Program comparison
365 AI engineer vs DataCamp AI Engineer for Data Scientists: where should you start?
For a learner choosing between a beginner-first AI-engineering track and a data-scientist-to-AI-engineer extension path
DataCamp: official site, no commission. 365 Data Science: we may earn a commission. It does not change our facts.
Choose by your starting knowledge and the work you want to practice. These tracks have different learning sequences and credential conditions; neither title is a promise of employment.
Facts side by side
Swipe or scroll the table to compare both programs.
| Fact | AI engineer | Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Price observation recorded 6 Sep 2026: No separately sold track price is stated. The platform-wide Self-Study plan displays a regular comparison price of $36/month and an observed $29/month billed annually offer. ISO currency and a separately monthly-billed amount were not established; neither display is treated as a source-checked completion total.[1] | DataCamp Premium · USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price[2] |
| Duration | 32 hours of content[3] | 40 hours of listed content[4] |
| Level | Basic[3] | Not stated in the source. |
| Credential | Provider-issued certification[3] | Statement of Accomplishment[4] |
| Format | 100% online, self-paced career track[3] | Online DataCamp learning track; 13 courses plus 2 bonus projects (15 track items).[4] |
| Prerequisites | No enrollment prerequisites.[3] | Formal prerequisites section: There are no prerequisites for this track. Context qualification: the audience section says it builds on existing machine-learning and Python knowledge.[4] |
Official sites. No commission.
Provider-listed modules and exam domains
AI engineer
- Intro to AI · Course · [3]
- Introduction to Python · Course · [3]
- Data Cleaning and Preprocessing with pandas · Course · [3]
- Intro to NLP for AI · Course · [3]
- Intro to LLMs · Course · [3]
- Build Chat Applications with OpenAI and LangChain · Course · [3]
- Introduction to Vector Databases with Pinecone · Course · [3]
- LLM Engineering in Practice with Streamlit and OpenAI · Course · [3]
- Speech Recognition with Python · Course · [3]
- ChatGPT for Data Science · Course · [3]
Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists
- Supervised Learning with scikit-learn · Course · [4]
- Unsupervised Learning in Python · Course · [4]
- Working with Hugging Face · Course · [4]
- Introduction to Deep Learning with PyTorch · Course · [4]
- Explainable AI in Python · Course · [4]
- Intermediate Deep Learning with PyTorch · Course · [4]
- Developing Multi-Input Models For OCR · Bonus project · [4]
- Responsible AI Data Management · Course · [4]
- Introduction to LLMs in Python · Course · [4]
- Analyzing Car Reviews with LLMs · Bonus project · [4]
- Working with Llama 3 · Course · [4]
- MLOps Concepts · Course · [4]
- Software Engineering Principles in Python · Course · [4]
- Introduction to Git · Course · [4]
- Introduction to Testing in Python · Course · [4]
What the credentials are
AI engineer
- Credential type
- Provider-issued certification · [3]
- Credential
- AI engineer certification · [3] [9]
- Issuer
- 365 Data Science · [3] [9]
- Sharing
- The provider describes the certification as shareable. · [3] [9]
- Exam requirement
- Pass the final career-track exam; general certificate terms state 60% or above. · [9]
- Credential expires
- provider does not state · [3]
- Renewal
- provider does not state · [3]
Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists
- Credential type
- Statement of Accomplishment · [4]
- Credential
- Statement of Accomplishment · [4]
- Sharing
- Share on LinkedIn, a resume or CV, social media, or in a performance review. · [4]
- Credential scope
- Completing the track earns a Statement of Accomplishment. The page separately advertises preparation for certification; track completion alone is not that certification. · [4]
- Exam required
- provider does not state · [4]
- Credential expires
- provider does not state · [4]
- Renewal
- provider does not state · [4]
Cost for the stated scope
Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists
Conditional regular-price estimate: If you purchase 1 monthly billing period of Premium for course content, USD 35 × 1 = USD 35.
USD 35/month, billed monthly. [2]
Premium for Individuals. English public pages with USD explicitly selected; visitor country not stated. Monthly regular access observed 2026-09-08 was USD 35. Annual regular access observed 2026-09-05 was USD 330, billed annually; a time-limited promotion was displayed on 5 September 2026. Access price is not a guarantee of track completion.
This is an access-payment scenario, not a guarantee of finishing within that time. Course hours do not determine billing periods. Activity-plan upgrades and future renewals are not included or assumed.
