Professional Certificate profile · official sources
IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate
An online IBM program on Coursera covering machine learning, deep learning, big-data workflows, neural-network frameworks, and applied projects. It is aimed at technical learners and awards a professional learning credential, not an academic degree or independent proof of production work experience.
Facts checked 15 Oct 2026
- Price
- See pricing
Exact public per-program checkout amount is not stated; use the separately sourced minimum eligible provider plan scenario.
Official pricing source · 2026-09-05
- Provider link
See price and enroll at IBM on Coursera (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.
- Time
- 4 months at 10 hours a week
- Level
- Intermediate
- Credential
- Professional Certificate
Shareable certificate; may be added to LinkedIn, resume/CV and shared on social media or in a performance review.
- Format
- Online, self-paced multi-course program
- Prerequisites
- Working knowledge of Python and Jupyter Notebooks, plus high-school mathematics or mathematics for machine learning.
Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. Links go directly to IBM and Coursera without referral parameters. Editorial inclusion is independent of commercial status.
Sources ↗
- Duration · https://www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ai-engineer
- Official program page · https://www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/ai-engineer
- Provider subscription terms · https://www.coursera.org/courseraplus/special/cplus-monthly-august-2026-global
- Credential details · https://www.credly.com/org/ibm/badge/ibm-ai-engineering-professional-certificate-v3
No program-specific checkout or completion price is recorded in this registry; the dated Coursera Plus access price is in the sourced pricing details below.
See the full registry price landscape. Prices retain their stated payment scope; they are not comparable completion costs.
What’s covered
- Machine Learning with Python
- Introduction to Deep Learning & Neural Networks with Keras
- Deep Learning with Keras and Tensorflow
- Introduction to Neural Networks and PyTorch
- Deep Learning with PyTorch
- AI Capstone Project with Deep Learning
- Generative AI and LLMs: Architecture and Data Preparation
- Gen AI Foundational Models for NLP & Language Understanding
- Generative AI Language Modeling with Transformers
- Generative AI Engineering and Fine-Tuning Transformers
- Generative AI Advanced Fine-Tuning for LLMs
- Fundamentals of AI Agents Using RAG and LangChain
- Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain
Prerequisites: Working knowledge of Python and Jupyter Notebooks, plus high-school mathematics or mathematics for machine learning.
Is IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate worth it in 2026?
The stated duration is 4 months at 10 hours a week. Choose it for structured technical learning in machine learning, deep learning and applied projects. It is not an academic degree or a substitute for production work experience. Treat the credential as one piece of evidence, not a guarantee of a job, promotion or project outcome. Before paying, compare the syllabus and assessment with the work you actually need to do.
See price and enroll at IBM on Coursera (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.
How much does IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate cost?
No program-specific checkout price is stated; the access-cost scenario below uses the Coursera Plus Monthly price of USD 59 checked 5 September 2026 and is not a guaranteed completion price. Choose it for structured technical learning in machine learning, deep learning and applied projects. It is not an academic degree or a substitute for production work experience. Check the final checkout total, what access includes, and any renewal or cancellation terms before you pay. A lower headline price is not automatically better value: choose the option that gives you the learning and practice you will actually use, rather than paying for a credential alone.
How long is IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate, and how is it delivered?
The stated duration is 4 months at 10 hours a week. Delivery: Online, self-paced multi-course program. Choose it for structured technical learning in machine learning, deep learning and applied projects. It is not an academic degree or a substitute for production work experience. Decide whether you can make room for the work as well as the listed teaching or exam time. Leave time for practice and review; a published duration is a planning guide, not a promise that every learner will finish at the same pace.
Who is IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate for, and what are the prerequisites?
Starting point: Working knowledge of Python and Jupyter Notebooks, plus high-school mathematics or mathematics for machine learning.. Choose it for structured technical learning in machine learning, deep learning and applied projects. It is not an academic degree or a substitute for production work experience. Compare those expectations with a task you can already complete on your own. If there is a gap, address it before paying. Look at the assessment and practice offered, not just the credential name, when deciding whether the level is right for you.
What you actually do
- Machine Learning with Python · 20 hours; Provider-listed component course 1 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Introduction to Deep Learning & Neural Networks with Keras · 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 2 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Deep Learning with Keras and Tensorflow · 23 hours; Provider-listed component course 3 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Introduction to Neural Networks and PyTorch · 19 hours; Provider-listed component course 4 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Deep Learning with PyTorch · 21 hours; Provider-listed component course 5 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- AI Capstone Project with Deep Learning · 15 hours; Provider-listed component course 6 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI and LLMs: Architecture and Data Preparation · 6 hours; Provider-listed component course 7 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Gen AI Foundational Models for NLP & Language Understanding · 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 8 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI Language Modeling with Transformers · 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 9 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI Engineering and Fine-Tuning Transformers · 8 hours; Provider-listed component course 10 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Generative AI Advanced Fine-Tuning for LLMs · 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 11 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Fundamentals of AI Agents Using RAG and LangChain · 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 12 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
- Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain · 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 13 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
What the credential is
- Credential type
- Professional Certificate · www.coursera.org / ai-engineer
- Credential
- IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate · www.coursera.org / ai-engineer
- Issuer
- IBM · www.coursera.org / ai-engineer
- Sharing
- Shareable certificate; may be added to LinkedIn, resume/CV and shared on social media or in a performance review. · www.coursera.org / ai-engineer
- Exam required
- provider does not state · www.coursera.org / ai-engineer
- Credential expires
- provider does not state · www.coursera.org / ai-engineer
- Renewal
- provider does not state · www.coursera.org / ai-engineer
Total cost · access scenario
Conditional regular-price access cost: USD 59 × 1 = USD 59 for 1 × month.
One billing period of access; not a completion guarantee.
Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout. Lowest exact verified upfront plan route only for programs whose own page independently shows Included with Coursera Plus; not a global-cheapest claim and not a guaranteed completion period. Official source
This is the stated access-payment scenario, not the total price of completing the program. Completion time does not determine purchased periods. No taxes, currency conversion or future renewals are assumed.
Who should skip it
- Build working knowledge of Python and Jupyter Notebooks first if you do not yet have it; the program lists that background as a prerequisite. · Source
- Refresh high-school mathematics or mathematics for machine learning before starting if that foundation is missing; it is part of the listed prerequisites. · Source
Alternatives in the registry
Related by topic or level.
- Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists · DataCamp Premium · USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price (price checked 8 September 2026); 40 hours of listed content (duration checked 6 September 2026).
- AI Fundamentals · DataCamp Premium · USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price (price checked 8 September 2026); Approximately 9 hours (duration checked 8 September 2026).
- Machine Learning Specialization · DeepLearning.AI Pro · USD 50/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price; Publisher content: 94h58m. Publisher pacing: about 10 weeks at 5 hours/week; Coursera pacing: 2 months at 10 hours/week, with course estimates 33/34/28 hours. Different provider estimates, not a completion guarantee (duration checked 1 October 2026).
Change log
- : First recorded review of source-supported program depth and credential details. · Source
- : Rechecked credential issuer and sharing, retained unstated exam/expiry fields, and recorded comparable content-workload hours separately from calendar estimates. · Source
- : Rechecked; current header duration and language updated; stale FAQ conflict retained. · Source
- : Recorded published regular access pricing separately from promotional offers; added an explicit one-period access-cost scenario with regional and checkout limitations. · Source
- : Routine recheck against Monday capture. No substantive changes to curriculum, duration, or credential details identified. Nested fact-check dates preserved where unchanged. · Source
See price and enroll at IBM on Coursera (official site) ↗
Official site. No commission.