Program comparison
IBM Generative AI Engineering vs Google Cloud's Coursera learning path: build applications or understand the foundations?
learner choosing between hands-on generative AI engineering and conceptual responsible-AI foundations
Decide whether you need an implementation-heavy engineering sequence or a compact introduction to generative AI, large language models and responsible organizational practice. These Coursera programs serve different learning goals.
Facts side by side
Swipe or scroll the table to compare both programs.
| Fact | IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate | Introduction to Generative AI Learning Path Specialization |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Coursera Plus Monthly — USD 59 / month regular; USD promotional terms; not available to residents of India. Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout.Official source · checked | Coursera Plus Monthly — USD 59 / month regular; USD promotional terms; not available to residents of India. Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout.Official source · checked |
| Duration | Estimated 6 months at 6 hours a week; self-pacedOfficial source · checked | Hero: 4 weeks at 10 hours per week; four course estimates total 4 hours 16 minutes. Conflicting provider estimates with distinct scopes, not completion guarantees.Official source · checked |
| Level | BeginnerOfficial source · checked | IntermediateOfficial source · checked |
| Credential | Professional CertificateOfficial source · checked | Career certificateOfficial source · checked |
| Format | Online, self-paced 16-course seriesOfficial source · checked | Online, flexible, self-paced four-course specialization taught in English with 28 languages available. Applied learning consists primarily of interactive quizzes with immediate feedback on concepts and terminology.Official source · checked |
| Prerequisites | Basic computer literacy; no prior experience required.Official source · checked | Some related experience required; the program page does not specify a particular language, tool, credential or formal prerequisite.Official source · checked |
Provider-listed modules and exam domains
IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate
- Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) — 13 hours; Provider-listed component course 1 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI: Introduction and Applications — 8 hours; Provider-listed component course 2 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI: Prompt Engineering Basics — 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 3 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Python for Data Science, AI & Development — 24 hours; Provider-listed component course 4 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Developing AI Applications with Python and Flask — 12 hours; Provider-listed component course 5 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Building Generative AI-Powered Applications with Python — 15 hours; Provider-listed component course 6 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Data Analysis with Python — 16 hours; Provider-listed component course 7 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Machine Learning with Python — 20 hours; Provider-listed component course 8 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Introduction to Deep Learning & Neural Networks with Keras — 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 9 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI and LLMs: Architecture and Data Preparation — 6 hours; Provider-listed component course 10 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Gen AI Foundational Models for NLP & Language Understanding — 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 11 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI Language Modeling with Transformers — 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 12 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI Engineering and Fine-Tuning Transformers — 8 hours; Provider-listed component course 13 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI Advanced Fine-Tuning for LLMs — 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 14 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Fundamentals of AI Agents Using RAG and LangChain — 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 15 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain — 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 16 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
Introduction to Generative AI Learning Path Specialization
- Introduction to Generative AI — 1 hour; Course 1 of 4. Define generative AI; Explain how generative AI works; Describe generative AI model types; Describe generative AI applications. · Source
- Introduction to Large Language Models — 1 hour; Course 2 of 4. Define large language models; Describe LLM use cases; Explain prompt tuning; Describe Google's generative-AI development tools. · Source
- Introduction to Responsible AI — 16 minutes; Course 3 of 4. Understand why Google has AI principles; Identify the need for organizational responsible-AI practice; Recognize responsible-AI impacts across project stages; Recognize that organizations can align AI with business needs and values. · Source
- Responsible AI: Applying AI Principles with Google Cloud — 2 hours; Course 4 of 4. Explain the business case for responsible AI; Identify AI ethical considerations using issue spotting; Describe how Google operationalized its AI Principles; Adopt a framework for operationalizing responsible AI. · Source
What the credentials are
IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate
- Credential type
- Professional Certificate · Source
- Credential
- IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate · Source
- Issuer
- IBM · Source
- Sharing
- Shareable certificate; LinkedIn profile, resume/CV and social media. · Source
- Credential scope
- Shareable Professional Certificate from IBM. The reviewed official program page does not state a separate certification exam, expiry or renewal; do not infer no exam or lifetime validity. · Source
- Exam required
- provider does not state · Source
- Credential expires
- provider does not state · Source
- Renewal
- provider does not state · Source
Introduction to Generative AI Learning Path Specialization
- Credential type
- Career certificate · Source
- Credential
- Google Cloud career certificate · Source
- Issuer
- Google Cloud · Source
- Sharing
- Add to LinkedIn, resume or CV; share on social media and in performance reviews. · Source
- Credential scope
- Complete the specialization's course requirements for its career certificate. External certification exam requirement not stated by provider. Credential expiry and renewal are not stated. · Source
- Exam required
- provider does not state · Source
- Credential expires
- provider does not state · Source
- Renewal
- provider does not state · Source
Cost for the stated scope
IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate
Conditional regular-price access cost: USD 59 × 1 = USD 59 for 1 × month.
One billing period of access; not a completion guarantee.
