Program comparison

IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate vs Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists: which fits your learning goal?

For a Python practitioner choosing structured machine-learning model-development training

For Python practitioners choosing structured machine-learning model-development training, two distinct paths present themselves. The IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate on Coursera provides a multi-course curriculum emphasizing deep learning frameworks. The Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists track on DataCamp offers a shorter listed workload that includes operational workflows and software engineering practice alongside its model training. While both target data scientists and technical specialists, they diverge substantially in framework coverage, course emphasis, and stated content workloads.

Facts side by side

Swipe or scroll the table to compare both programs.

Price and duration retain their stated scope.
FactIBM AI Engineering Professional CertificateAssociate AI Engineer for Data Scientists
PriceCoursera Plus Monthly — USD 59 / month regular; USD promotional terms; not available to residents of India. Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout.Official source · checked DataCamp Premium — USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular priceOfficial source · checked
Duration4 months at 10 hours a weekOfficial source · checked 40 hours of listed contentOfficial source · checked
LevelIntermediateOfficial source · checked Not stated in the source.
CredentialProfessional CertificateOfficial source · checked Statement of AccomplishmentOfficial source · checked
FormatOnline, self-paced multi-course programOfficial source · checked Online DataCamp learning track; 13 courses plus 2 bonus projects (15 track items).Official source · checked
PrerequisitesWorking knowledge of Python and Jupyter Notebooks, plus high-school mathematics or mathematics for machine learning.Official source · checked Formal prerequisites section: There are no prerequisites for this track. Context qualification: the audience section says it builds on existing machine-learning and Python knowledge.Official source · checked

Provider-listed modules and exam domains

IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate

  • Machine Learning with Python — 20 hours; Provider-listed component course 1 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Introduction to Deep Learning & Neural Networks with Keras — 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 2 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Deep Learning with Keras and Tensorflow — 23 hours; Provider-listed component course 3 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Introduction to Neural Networks and PyTorch — 19 hours; Provider-listed component course 4 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Deep Learning with PyTorch — 21 hours; Provider-listed component course 5 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • AI Capstone Project with Deep Learning — 15 hours; Provider-listed component course 6 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Generative AI and LLMs: Architecture and Data Preparation — 6 hours; Provider-listed component course 7 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Gen AI Foundational Models for NLP & Language Understanding — 10 hours; Provider-listed component course 8 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Generative AI Language Modeling with Transformers — 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 9 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Generative AI Engineering and Fine-Tuning Transformers — 8 hours; Provider-listed component course 10 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Generative AI Advanced Fine-Tuning for LLMs — 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 11 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Fundamentals of AI Agents Using RAG and LangChain — 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 12 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source
  • Project: Generative AI Applications with RAG and LangChain — 9 hours; Provider-listed component course 13 of the Professional Certificate, not a standalone exam domain. · Source

Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists

  • Supervised Learning with scikit-learn — Course · Source
  • Unsupervised Learning in Python — Course · Source
  • Working with Hugging Face — Course · Source
  • Introduction to Deep Learning with PyTorch — Course · Source
  • Explainable AI in Python — Course · Source
  • Intermediate Deep Learning with PyTorch — Course · Source
  • Developing Multi-Input Models For OCR — Bonus project · Source
  • Responsible AI Data Management — Course · Source
  • Introduction to LLMs in Python — Course · Source
  • Analyzing Car Reviews with LLMs — Bonus project · Source
  • Working with Llama 3 — Course · Source
  • MLOps Concepts — Course · Source
  • Software Engineering Principles in Python — Course · Source
  • Introduction to Git — Course · Source
  • Introduction to Testing in Python — Course · Source

What the credentials are

IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate

Credential type
Professional Certificate · Source
Credential
IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate · Source
Issuer
IBM · Source
Sharing
Shareable certificate; may be added to LinkedIn, resume/CV and shared on social media or in a performance review. · Source
Exam required
provider does not state · Source
Credential expires
provider does not state · Source
Renewal
provider does not state · Source

Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists

Credential type
Statement of Accomplishment · Source
Credential
Statement of Accomplishment · Source
Sharing
Share on LinkedIn, a resume or CV, social media, or in a performance review. · Source
Credential scope
Completing the track earns a Statement of Accomplishment. The page separately advertises preparation for certification; track completion alone is not that certification. · Source
Exam required
provider does not state · Source
Credential expires
provider does not state · Source
Renewal
provider does not state · Source

Cost for the stated scope

IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate

Conditional regular-price access cost: USD 59 × 1 = USD 59 for 1 × month.

