Program profile · official sources
Introduction to Generative AI Learning Path Specialization
Google Cloud's Introduction to Generative AI Learning Path Specialization is a four-course program on Coursera. It introduces generative AI, large language models and responsible-AI principles, then considers how organizations can apply those principles. Learning includes interactive quizzes with immediate feedback. Coursera labels it Intermediate and says some related experience is required without naming a particular language or qualification. Completion earns a shareable Google Cloud career certificate. Consider it for conceptual foundations and organizational responsibility, rather than a sequence centered on building generative-AI applications.
Facts checked 15 Oct 2026
- Price
- See pricing
As shown in the United States on 1 October 2026, the page lists Coursera Plus inclusion but no numeric access price is verified. No separately normalized program purchase price is established.
- Provider link
See price and enroll at Google Cloud (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.
- Time
- Hero: 4 weeks at 10 hours per week; four course estimates total 4 hours 16 minutes. Conflicting provider estimates with distinct scopes, not completion guarantees.
- Level
- Intermediate
- Credential
- Career certificate
Add to LinkedIn, resume or CV; share on social media and in performance reviews.
- Format
- Online, flexible, self-paced four-course specialization taught in English with 28 languages available. Applied learning consists primarily of interactive quizzes with immediate feedback on concepts and terminology.
- Prerequisites
- Some related experience required; the program page does not specify a particular language, tool, credential or formal prerequisite.
Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.
Sources ↗
- Duration : https://www.coursera.org/specializations/introduction-to-generative-ai
- Official program page : https://www.coursera.org/specializations/introduction-to-generative-ai
- Credential details : https://www.coursera.org/about/terms
- Cost terms : https://www.coursera.org/courseraplus/special/cplus-monthly-august-2026-global
No accepted numeric price in this registry. See the sourced pricing details below.
See the full registry price landscape. Prices retain their stated payment scope; they are not comparable completion costs.
What’s covered
- Introduction to Generative AI
- Introduction to Large Language Models
- Introduction to Responsible AI
- Responsible AI: Applying AI Principles with Google Cloud
Prerequisites: Some related experience required; the program page does not specify a particular language, tool, credential or formal prerequisite.
How much does Google's Coursera generative-AI learning path cost?
As shown in the United States on 1 October 2026, the page lists Coursera Plus inclusion but no numeric access price is verified. No separately normalized program purchase price is established.
Is this the same as the Google Skills introductory learning path?
No. This listing is the four-course Coursera specialization offered by Google Cloud, not the similarly named Google Skills path. Coursera labels it Intermediate and says some related experience is required, without specifying a language, tool or formal qualification. Its third course is Introduction to Responsible AI. The sequence emphasizes generative-AI and LLM concepts, interactive quizzes and responsible-AI organizational practice. Do not assume it includes the Google Skills path's labs, badge or Prompt Design activity.
How long is the specialization, and what credential does it award?
Coursera's hero estimates four weeks at ten hours a week, while the four individual course estimates add to four hours sixteen minutes. These materially different estimates describe different scopes; neither is a completion guarantee. The specialization is online and self-paced. Completing its course requirements earns a shareable Google Cloud career certificate that can be added to LinkedIn or a resume. The reviewed page does not state a separate external certification exam, issued-certificate expiry or renewal requirement; absence of these details is not proof that no conditions apply.
What you actually do
- Introduction to Generative AI : 1 hour; Course 1 of 4. Define generative AI; Explain how generative AI works; Describe generative AI model types; Describe generative AI applications. · Source
- Introduction to Large Language Models : 1 hour; Course 2 of 4. Define large language models; Describe LLM use cases; Explain prompt tuning; Describe Google's generative-AI development tools. · Source
- Introduction to Responsible AI : 16 minutes; Course 3 of 4. Understand why Google has AI principles; Identify the need for organizational responsible-AI practice; Recognize responsible-AI impacts across project stages; Recognize that organizations can align AI with business needs and values. · Source
- Responsible AI: Applying AI Principles with Google Cloud : 2 hours; Course 4 of 4. Explain the business case for responsible AI; Identify AI ethical considerations using issue spotting; Describe how Google operationalized its AI Principles; Adopt a framework for operationalizing responsible AI. · Source
What the credential is
- Credential type
- Career certificate · www.coursera.org / introduction-to-generative-ai
- Credential
- Google Cloud career certificate · www.coursera.org / introduction-to-generative-ai
- Issuer
- Google Cloud · www.coursera.org / introduction-to-generative-ai
- Sharing
- Add to LinkedIn, resume or CV; share on social media and in performance reviews. · www.coursera.org / introduction-to-generative-ai
- Credential scope
- Complete the specialization's course requirements for its career certificate. External certification exam requirement not stated by provider. Credential expiry and renewal are not stated. Coursera's terms say certificates cannot be earned during a subscription free trial: to receive a certificate you either agree to the first subscription charge by ending the trial early or wait until the trial ends without cancelling; trial availability and length are shown at checkout. · www.coursera.org / introduction-to-generative-ai www.coursera.org / terms
- Exam required
- provider does not state · www.coursera.org / introduction-to-generative-ai
- Credential expires
- provider does not state · www.coursera.org / introduction-to-generative-ai
- Renewal
- provider does not state · www.coursera.org / introduction-to-generative-ai
Who should skip it
- Not available free: the FAQ says you cannot take this course for free; financial aid can be applied for if you cannot afford the fee. · Official source · 2026-10-15
- No university credit: the FAQ says the Specialization does not carry university credit, although some universities may choose to accept Specialization Certificates for credit; check with the institution. · Official source · 2026-10-15
Source differences retained
As checked on 15 October 2026, the official page gives differing information on the points below. Each reading is kept as found; none is reconciled.
- Access: As checked on 15 October 2026, the same-course structured metadata states isAccessibleForFree=True with a Subscription offer, while the visible FAQ says you cannot take this course for free and that a certificate requires paid enrollment. No free completion or free certificate is inferred. · Source
Alternatives in the registry
Programs from other providers, a comparison and a guide.
- Generative AI with Large Language Models (DeepLearning.AI, Amazon Web Services)
- Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) (IBM)
- Comparison: IBM Generative AI Engineering vs Google Cloud's Coursera learning path: build applications or understand the foundations?
- Guide: AI Governance Training for Managers: What a Serious Program Must Cover
Change log
- : First source-checked Coursera specialization record. Four courses, Intermediate level, related-experience requirement, responsible-AI scope and Plus inclusion kept separate from the different Google Skills learning path. · Source
- : US source recheck updated the pricing model, minimum plan, minimum plan billing, subscription offer, access-cost scenario, minimum plan evidence, price note, cost note and cost omission note. Historical source reviews retained. · Source
- : Recheck of the official Coursera page and the Coursera terms captured from the United States on 15 October 2026: language field limited to English (28 languages available stays a separate availability line); FAQ paid-access and university-credit statements and the free-trial certificate rule from the terms added; free-access metadata disclosed; the Coursera Plus offer page returned no offer content, so its 1 October observation keeps its date; courses, level, duration and certificate unchanged. · Source