Program comparison
IBM AI Engineering vs. IBM Generative AI Engineering: Deep Learning Depth or a Beginner Route to LLM Apps
For someone choosing an IBM AI engineering certificate on Coursera
Official sites. No commission.
These two IBM Professional Certificates on Coursera share nine of their courses, from Machine Learning with Python to a RAG and LangChain project. AI Engineering adds deep learning with Keras, TensorFlow and PyTorch and a capstone; Generative AI Engineering starts from zero with Python, Flask apps and prompt engineering. Facts, including Coursera Plus prices, are as shown in the United States on 15 October 2026.
Facts side by side
Swipe or scroll the table to compare both programs.
| Fact | IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate | IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Coursera Plus Monthly · USD 59 / month regular; Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout.[1] | Coursera Plus Monthly · USD 59 / month regular; United States on 2 October 2026[2] |
| Duration | 4 months at 10 hours a week[3] | Estimated 6 months at 6 hours a week; self-paced[4] |
| Level | Intermediate[5] | Beginner[6] |
| Credential | Professional Certificate[5] | Professional Certificate[6] |
| Format | Online, self-paced multi-course program[5] | Online, self-paced 16-course series[6] |
| Prerequisites | Working knowledge of Python and Jupyter Notebooks, plus high-school mathematics or mathematics for machine learning.[5] | Basic computer literacy; no prior experience required.[6] |
Official sites. No commission.
Provider-listed modules and exam domains
IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate
- Machine Learning with Python · 20 hours; Provider-listed component course 1 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
- Introduction to Deep Learning & Neural Networks with Keras · 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 2 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
- Deep Learning with Keras and Tensorflow · 23 hours; Provider-listed component course 3 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
- Introduction to Neural Networks and PyTorch · 19 hours; Provider-listed component course 4 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
- Deep Learning with PyTorch · 21 hours; Provider-listed component course 5 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
- AI Capstone Project with Deep Learning · 15 hours; Provider-listed component course 6 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
- Generative AI and LLMs: Architecture and Data Preparation · 6 hours; Provider-listed component course 7 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
- Gen AI Foundational Models for NLP & Language Understanding · 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 8 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
- Generative AI Language Modeling with Transformers · 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 9 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
- Generative AI Engineering and Fine-Tuning Transformers · 8 hours; Provider-listed component course 10 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
- Generative AI Advanced Fine-Tuning for LLMs · 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 11 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
- Fundamentals of AI Agents Using RAG and LangChain · 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 12 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
- Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain · 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 13 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [12]
IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate
- Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) · 13 hours; Provider-listed component course 1 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Generative AI: Introduction and Applications · 8 hours; Provider-listed component course 2 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Generative AI: Prompt Engineering Basics · 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 3 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Python for Data Science, AI & Development · 24 hours; Provider-listed component course 4 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Developing AI Applications with Python and Flask · 12 hours; Provider-listed component course 5 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Building Generative AI-Powered Applications with Python · 15 hours; Provider-listed component course 6 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Data Analysis with Python · 16 hours; Provider-listed component course 7 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Machine Learning with Python · 20 hours; Provider-listed component course 8 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Introduction to Deep Learning & Neural Networks with Keras · 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 9 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Generative AI and LLMs: Architecture and Data Preparation · 6 hours; Provider-listed component course 10 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Gen AI Foundational Models for NLP & Language Understanding · 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 11 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Generative AI Language Modeling with Transformers · 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 12 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Generative AI Engineering and Fine-Tuning Transformers · 8 hours; Provider-listed component course 13 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Generative AI Advanced Fine-Tuning for LLMs · 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 14 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Fundamentals of AI Agents Using RAG and LangChain · 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 15 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
- Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain · 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 16 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · [13]
What the credentials are
IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate
- Credential type
- Professional Certificate · [3]
- Credential
- IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate · [3]
- Issuer
- IBM · [3]
- Sharing
- Shareable certificate; may be added to LinkedIn, resume/CV and shared on social media or in a performance review. · [3]
- Exam required
- provider does not state · [3]
- Credential expires
- provider does not state · [3]
- Renewal
- provider does not state · [3]
IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate
- Credential type
- Professional Certificate · [4]
- Credential
- IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate · [4]
- Issuer
- IBM · [4]
- Sharing
- Shareable certificate; LinkedIn profile, resume/CV and social media. · [4]
- Credential scope
- Shareable Professional Certificate from IBM. The reviewed official program page does not state a separate certification exam, expiry or renewal; do not infer no exam or lifetime validity. · [4]
- Exam required
- provider does not state · [4]
- Credential expires
- provider does not state · [4]
- Renewal
- provider does not state · [4]
Cost for the stated scope
IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate
Conditional regular-price access cost: USD 59 × 1 = USD 59 for 1 × month.
One billing period of access; not a completion guarantee.
Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout. Lowest exact verified upfront plan route only for programs whose own page independently shows Included with Coursera Plus; not a global-cheapest claim and not a guaranteed completion period. [1]
This is the stated access-payment scenario, not the total price of completing the program. Completion time does not determine purchased periods. No taxes, currency conversion or future renewals are assumed.
No promotional price stated in the checked source.