One billing period of access; not a completion guarantee.

USD promotional terms; not available to residents of India. Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout. Lowest exact verified upfront plan route only for programs whose own page independently shows Included with Coursera Plus; not a global-cheapest claim and not a guaranteed completion period. Official source

This is the stated access-payment scenario, not the total price of completing the program. Completion time does not determine purchased periods. No taxes, currency conversion or future renewals are assumed.

USD 35.40 / month: 3 consecutive months; claim deadline 2026-09-23T23:59:00Z; New Coursera Plus subscribers only; one per person; cannot combine with other offers; not available to residents of India. Automatically renews monthly at USD 59 plus applicable taxes unless canceled. Not used in the regular-price estimate.

Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists

Conditional regular-price estimate: If you purchase 1 monthly billing period of Premium for course content, USD 35 × 1 = USD 35.

USD 35/month, billed monthly. Official pricing

Premium for Individuals. English public pages with USD explicitly selected; visitor country not stated. Monthly regular access is USD 35 with no monthly promotion shown. Annual regular USD 330 and promotional USD 165 are separate billed totals; no promotion expiry or additional account/geographic restriction is stated. Access price is not a guarantee of track completion.

This is an access-payment scenario, not a guarantee of finishing within that time. Course hours do not determine billing periods. Activity-plan upgrades, taxes and future renewals are not included or assumed.

Who should skip these options

IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate

  • Build working knowledge of Python and Jupyter Notebooks first if you do not yet have it; the program lists that background as a prerequisite. · Source
  • Refresh high-school mathematics or mathematics for machine learning before starting if that foundation is missing; it is part of the listed prerequisites. · Source

Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists

  • Skip this track if you want to avoid coding and model development: its sequence includes Python, PyTorch, model training, and testing. · Source
  • Do not use the completion statement as a substitute for the separately advertised certification; the page distinguishes completion from certification preparation. · Source

Curriculum and Toolset Focus

The IBM program structures its curriculum across thirteen courses, covering deep learning frameworks including Keras, PyTorch, and TensorFlow, alongside Apache Spark. It concludes with dedicated modules on generative AI, including language modeling with transformers, fine-tuning, RAG, and LangChain. The DataCamp track consists of thirteen courses and two bonus projects. It similarly covers PyTorch, LangChain, and LLMs like Llama 3, but explicitly includes explainable AI tools such as SHAP and LIME. The DataCamp curriculum extends beyond model development to cover operational and software engineering principles, incorporating dedicated courses on Git, Python testing, and MLOps concepts.

Workload Basis and Access Prerequisites

A prominent difference lies in the provider-listed content workload. The IBM program estimates a total of 168 hours of content across its component modules. It lists a working knowledge of Python and Jupyter Notebooks, as well as high-school mathematics or mathematics for machine learning. In contrast, the DataCamp track outlines a shorter 40 hours of listed content. While DataCamp officially states there are no formal prerequisites for the track itself, the targeted audience profile expects users to build upon existing machine learning and Python knowledge. These are content-workload estimates, not exam sitting times or promises of elapsed completion time. The 168-hour figure is a sum of IBM's displayed course estimates.

Subscription Costs and Credential Distinctions

Subscription payments cover access rather than a guaranteed cost to complete either program. Coursera Plus Monthly is a sourced access route for IBM at USD 59 regular for one month; financial aid may also be available. The Coursera Plus offer page supplies that regular price, while the program page supports Plus inclusion. Promotional rates are not the comparison's regular-price basis. Neither route establishes a fixed completion fee. DataCamp lists USD 35 for one month of regular Premium access. The award from IBM is a Professional Certificate, while completing the DataCamp track earns a Statement of Accomplishment. The track's completion artifact must remain distinct from DataCamp's separate certification. The reviewed credential terms do not establish the exam requirement, expiry, or renewal for these completion artifacts; absence of those facts does not establish that no exam or expiry exists.

Which to choose if…

IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate

Choose the IBM AI Engineering Professional Certificate if you want a longer listed curriculum spanning Keras, TensorFlow, and PyTorch, with generative-AI and RAG projects.

Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists

Choose the Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists track if your priority is model development alongside explainable AI, Git, testing, and MLOps in a shorter listed workload.

Alternatives in the registry

Related by topic or level.

Official pages and editorial sources

Editorial checked . No commercial relationship is documented for this comparison.

← All programs