
- : Price source updated: the August 2026 Coursera Plus offer page no longer shows a price; the Coursera Plus page, captured from the United States on 15 October 2026, shows USD 59 a month, cancel anytime. The program page still shows it as included with Coursera Plus. Amount unchanged. · Source
Visitor answers
Can I just enroll in a single course?
Yes, you can enroll in one course. But on this page, paying for one course subscribes you to the whole certificate. Coursera's answer on the programme page, in full:
"Yes! To get started, click the course card that interests you and enroll. You can enroll and complete the course to earn a shareable certificate. When you subscribe to a course that is part of a Certificate, you’re automatically subscribed to the full Certificate. Visit your learner dashboard to track your progress." IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate page on Coursera, as shown in the United States on 29 September 2026
What that means in practice. The last sentence is the one to read twice. Enrolling in one course is possible, and finishing it earns that course's own shareable certificate. Paying for it is a subscription, and the subscription is to the full certificate, a "16 course series" on the same page. The page also shows the certificate as "Included with Coursera Plus", Coursera's wider subscription.
What was not found, bounded. The programme page read on 29 September 2026 does not state a price for a single course, what the subscription costs per month, or how cancelling works once you are subscribed to the full certificate. We did not read Coursera's help centre or checkout for this answer. Our page holds no accepted numeric price for this programme (facts checked 6 September 2026).
What you can do.
- Open the course card you want and go as far as the payment screen without paying. The price and the billing period Coursera shows there, from your own location, is the figure that applies to you.
- Ask Coursera before you subscribe: "If I subscribe to one course in the IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate, what am I billed each month, and if I cancel after that course, does billing stop for the whole certificate?"
- If you already hold Coursera Plus, check whether this certificate shows as included on your account before paying for it separately.
- Take the courses in order if you continue. The same FAQ says: "it is highly recommended that you take the courses in the order they are presented."
See price and enroll at IBM (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.
Will I earn university credit for completing this Professional Certificate?
Possibly, but not automatically. The certificate carries a credit recommendation; whether it becomes credit is your college's decision. The page says it two ways, and both are the provider's words.
The FAQ answer:
"This program is ACE® recommended" ... "when you complete, you can earn up to 17 college credits."
The fuller statement further up the same page:
"This Professional Certificate has ACE® recommendation. It is eligible for college credit at participating U.S. colleges and universities. Note: The decision to accept specific credit recommendations is up to each institution." Both from the IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate page on Coursera, as shown in the United States on 29 September 2026
How to read the two together. "Up to 17" is a ceiling on a recommendation, from the American Council on Education (ACE). The second statement says who decides: each institution, and only "participating" ones. The page also offers a separate route: "When you complete this Professional Certificate, you may be able to have your learning recognized for credit if you are admitted and enroll in one of the following online degree programs." That route depends on admission to a listed degree.
What was not found, bounded. The programme page read on 29 September 2026 does not name the participating institutions, does not break the 17 credits down by course or subject, and does not say whether credit requires finishing all 16 courses. We did not read the ACE National Guide entry or Coursera's "View eligible degrees" list for this answer. Our main facts summary lists the credential as a Professional Certificate with a shareable certificate and holds no credit figure (facts checked 6 September 2026).
What you can do.
- Ask your own registrar before you start: "Do you accept ACE credit recommendations for the IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate on Coursera? If so, how many credits, at what level, and toward which requirement?"
- Look the certificate up in the ACE National Guide and take that entry to the registrar, since the recommendation is ACE's and the figure there is the one they will check.
- If you are considering an online degree, open "View eligible degrees" on the programme page and ask the admitting programme how much of this certificate it recognises.
See price and enroll at IBM (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.
How long does it take to complete the Specialization?
Coursera's estimate is about six months at five to six hours a week, and it is self-paced, so no date is set for you. The FAQ answer on the programme page, in full:
"This PC is self-paced. If you spend 5-6 hours a week learning, you can complete the PC in just under 6 months!" IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate page on Coursera, as shown in the United States on 30 September 2026
The same page gives the estimate three more ways: "6 months at 6 hours a week" and "Learn at your own pace" in the summary at the top, and "less than 6 months" in the description.
The course hours on the same page add up to more than that. The page lists 16 courses and shows an hours figure next to each: 13, 8, 10, 24, 12, 15, 16, 20, 10, 6, 10, 9, 8, 9, 9 and 9 hours. Added together, that is 188 hours (our arithmetic). At 6 hours a week, 188 hours is about 31 weeks, a little over seven months (our arithmetic). Six months at 6 hours a week, taking six months as 26 weeks, is about 156 hours (our arithmetic). The page does not say how the two figures relate, so both are given here and neither is preferred.
Where the time goes. The largest course is "Python for Data Science, AI & Development", 24 hours, course 4 of 16. The last course is a project, "Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain", 9 hours. The FAQ also says "it is highly recommended that you take the courses in the order they are presented", so the Python course comes before the later model courses.
