Program profile · official sources

Machine Learning Scientist in R

An extended R learning track spanning supervised and unsupervised ML with Bayesian analysis.

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Who it is for

The R scientist track addresses prospective machine-learning, data-science, research and AI-engineering learners, as well as people deepening their R and machine-learning knowledge.

Who should skip it

Prepare R and basic ML familiarity if needed: FAQ expectations differ from the generic no-prerequisites panel, so do not rely on that panel alone.

Official source · 2026-09-09

Facts checked 9 Sep 2026

Price
DataCamp Premium · USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price
Premium for Individuals. English public pages with USD explicitly selected; visitor country not stated. Monthly regular access observed 2026-09-08 was USD 35. Annual regular access observed 2026-09-05 was USD 330, billed annually; a time-limited promotion was displayed on 5 September 2026. Access price is not a guarantee of track completion. ·
Provider link

See price and enroll at DataCamp (official site) ↗

Official site. No commission.

Time
65 hours

Provider-listed track duration; not guaranteed elapsed completion time.

Level
Not listed
Credential
Statement of Accomplishment

Add this credential to your LinkedIn profile, resume, or CV; share it on social media and in your performance review.

Format
Track
Prerequisites
See program details

The panel states no prerequisites. The beginner FAQ expects R programming and basic machine-learning concepts and recommends mathematics. Another FAQ says prior machine-learning knowledge is not necessary but says the track is best suited to basic R and machine-learning familiarity.

Course and activity access

Career and Skill tracks: Basic not included; Premium included.. Official source

What you actually do

Sixteen courses cover classification, regression, features, clustering, dimensionality reduction and Bayesian data analysis using tidymodels and other R packages. A skill assessment and movie-rental-duration project are bonus items. The FAQs variously describe basic R/ML familiarity, recommend mathematics and say prior ML knowledge is unnecessary; those observations remain distinct rather than rewritten into one uniform entry rule.

The breadth of the R Scientist route is relevant when you want to connect multiple modelling approaches rather than learn one package in isolation. Bayesian analysis, dimensionality reduction and predictive methods raise different questions, so a long topic inventory should not be interpreted as equal depth in every speciality.

The preparation statements are not fully aligned. The panel says none, while FAQ wording expects or favours R and basic ML familiarity and recommends mathematics. Keep that disagreement visible when deciding whether the sequence fits your background; it does not justify inventing a formal admission barrier or promising a completely unprepared start.

The alternatives provide another way to judge scope. A focused supervised-learning route may suit a narrower objective, while a broader scientist track represents a different commitment. The name of the completion credential does not replace that comparison of practical content and expected preparation. Your own modelling objective can therefore guide the choice more clearly than comparing track titles alone. The R learning route can be compared with your existing analytical workflow. Familiarity with a language and familiarity with a modelling approach are different considerations when deciding which part of the sequence matters most.

Official source · 2026-09-09

Before you start

The panel states no prerequisites. The beginner FAQ expects R programming and basic machine-learning concepts and recommends mathematics. Another FAQ says prior machine-learning knowledge is not necessary but says the track is best suited to basic R and machine-learning familiarity.

Official source · 2026-09-09

Curriculum

The sixty-five-hour track estimate describes provider-listed content. Sixteen core courses and bonus work do not define a necessary number of paid months or an examination duration.

EntrySubjectListed timeShareRoleObserved
1Supervised Learning in R: ClassificationNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
2Supervised Learning in R: RegressionNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
3Feature Engineering in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
4Unsupervised Learning in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
5Machine Learning in the TidyverseNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
6Intermediate Regression in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
7Cluster Analysis in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
8Machine Learning with caret in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
9Modeling with tidymodels in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
10Machine Learning with Tree-Based Models in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
11Dimensionality Reduction in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
12Support Vector Machines in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
13Fundamentals of Bayesian Data Analysis in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
14Hyperparameter Tuning in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
15Bayesian Regression Modeling with rstanarmNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
16Introduction to Spark with sparklyr in R4 hoursNot calculated2026-09-09

US price

Purchase informationRecorded terms
Access and billingFor the R Scientist track, USD35 is the regular one-month Premium access quote dated 2026-09-08. The 65-hour course estimate and sixteen-course scope do not establish a necessary number of payments or an all-in completion total.
Refund and retakesRefund and retake terms are not established in these stored policy fields.

Official source · 2026-09-08 | Official source · 2026-09-09

Alternatives

Supervised Machine Learning in R

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
DataCamp · TrackBeginner25 hoursStatement of AccomplishmentUSD 35. Regular one month of Premium access; not guaranteed total cost to finish.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?This track is particularly beneficial to data scientists, machine learning engineers, and researchers, though any job that requires knowledge of supervised machine learning will benefit from this track.
What preparation is required?There are no prerequisites for this track

Official source · 2026-09-09

Official source · 2026-09-09 | Official source · 2026-09-08

Machine learning scientist

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
365 Data Science · 100% online career trackAdvanced29 hours of content (provider-listed)Provider-issued certificationAs shown in the United States on 23 October 2026, the 365 Data Science pricing page displays a Free plan at $0/month (course previews, projects, exercises and practice exams) and a Self-study plan at $29/month billed annually, shown against a $36/month reference price; a billed-monthly option is shown without a separate amount in the captured page. The FAQ states $29/month. A Lifetime plan shows no amount (Contact us). Accredited certificates are listed under Self-study, not Free. These are platform subscription quotes, not a fixed career-track completion total.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?Learners moving into machine learning scientist work, whether transitioning from another role or extending a data background; the provider labels the track advanced.
What preparation is required?No formal prerequisite is stated on the track page. The provider labels the track advanced.
How is the award earned?Finish the career track (track page); 365 states career-track certificates involve course and career-track exams and that certifications require 60% or above on the respective exam.
What remains unconfirmed?Expiry, renewal and retake conditions are not stated. The track page does not itself describe the final exam; the exam condition comes from the 365 certificates page. Provider-listed accreditations are not treated as equivalence.

Official source · 2026-10-23 | Official source · 2026-10-23

Official source · 2026-10-23 | Official source · 2026-10-23

Questions before enrolling

What course completion earns the R Scientist statement, and are renewal rules known?

Completion observation 2026-09-09: finish the sixteen R Scientist courses to receive DataCamp's Statement of Accomplishment. The credential can be shared on LinkedIn, a resume or CV, social media and in a performance review. A separate final exam, passing threshold, expiry and renewal are unstated.

Official source · 2026-09-09

Change log

  • : Registry admission from previously reviewed official evidence; individual fact dates are preserved. · Source
← All programs