Program profile · official sources

IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate

The IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate is a beginner-oriented ten-course sequence on Coursera focused on building AI-powered applications. The curriculum spans software engineering, AI and generative AI foundations, prompt engineering, web development, Python, Flask, and application projects. The provider banner indicates no prior AI or programming experience is needed to begin. The banner estimates completion in six months at four hours per week, while the FAQ estimates six to eight months at three to five hours per week. The program distinguishes between earning a Professional Certificate from Coursera and a separate digital badge from IBM. It serves as a structured introduction to application building.

Facts checked 2 Oct 2026

Price
Coursera Plus Monthly : USD 59 / month regular; United States on 2 October 2026

Official source · Checked

Provider link

See price and enroll at IBM (official site) ↗

Official site. No commission.

Time
The provider page banner estimates 6 months at 4 hours per week. The FAQ estimates 6-8 months at 3-5 hours per week, noting that each course takes 4-6 weeks.
Level
Beginner
Credential
Professional Certificate

The program page describes a shareable certificate.

Prerequisites
The banner states no prior AI or programming experience is required. The FAQ outlines progression expectations, stating 'courses 1-5' do not require programming knowledge, while the 'final two courses' require proficiency in programming and software engineering principles.
Format
Online, flexible, self-paced 10-course Professional Certificate with hands-on labs and projects.

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Chart scrolls horizontally. Open the full-size chart.

IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate: USD 59; position among 38 other courses and tracks with accepted USD prices. Payment scopes differ. This price checked 2026-09-06. Registry snapshot 2026-09-25.

See the full registry price landscape. Prices retain their stated payment scope; they are not comparable completion costs.

What’s covered

  • Introduction to Software Engineering
  • Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI)
  • Generative AI: Introduction and Applications
  • Generative AI: Prompt Engineering Basics
  • Introduction to HTML, CSS, & JavaScript
  • Python for Data Science, AI & Development
  • Developing AI Applications with Python and Flask
  • Building Generative AI-Powered Applications with Python
  • Generative AI: Elevate your Software Development Career
  • Software Developer Career Guide and Interview Preparation

Prerequisites: The banner states no prior AI or programming experience is required. The FAQ outlines progression expectations, stating 'courses 1-5' do not require programming knowledge, while the 'final two courses' require proficiency in programming and software engineering principles.

Explore Coursera · Explore IBM

Who is IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate for?

This is a plausible starting route if you want structured practice building AI-powered applications and do not yet have AI or programming experience. Its ten courses connect software foundations and web technologies with Python, Flask, prompting and application projects. Choose it for that introductory sequence, not simply the career language attached to the title. Learners already implementing advanced models should compare the syllabus against their gaps before committing time or recurring subscription payments.

What does IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate cost?

The program page independently confirms Coursera Plus eligibility. The cited official Coursera Plus page states the regular USD 59 monthly price and automatic renewal terms. Our scenario uses one regular month of access, not the price of completing the certificate. Taxes and local checkout pricing may differ. Check those terms before paying; the provider learning schedule does not determine your purchased billing periods.

What should I know about study time and the credential?

IBM's Coursera page estimates six months at four hours per week and says no prior AI or programming experience is required. The sequence has ten courses, including software foundations, web development, Python, Flask and AI application projects. Completion yields a Professional Certificate from Coursera and a digital badge from IBM. Exact exam, expiry and renewal conditions were not stated in the reviewed source. Treat the schedule as a learning estimate, not a guaranteed subscription duration.

What you actually do

  • Introduction to Software Engineering : 15 hours; Course · Source
  • Introduction to Artificial Intelligence (AI) : 13 hours; Course · Source
  • Generative AI: Introduction and Applications : 8 hours; Course · Source
  • Generative AI: Prompt Engineering Basics : 10 hours; Course · Source
  • Introduction to HTML, CSS, & JavaScript : 15 hours; Course · Source
  • Python for Data Science, AI & Development : 24 hours; Course · Source
  • Developing AI Applications with Python and Flask : 12 hours; Course · Source
  • Building Generative AI-Powered Applications with Python : 15 hours; Course · Source
  • Generative AI: Elevate your Software Development Career : 23 hours; Course · Source
  • Software Developer Career Guide and Interview Preparation : 11 hours; Course · Source

What the credential is

Credential type
Professional Certificate · www.coursera.org / applied-artifical-intelligence-ibm-watson-ai
Credential
IBM AI Developer Professional Certificate · www.coursera.org / applied-artifical-intelligence-ibm-watson-ai
Issuer
Coursera (Professional Certificate); IBM (digital badge) · www.coursera.org / applied-artifical-intelligence-ibm-watson-ai
Sharing
The program page describes a shareable certificate. · www.coursera.org / applied-artifical-intelligence-ibm-watson-ai
Credential scope
Successful program completion yields a Professional Certificate from Coursera and a digital badge from IBM; the certificate is shareable. Expiry/renewal is not stated. · www.coursera.org / applied-artifical-intelligence-ibm-watson-ai
Exam required
provider does not state · www.coursera.org / applied-artifical-intelligence-ibm-watson-ai
Credential expires
provider does not state · www.coursera.org / applied-artifical-intelligence-ibm-watson-ai
Renewal
provider does not state · www.coursera.org / applied-artifical-intelligence-ibm-watson-ai

Who should skip it

  • Compare a deeper technical route if your goal is advanced model engineering; this program is positioned as a beginner introduction. · Official source · 2026-10-02
  • Do not treat the provider career positioning or a completion certificate as a guarantee of employment. · Official source · 2026-10-02

Alternatives in the registry

Related by topic or level.

  • Generative AI for Everyone · DeepLearning.AI Pro · USD 50/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price; Publisher lists 5 hours 1 minute of content; the separate Coursera route estimates approximately 6 hours. Not a guaranteed elapsed completion time..
  • IBM AI Product Manager Professional Certificate · Coursera Plus Monthly · USD 59 / month regular. Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout.; 3 months at 10 hours per week.
  • AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01) · USD 100 (One initial exam attempt; check applicable regional pricing and taxes. Optional preparation and retakes are not included.); 90 minutes (exam only; not preparation time).

Change log

  • : Initial recorded review of official program, credential and payment-scope facts. · Source
  • : US source recheck updated the language, price, subscription offer, subscription offer source, cost details, omission notes, durations of modules 1 to 10, credential sources, price fact check, duration, prerequisites and summary. Historical source reviews retained. · Source
← All programs