What was not found, bounded. The programme page read on 30 September 2026 does not state whether the hours shown next to each course include the labs and the guided project, what pace the six-month estimate assumes for someone with no programming background, or how billing relates to how long you take. We did not read Coursera's help centre or checkout for this answer.
What you can do.
- Work out your own estimate from the page's course list. Divide the 188 listed hours by the hours you can give each week, and compare the result with Coursera's six months.
- Look at course 4, the Python course, before you subscribe. It is the longest single course on the list, and its first week gives you a first-hand sense of the pace.
- Ask Coursera before you subscribe: "For the IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate, do the hours shown next to each course include the labs and the final project, and am I billed for every month I take to finish?"
- For the cost side, our page sets out the access-price scenario with its date and does not assume a completion period.
See price and enroll at IBM (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.
Who is this professional certificate (PC) suitable for?
Coursera writes it for people who want to build with generative AI models, and says no prior experience is required, but the course list is a programming course from course 4 onward. The FAQ answer on the programme page opens:
"This PC is designed for those interested in gen AI engineering, including training, developing, fine-tuning, and deploying large language models as well as developing agents and applications that leverage these AI models."
It then names four groups it is "also suitable for":
"Software developers and programmers who want to specialize their skills in generative AI" "Aspiring software engineers who want to enhance their skills to create innovative applications powered by generative AI" "Working professionals and technophiles from other fields who want to transition to software engineering or generative AI" "Students and beginners who want to kickstart their careers in programming and software engineering, with a focus on the cutting-edge field of generative AI" IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate page on Coursera, as shown in the United States on 30 September 2026
What the page says about the starting point. The summary shows "Beginner level", the page says "No prior experience required.", and the FAQ answer on background knowledge is "Basic computer literacy." The same suitability answer also says "The PC will train you for an entry-level gen AI engineer role from scratch"; that is Coursera's description of its own programme, not a result we can check or promise.
What the course list shows, so you can judge the fit yourself. Of the 16 courses, five have "Python" in their title, starting with course 4, "Python for Data Science, AI & Development" (24 hours on the page). Later courses cover machine learning, deep learning with Keras, transformers and fine-tuning, and the series ends with "Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain". The FAQ recommends taking the courses "in the order they are presented". A reader who wants a non-coding overview of AI tools is not among the groups the page names.
What was not found, bounded. The programme page read on 30 September 2026 does not state any mathematics background, a placement check before enrolling, or how many hours a complete beginner should expect compared with someone who already programs. We did not read Coursera's help centre or the course pages themselves for this answer.
What you can do.
- Find yourself in the four groups above. If none describes you, read the course list on the page before deciding; it shows what the 16 courses ask you to do.
- Look at course 4 first if you have not programmed. It is where the Python starts, and it is the longest course on the list.
- Ask Coursera or IBM before you subscribe: "Does the IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate assume any mathematics beyond basic computer literacy, and is there a way to check my readiness before I pay?"
See price and enroll at IBM (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.
Do I need to take the courses in a specific order?
The order is recommended, not stated as required. The FAQ answer on the programme page, in full:
"Yes, it is highly recommended that you take the courses in the order they are presented. Each course and its modules build on the knowledge you've gained in earlier modules." IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate page on Coursera, as shown in the United States on 1 October 2026
The order, as the page lists it, with the hours the page shows next to each course:
| # | Course, as titled on the page | Hours shown |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) | 13 |
| 2 | Generative AI: Introduction and Applications | 8 |
| 3 | Generative AI: Prompt Engineering Basics | 10 |
| 4 | Python for Data Science, AI & Development | 24 |
| 5 | Developing AI Applications with Python and Flask | 12 |
| 6 | Building Generative AI-Powered Applications with Python | 15 |
| 7 | Data Analysis with Python | 16 |
| 8 | Machine Learning with Python | 20 |
| 9 | Introduction to Deep Learning & Neural Networks with Keras | 10 |
| 10 | Generative AI and LLMs: Architecture and Data Preparation | 6 |
| 11 | Gen AI Foundational Models for NLP & Language Understanding | 10 |
| 12 | Generative AI Language Modeling with Transformers | 9 |
| 13 | Generative AI Engineering and Fine-Tuning Transformers | 8 |
| 14 | Generative AI Advanced Fine-Tuning for LLMs | 9 |
| 15 | Fundamentals of AI Agents Using RAG and LangChain | 9 |
| 16 | Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain | 9 |
As shown in the United States on 1 October 2026.
What the order means in practice, from the list itself. Courses 1 to 3 are titled as introductions to AI, generative AI and prompting. Course 4 is the first title that names a programming language, Python, and it has the most hours on the list. Courses 5 to 9 cover applications, data analysis, machine learning and deep learning; four of their five titles name Python. Courses 10 to 15 cover large language models, transformers, fine-tuning and agents. Course 16 is the project. The same FAQ answers its single-course question with "Yes!", so one course can be taken on its own; the page does not say which courses assume which earlier ones.