USD promotional terms; not available to residents of India. Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout. Lowest exact verified upfront plan route only for programs whose own page independently shows Included with Coursera Plus; not a global-cheapest claim and not a guaranteed completion period. Official source
This is the stated access-payment scenario, not the total price of completing the program. Completion time does not determine purchased periods. No taxes, currency conversion or future renewals are assumed.
USD 35.40 / month: 3 consecutive months; claim deadline 2026-09-23T23:59:00Z; New Coursera Plus subscribers only; one per person; cannot combine with other offers; not available to residents of India. Automatically renews monthly at USD 59 plus applicable taxes unless canceled. Not used in the regular-price estimate.
Introduction to Generative AI Learning Path Specialization
Conditional regular-price access cost: USD 59 × 1 = USD 59 for 1 × month.
One monthly billing period of access; not a completion guarantee.
USD promotional terms; not available to residents of India. Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout. Lowest exact verified upfront plan route only for programs whose own page independently shows Included with Coursera Plus; not a global-cheapest claim and not a guaranteed completion period. Official source
This is the stated access-payment scenario, not the total price of completing the program. Completion time does not determine purchased periods. No taxes, currency conversion or future renewals are assumed.
USD 35.40 / month: 3 consecutive months; claim deadline 2026-09-23T23:59:00Z; New Coursera Plus subscribers only; one per person; cannot combine with other offers; not available to residents of India. Automatically renews monthly at USD 59 plus applicable taxes unless canceled. Not used in the regular-price estimate.
Choose the kind of learning you need
IBM Generative AI Engineering is a sixteen-course Professional Certificate for aspiring generative-AI engineers, AI developers and related technical roles. Its sequence moves from AI concepts and Python to data analysis, machine learning, deep learning, transformers, fine-tuning, RAG and LangChain. Labs and projects provide practice building applications. We would consider it for a structured technical introduction with implementation work, not as proof of job readiness or a guarantee of mastery after a fixed number of months.
Google Cloud's four-course Coursera specialization focuses on concepts, terminology, applications of generative AI and LLMs, and responsible-AI principles. Its third course is Introduction to Responsible AI, followed by Applying AI Principles with Google Cloud. Interactive quizzes provide immediate feedback. We would consider this narrower path when understanding the concepts and organizational responsibilities matters more than building an application. It is not the similarly named Google Skills path; that path's labs and badge are not evidence for this listing.
Read entry requirements and time estimates carefully
IBM labels its program Beginner, states no prior experience is required and asks for basic computer literacy. Google labels its specialization Intermediate and says some related experience is required, without specifying a programming language, tool or qualification. Those labels should not be rewritten to make the programs look equivalent. Review the four Google course descriptions against your existing knowledge, or consider IBM's introductory sequence if you specifically want to begin technical implementation.
IBM estimates six months at six hours a week. Google's hero estimates four weeks at ten hours a week, but its individual course estimates add to four hours sixteen minutes. The Google figures materially differ and describe different scopes. We preserve them instead of selecting a precise completion time, converting calendar schedules into comparable content hours or awarding a scored speed advantage. Both programs are flexible and self-paced; course counts alone do not measure depth or learning quality.
Compare access, not a guaranteed completion price
Both program pages explicitly confirm Coursera Plus inclusion. The accepted regular price is USD 59 for one month of Plus access on either route. That shared subscription scope is a price tie, not a claim that both programs cost the same to finish. An eligible promotion offers USD 35.40 monthly for three months, with renewal at USD 59 plus applicable taxes unless canceled. Outside the United States, local currency and pricing appear at checkout.
The promotion is limited to new Plus subscribers, one per person, cannot be combined with other offers and excludes India residents; it must be claimed by September 23, 2026 at 23:59 UTC. IBM awards a shareable Professional Certificate and Google Cloud a shareable career certificate after their respective requirements. Reviewed evidence does not establish external exam, expiry or renewal rules for either credential. Choose based on the learning and practice you need, not an inferred difference in credential prestige.
Which to choose if…
IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate
Choose IBM Generative AI Engineering if you want a structured technical sequence with Python, model work and generative-AI application projects.
Introduction to Generative AI Learning Path Specialization
Choose Google Cloud's Coursera path if you want conceptual generative-AI and LLM foundations plus responsible-AI organizational practice.
Alternatives in the registry
Related by topic or level.
- AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01)Price: USD 100 (One initial exam attempt; check applicable regional pricing and taxes. Optional preparation and retakes are not included.)Official source · checked Duration: 90 minutes (exam only; not preparation time)Official source · checked
- Microsoft Certified: Azure AI Apps and Agents Developer Associate (AI-103)Price: USD 165 (United States exam-proctoring region selected; single exam attempt. Not a global price. Confirm local pricing before booking.)Official source · checked Duration: 120 minutes (exam only; not preparation time)Official source · checked
- AI FundamentalsPrice: Check official price — Included with Premium. The reviewed promotion displays $14 per month, billed annually; confirm currency and checkout total before purchasing.Official source · checked Duration: Approximately 9 hoursOfficial source · checked
Official pages and editorial sources
- IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate — official page ↗
- Introduction to Generative AI Learning Path Specialization — official page ↗
Editorial checked . No commercial relationship is documented for this comparison.