Who should skip these options
AI engineer
Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists
- Skip this track if you want to avoid coding and model development: its sequence includes Python, PyTorch, model training, and testing. · [11]
- Do not use the completion statement as a substitute for the separately advertised certification; the page distinguishes completion from certification preparation. · [11]
Begin with what you already know
365 Data Science labels its AI engineer track Basic and says there are no enrollment prerequisites. Its ten-course sequence introduces Python before moving through preprocessing, NLP, LLMs, chat applications and vector databases. We would consider it for a beginner or career-switcher who wants a guided starting sequence with application-building topics, while checking whether the individual projects match the work they want to attempt. (Figures as checked on 6 September 2026.)
DataCamp's Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists addresses people extending existing data-science skills toward AI engineering. Its formal prerequisites section says none, but its audience description explicitly builds on Python and machine-learning knowledge. Read those statements together. A learner seeking their first programming introduction should not interpret the absence of a formal admission requirement as evidence that the curriculum assumes no prior knowledge.
Compare the curriculum and workload separately
365 lists 32 content hours and ten courses, including OpenAI and LangChain chat applications, Pinecone vector databases, Streamlit and speech recognition. DataCamp lists 40 hours, thirteen courses and two bonus projects. Its sequence includes supervised and unsupervised learning, PyTorch, explainability, responsible data management, LLMs, MLOps, Git and testing. Both cover technical work, but the emphasis and starting sequence differ. (Figures as checked on 6 September 2026.)
These published hours describe content workload, not a guaranteed calendar schedule. They do not establish how many subscription payments you will make, how quickly you will finish practice, or whether you can implement a production system independently. Use the module lists to identify gaps and duplicate material before comparing the headline hours.
Keep the award and payment conditions distinct
365 requires passing its final career-track exam for the provider certification; its general certificate terms state a passing score of 60% or above. DataCamp track completion earns a shareable Statement of Accomplishment. Its separately advertised certification is not automatically awarded by finishing the track. Unstated expiry, renewal or assessment details remain unknown rather than being treated as equivalent conditions. (Figures as checked on 6 September 2026.)
DataCamp's track explicitly includes Premium access, with a verified regular USD 35 monthly option. That is one access payment, not a completion price. 365's platform-wide Self-Study page displays $36/month alongside $29/month billed annually, but the reviewed evidence does not establish an ISO currency or a separately monthly-billed quote. We therefore do not rank these prices as an equivalent payment pair. Confirm the chosen plan and checkout terms before paying. (Figures as checked on 6 September 2026.)
Which to choose if…
AI engineer
Choose 365 AI engineer if you want a beginner-first sequence from Python and AI foundations toward LLM applications and a provider career-track exam.
Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists
Choose DataCamp AI Engineer for Data Scientists if you already use Python and machine learning and want to extend model development toward production-oriented practices.
Alternatives in the registry
Related by topic or level.
- Associate AI Engineer for DevelopersPrice: DataCamp Premium · USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price[2]Duration: 29 content hours[5]
- Intro to AI Agents and Agentic AIPrice: 365 Data Science Self-Study · USD 36/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price[6]Duration: 2 hours (Official course-page advertised content duration, not total completion time; the 365 course catalog also showed 2 hours of content on 3 October 2026.)[7]
- Machine Learning Scientist in PythonPrice: DataCamp Premium · USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price[2]Duration: 85 hours[8]
Sources
Editorial checked .
- 365datascience.com/pricing/ · checked
- www.datacamp.com/pricing?period=monthly · checked
- 365datascience.com/career-tracks/ai-engineer/ · checked
- www.datacamp.com/tracks/associate-ai-engineer-for-data-scientists · checked
- www.datacamp.com/tracks/associate-ai-engineer-for-developers · checked
- 365datascience.com/pricing/ · checked
- 365datascience.com/courses/intro-to-ai-agents-and-agentic-ai/ · checked
- www.datacamp.com/tracks/machine-learning-scientist-with-python · checked
- 365datascience.com/certificates/ · checked
- 365datascience.com/career-tracks/ai-engineer/ · checked
- www.datacamp.com/tracks/associate-ai-engineer-for-data-scientists · checked
- 365datascience.com/career-tracks/ai-engineer/
- www.datacamp.com/tracks/associate-ai-engineer-for-data-scientists
- www.datacamp.com/pricing?period=monthly · checked