What was not found, bounded. The programme page read on 1 October 2026 does not state whether Coursera stops you opening a later course before finishing an earlier one, whether a learner who already knows Python can skip or move quickly through course 4, or which later courses depend on which earlier ones. We did not open the individual course pages or Coursera's help centre for this answer.
What you can do.
- If you already program in Python, open course 4's page on Coursera and compare its syllabus with what you know before deciding how fast to go through it.
- If you are new to programming, plan around course 4: it is the first course whose title names Python, and the one with the most hours on the page.
- Ask Coursera before you subscribe: "For the IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate, can I open a later course before finishing the earlier ones, and does the certificate require all 16 courses to be completed?"
See price and enroll at IBM (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.
Is this course really 100% online? Do I need to attend any classes in person?
Yes, the page says it is fully online, with no classroom attendance. The FAQ answer, in full:
"This course is completely online, so there’s no need to show up to a classroom in person. You can access your lectures, readings and assignments anytime and anywhere via the web or your mobile device." IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate page on Coursera, as shown in the United States on 1 October 2026
What else the same page says about how it is delivered. The summary at the top shows "Flexible schedule" and "Learn at your own pace". Under "Details to know" it shows "Shareable certificate", "Taught in English" and "19 languages available". The description says you will "get plenty of practical experience in hands-on labs and projects", and the last of the 16 courses is "Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain".
Note on the wording. The FAQ answer says "This course" on a page for a 16-course certificate. It reads as a platform-wide answer; the page does not say anything different for any single course.
What was not found, bounded. The programme page read on 1 October 2026 does not state whether any part of the certificate has a fixed-time live session, a proctored exam, or a deadline set by the provider; what device or software the hands-on labs need, and whether the labs run on a phone as the FAQ says lectures, readings and assignments do; or what "19 languages available" covers (videos, subtitles, or the labs). We did not open the individual course pages or Coursera's help centre for this answer.
What you can do.
- Before you subscribe, open one course page from the list (the Python course, course 4, has the most hours) and look at its first week to see how the labs are delivered.
- If you plan to study on a phone, check the labs in particular, since the FAQ names lectures, readings and assignments but not labs.
- Ask Coursera: "For the IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate, do any of the 16 courses have a live session, a proctored exam or a fixed deadline, and can the hands-on labs be done on a mobile device?"
See price and enroll at IBM (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.
What background knowledge is necessary?
To start: none beyond using a computer, in the provider's words. Python is taught inside the certificate, in course 4, from the basics. What the page does not state is any maths you may need later.
The FAQ answer on the programme page, in full:
"Basic computer literacy." IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate page on Coursera, as shown in the United States on 2 October 2026
The same page says it twice more: "Beginner level" in the summary, and "No prior experience required." under the headline.
Where the programming comes in. The certificate is 16 courses, and the page lists them in order. The first three course titles are: "Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI)" (13 hours), "Generative AI: Introduction and Applications" (8 hours), "Generative AI: Prompt Engineering Basics" (10 hours). Course 4, "Python for Data Science, AI & Development" (24 hours, the longest on the list), describes itself as starting from the beginning:
"Develop a foundational understanding of Python programming by learning basic syntax, data types, expressions, variables, and string operations." Same page, course 4 description, 2 October 2026
From course 5 on, Python is in the titles: "Developing AI Applications with Python and Flask", "Building Generative AI-Powered Applications with Python", "Data Analysis with Python", "Machine Learning with Python". The FAQ says "it is highly recommended that you take the courses in the order they are presented", so the Python course comes before the courses that use it.
So "no prior experience" is consistent with the page's own course list for programming: you are not expected to arrive knowing Python, because course 4 teaches it. Whether one 24-hour course is enough Python for the rest is not something the page says, and we do not judge it for you.
What was not found, bounded. The programme page read on 2 October 2026 does not state any mathematics or statistics background, although later courses list skills such as "Statistical Methods" and "Logistic Regression". The summary's "Recommended experience" label opens a help panel described as "Information about difficulty level pre-requisites"; its text is not in the page as served, and we did not read it. We did not read the individual course pages or Coursera's help centre for this answer. Our page states the same starting point, "Basic computer literacy; no prior experience required." (facts checked 6 September 2026).
What you can do.
- Open the "Recommended experience" panel on the programme page yourself before you subscribe; it is where the page puts its difficulty notes.
- Look at course 4 first. Course 4 covers basic Python content, and the FAQ highly recommends taking the courses in the order they are presented.
- Ask before paying, if maths worries you: "Do the machine learning and deep learning courses in the IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate assume any statistics or linear algebra, and if so, which course teaches it?" Coursera's learner help centre is linked from the same FAQ block ("Visit the learner help center").
See price and enroll at IBM (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.
See price and enroll at IBM (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.