Program comparison

Educative LLM Bootcamp vs IBM Generative AI Engineering: focused LLM practice or a broader foundation?

software engineer choosing a structured generative-AI engineering path

Choose by the technical foundation you already have and the work you want to practice. The advertised schedules and subscription payments describe different scopes, not guaranteed completion outcomes.

Facts side by side

Swipe or scroll the table to compare both programs.

Price and duration retain their stated scope.
FactLLM BootcampIBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate
PriceEducative Standard — USD 278/year for course content, billed annually upfrontOfficial source · checked Coursera Plus Monthly — USD 59 / month regular; USD promotional terms; not available to residents of India. Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout.Official source · checked
Duration16 hours listedOfficial source · checked Estimated 6 months at 6 hours a week; self-pacedOfficial source · checked
LevelNot stated in the source.BeginnerOfficial source · checked
CredentialCertificate of CompletionOfficial source · checked Professional CertificateOfficial source · checked
FormatInteractive online course with lessons, quizzes, and optional plan-gated Cloud Labs.Official source · checked Online, self-paced 16-course seriesOfficial source · checked
PrerequisitesNot stated in the source.Basic computer literacy; no prior experience required.Official source · checked

Provider-listed modules and exam domains

LLM Bootcamp

  • LLM Application Architectures — Roadmap section · Source
  • Challenges and Risks — Roadmap section · Source
  • Transformers and Attention — Roadmap section · Source
  • Vector Databases — Roadmap section · Source
  • Prompt Engineering — Roadmap section · Source
  • Fine-Tuning — Roadmap section · Source
  • Model Context with LangChain — Roadmap section · Source
  • Agentic Workflows — Roadmap section · Source
  • Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG) — Roadmap section · Source
  • LLM Evaluation — Roadmap section · Source

IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate

  • Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) — 13 hours; Provider-listed component course 1 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Generative AI: Introduction and Applications — 8 hours; Provider-listed component course 2 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Generative AI: Prompt Engineering Basics — 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 3 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Python for Data Science, AI & Development — 24 hours; Provider-listed component course 4 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Developing AI Applications with Python and Flask — 12 hours; Provider-listed component course 5 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Building Generative AI-Powered Applications with Python — 15 hours; Provider-listed component course 6 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Data Analysis with Python — 16 hours; Provider-listed component course 7 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Machine Learning with Python — 20 hours; Provider-listed component course 8 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Introduction to Deep Learning & Neural Networks with Keras — 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 9 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Generative AI and LLMs: Architecture and Data Preparation — 6 hours; Provider-listed component course 10 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Gen AI Foundational Models for NLP & Language Understanding — 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 11 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Generative AI Language Modeling with Transformers — 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 12 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Generative AI Engineering and Fine-Tuning Transformers — 8 hours; Provider-listed component course 13 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Generative AI Advanced Fine-Tuning for LLMs — 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 14 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Fundamentals of AI Agents Using RAG and LangChain — 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 15 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain — 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 16 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source

What the credentials are

LLM Bootcamp

Credential type
Certificate of Completion · Source
Credential
Certificate of Completion · Source Source
Issuer
Educative · Source
Sharing
Share on LinkedIn; download as PNG or PDF. · Source
Expiry and renewal
A claimed certificate lasts for a lifetime and does not expire unless the legal name is changed; no renewal term is stated. · Source
Credential scope
Claiming requires paid access, passing all course assessments if any, and sufficient interaction time based on estimated completion time. Marking lessons complete alone is insufficient. The course page does not state a standalone final exam. · Source
Exam required
provider does not state · Source
Credential expires
No · Source Source
Renewal
provider does not state · Source

IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate

Credential type
Professional Certificate · Source
Credential
IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate · Source
Issuer
IBM · Source
Sharing
Shareable certificate; LinkedIn profile, resume/CV and social media. · Source
Credential scope
Shareable Professional Certificate from IBM. The reviewed official program page does not state a separate certification exam, expiry or renewal; do not infer no exam or lifetime validity. · Source
Exam required
provider does not state · Source
Credential expires
provider does not state · Source
Renewal
provider does not state · Source

Cost for the stated scope

LLM Bootcamp

Conditional regular-price estimate: If you purchase 1 annual billing period of Standard for course content, USD 278 × 1 = USD 278.

USD 278/year, billed annually upfront. Official pricing

Promotional note: USD 139 with the 50% OFF promotion, checked 4 Sep 2026; estimated end ~8 Sep 2026 (countdown-derived from the 4 Sep 2026 capture; not a provider-confirmed expiry date). Not used in this estimate.