Who should skip these options
IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate
- Build working knowledge of Python and Jupyter Notebooks first if you do not yet have it; the program lists that background as a prerequisite. · [12] · 2026-09-04
- Refresh high-school mathematics or mathematics for machine learning before starting if that foundation is missing; it is part of the listed prerequisites. · [12] · 2026-09-04
At a Glance
| Feature | IBM AI Engineering[14] | IBM Generative AI Engineering[6] |
|---|---|---|
| Level | Intermediate | Beginner |
| Entry background | Recommended: Python, data analysis and visualization, high school math, gen AI basics; FAQ: Python, Jupyter, math | Basic computer literacy; no prior experience required |
| Courses | 13 (listed hours add up to 168) | 16 (listed hours add up to 188) |
| Time estimate | 4 months at 10 hours a week | 6 months at 6 hours a week |
| US access cost | Included with Coursera Plus | Included with Coursera Plus |
| College credit | No university credit at this time | ACE recommended, up to 17 college credits |
| Expiry | None stated | None stated |
Scope and Overlap
Nine courses carry the same titles and hours in both programs: Machine Learning with Python, Introduction to Deep Learning & Neural Networks with Keras, and seven generative AI courses on LLM architecture, NLP foundation models, transformers, fine-tuning, AI agents with RAG and LangChain, and a RAG and LangChain project.
Only AI Engineering includes Deep Learning with Keras and Tensorflow, Introduction to Neural Networks and PyTorch, Deep Learning with PyTorch and AI Capstone Project with Deep Learning. Only Generative AI Engineering includes Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI), Generative AI: Introduction and Applications, Generative AI: Prompt Engineering Basics, Python for Data Science, AI & Development, Developing AI Applications with Python and Flask, Building Generative AI-Powered Applications with Python and Data Analysis with Python.
Entry Background and Time
AI Engineering recommends Python, data analysis and visualization, high school math and generative AI fundamentals; its FAQ prerequisites are Python, Jupyter Notebooks and high school math or math for machine learning, and highly recommends an IBM Data Science or Applied AI certificate first. Generative AI Engineering asks for basic computer literacy. Times are provider estimates; both are self-paced.
Cost
Neither page shows a separate program price; both are marked as included with Coursera Plus, and both mention financial aid. On 15 October 2026 the Coursera Plus page showed $59 a month, cancel anytime, or $399 a year with a 14-day refund window. A monthly price is not a completion total: at the estimates above, AI Engineering spans about 4 months and Generative AI Engineering about 6.
Credential and College Credit
Both end with a shareable career certificate from IBM, with no separate exam described on the pages. AI Engineering also leads to an IBM badge issued through Acclaim, and its FAQ says there is no university credit for completing courses in this program at this time. Generative AI Engineering has an ACE recommendation for up to 17 college credits; each institution decides whether to accept it. Both pages say learning may be recognized for credit after completing the certificate, if you are admitted and enroll in a listed online degree program. Neither page states an expiry or renewal.
Which to choose if…
IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate
Choose IBM AI Engineering if you already work in Python and Jupyter Notebooks and want deeper deep learning practice with Keras, TensorFlow and PyTorch before the shared generative AI courses.
IBM Generative AI Engineering Professional Certificate
Choose IBM Generative AI Engineering if you are starting without programming experience and want a longer path that teaches Python and AI app building before the same LLM, fine-tuning and RAG courses.
Alternatives in the registry
Related by topic or level.
- AI agent engineerPrice: Check official price · Price observation recorded 3 Oct 2026 (not a current price): As shown in the United States on 3 October 2026, access sits in the Self-study plan at USD 29 a month billed annually; there is no fixed completion price.[7]Duration: 36 hours of content (provider-listed)[8]
- AI FundamentalsPrice: DataCamp Premium · USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price[9]Duration: Approximately 9 hours[10]
- Data scientistPrice: Check official price · Price observation recorded 3 Oct 2026 (not a current price): As shown in the United States on 3 October 2026, access sits in the Self-study plan at USD 29 a month billed annually; there is no fixed completion price.[7]Duration: 69 hours of content (provider-listed)[11]
Sources
Editorial checked . No commercial relationship is documented for this comparison.
- www.coursera.org/courseraplus/special/cplus-monthly-august-2026-global · checked
- www.coursera.org/courseraplus · checked
- www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ai-engineer · checked
- www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-generative-ai-engineering · checked
- www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ai-engineer · checked
- www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-generative-ai-engineering · checked
- 365datascience.com/pricing/ · checked
- 365datascience.com/career-tracks/ai-agent-engineer/ · checked
- www.datacamp.com/pricing?period=monthly · checked
- www.datacamp.com/tracks/ai-fundamentals · checked
- 365datascience.com/career-tracks/data-scientist/ · checked
- www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ai-engineer · checked
- www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-generative-ai-engineering · checked
- www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ai-engineer · checked
- www.credly.com/org/ibm/badge/ibm-ai-engineering-professional-certificate-v3 · checked
- www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-generative-ai-engineering · checked
- www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ai-engineer
- www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ibm-generative-ai-engineering
- www.coursera.org/courseraplus · checked
- www.credly.com/org/ibm/badge/ibm-ai-engineering-professional-certificate-v3 · checked