US price as shown on educative.io/unlimited on 2026-09-04; regional pricing may differ

This is an access-payment scenario, not a guarantee of finishing within that time. Course hours do not determine billing periods. Activity-plan upgrades, taxes and future renewals are not included or assumed.

IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate

Conditional regular-price access cost: USD 59 × 1 = USD 59 for 1 × month.

One billing period of access; not a completion guarantee.

USD promotional terms; not available to residents of India. Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout. Lowest exact verified upfront plan route only for programs whose own page independently shows Included with Coursera Plus; not a global-cheapest claim and not a guaranteed completion period. Official source

This is the stated access-payment scenario, not the total price of completing the program. Completion time does not determine purchased periods. No taxes, currency conversion or future renewals are assumed.

USD 35.40 / month: 3 consecutive months; claim deadline 2026-09-23T23:59:00Z; New Coursera Plus subscribers only; one per person; cannot combine with other offers; not available to residents of India. Automatically renews monthly at USD 59 plus applicable taxes unless canceled. Not used in the regular-price estimate.

Start with the sequence you need

Educative LLM Bootcamp is the more concentrated option in this pair. Its ten roadmap sections move through LLM application architectures, risks, transformers, vector databases, prompting, fine-tuning, LangChain, agentic workflows, retrieval-augmented generation and evaluation. The provider addresses developers and AI practitioners moving toward application design. We would consider it when those are the topics you want to work on, while checking the lessons against your existing knowledge rather than assuming the absence of formal prerequisites means no preparation is needed.

IBM Generative AI Engineering is a broader, beginner-level sequence of sixteen courses. It starts with AI concepts, prompting, Python applications, data analysis and machine learning before progressing to neural networks, transformers, fine-tuning, RAG and LangChain. For a software engineer, that foundation can be useful or repetitive depending on prior study. We would inspect the earlier courses before paying, especially if the immediate need is a focused refresher rather than a longer introduction.

Separate course access from practical activities

Educative lists eighty-four lessons, eighty-five quizzes and six Cloud Labs. Standard covers course content; all six named labs require Premium Plus. Those labs include Amazon Bedrock, SageMaker and LangGraph activities. Do not treat the Standard price as an all-inclusive price for the complete set of advertised activities. Premium adds Projects, but that is not the same entitlement as Premium Plus CloudLabs.

IBM describes hands-on labs and projects across its sequence, including a generative-AI application project using RAG and LangChain. Its program page explicitly includes the certificate in Coursera Plus. Compare the activity you intend to complete, not just whether both pages use the word project. Before subscribing, check the required access route and any practical work you expect to keep or demonstrate.

Budget for access and interpret the credential carefully

Educative lists sixteen hours of content; IBM estimates six months at six hours per week. These are different types of estimates, so they do not establish an equivalent completion-time comparison. A monthly access payment is also not a guaranteed completion budget. The regular monthly prices recorded for Standard and Coursera Plus are both USD 59; Educative's annual Standard scenario and its lab upgrades remain separate from that one-month comparison. Promotions are not used as the regular-price basis.

Educative's certificate policy requires paid access, any required assessments and sufficient interaction time; a claimed certificate is described as lifetime, subject to the stated legal-name exception. IBM describes a shareable Professional Certificate, but its reviewed page does not state expiry, renewal or a separate certification exam. Neither certificate title alone demonstrates production experience. Choose the learning sequence and evidence of work you need, then confirm the current award conditions.

Which to choose if…

LLM Bootcamp

Choose Educative LLM Bootcamp if you want concentrated LLM application-design and evaluation topics and will check Premium Plus access for the six Cloud Labs.

IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate

Choose IBM Generative AI Engineering if you want a broader sequence from Python and machine-learning foundations through fine-tuning and RAG application projects.

Alternatives in the registry

Related by topic or level.

  • IBM AI Product Manager Professional CertificatePrice: Coursera Plus Monthly — USD 59 / month regular; USD promotional terms; not available to residents of India. Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout.Official source · checked Duration: 3 months at 10 hours per weekOfficial source · checked
  • Generative AI for EveryonePrice: DeepLearning.AI Pro — USD 50/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular priceOfficial source · checked Duration: Publisher lists 5 hours 1 minute of content; the separate Coursera route estimates approximately 6 hours. Not a guaranteed elapsed completion time.Official source · checked
  • NVIDIA-Certified Professional: Generative AI LLMsPrice: USD 200 (USD 200 for the stated exam registration scope. The official US page displays $200; USD is normalized under the accepted US-source rule, not quoted as a literal ISO label. Preparation, taxes and repeat-attempt costs are separate.)Official source · checked Duration: 120 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation timeOfficial source · checked

Official pages and editorial sources

Editorial checked . No commercial relationship is documented for this comparison.

← All programs