Program profile · official sources

ChatGPT Fundamentals

ChatGPT Fundamentals is a self-paced online learning track with three listed hours offered by DataCamp. Designed to introduce the basics of ChatGPT and prompt engineering, the program consists of three specific courses: Understanding ChatGPT, Understanding Prompt Engineering, and Intermediate ChatGPT. Learners access the content through a DataCamp Premium subscription, which costs USD 35 for one month of regular access. There are no prerequisites required to begin this foundational track. Throughout the curriculum, participants explore ChatGPT's architecture, learn prompt crafting techniques, and engage with bonus resources covering custom models and advanced data analysis. Upon finishing the three courses, students receive a Statement of Accomplishment from DataCamp, which can be shared on professional networks and resumes.

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Price
DataCamp Premium — USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price. (see provider page)
Premium for Individuals. English public pages with USD explicitly selected; visitor country not stated. Monthly regular access is USD 35 with no monthly promotion shown. Annual regular USD 330 and promotional USD 165 are separate billed totals; no promotion expiry or additional account/geographic restriction is stated. Access price is not a guarantee of track completion. · Official pricing
Duration
3 hours
Format
Online self-paced learning track
Credential
Statement of Accomplishment
Prerequisites
There are no prerequisites for this track

Course and activity access

Career and Skill tracks: Basic Not included; Premium Included.. Official source

What’s covered

  • Understanding ChatGPT
  • What Is Prompt Engineering? A Detailed Guide For 2026
  • Understanding Prompt Engineering
  • Intermediate ChatGPT
  • Using ChatGPT's Advanced Data Analysis
  • How to Make Custom ChatGPT Models: 5 Easy Steps to Personalized GPTs

Prerequisites: There are no prerequisites for this track

Explore DataCamp

View official program ↗

How much does the ChatGPT Fundamentals track cost?

To access the ChatGPT Fundamentals learning track, students must subscribe to a DataCamp Premium plan. The regular price for one month of Premium access is USD 35. Because the subscription provides time-based access to the platform rather than purchasing the track outright, this monthly fee is not a guaranteed total cost to finish the program. The listed three-hour workload does not promise an elapsed completion date or establish whether bonus resources are included. Annual offers are separate subscription alternatives. DataCamp does not offer the complete skill and career tracks on its Basic limited access free plan.

What credential do I receive upon completing this track?

Upon completing the three courses in the ChatGPT Fundamentals track, you earn a Statement of Accomplishment issued by DataCamp. This credential acknowledges your participation and completion of the curriculum materials. DataCamp states that you can add this Statement of Accomplishment to your resume, curriculum vitae, or LinkedIn profile, and share it during performance reviews. The provider does not state whether a formal exam is required to earn the credential, nor do they state if the Statement of Accomplishment has an expiration date or renewal requirement. Its completion statement must remain distinct from a separately assessed professional certification.

Are there any prerequisites required to start this program?

DataCamp explicitly states that there are no prerequisites required to begin the ChatGPT Fundamentals track. It is designed as a foundational learning path tailored to introduce beginners to the basics of artificial intelligence and ChatGPT. Because the curriculum starts with fundamental concepts in the "Understanding ChatGPT" course and progresses through "Understanding Prompt Engineering" before concluding with "Intermediate ChatGPT," the sequence moves from introductory use to more advanced prompting. The listed activities include practical exercises communicating with ChatGPT, and three bonus resources cover prompting, advanced data analysis, and custom GPTs.

What you actually do

  • Understanding ChatGPT — Course; provider-listed track item. · Source
  • What Is Prompt Engineering? A Detailed Guide For 2026 — Bonus resource · Source
  • Understanding Prompt Engineering — Course; provider-listed track item. · Source
  • Intermediate ChatGPT — Course; provider-listed track item. · Source
  • Using ChatGPT's Advanced Data Analysis — Bonus resource · Source
  • How to Make Custom ChatGPT Models: 5 Easy Steps to Personalized GPTs — Bonus resource · Source

What the credential is

Credential type
Statement of Accomplishment · Source
Credential
Statement of Accomplishment · Source
Issuer
DataCamp · Source
Sharing
Add this credential to your LinkedIn profile, resume, or CV; share it on social media and in your performance review. · Source
Exam required
provider does not state · Source
Credential expires
provider does not state · Source
Renewal
provider does not state · Source

Who should skip it

  • Individuals looking for advanced machine learning development courses, as this track is explicitly tailored to introduce the basics of ChatGPT. · Source
  • Learners seeking a fully free educational program, because accessing the complete track requires a paid DataCamp Premium subscription. · Source
  • Students who need a specifically examined professional credential: this track awards a Statement of Accomplishment, with exam requirements, expiry, and renewal unstated in the reviewed terms. · Source

Alternatives in the registry

Related by topic or level.

  • Developing AI Applications — DataCamp Premium — USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price; 21 hours.
  • Generative AI for Everyone — DeepLearning.AI Pro — USD 50/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price; Publisher lists 5 hours 1 minute of content; the separate Coursera route estimates approximately 6 hours. Not a guaranteed elapsed completion time..
  • Generative AI Essentials — Educative Standard — USD 278/year for course content, billed annually upfront; 10 hours listed.

Change log

  • : Initial review of official program, curriculum, credential and subscription-access sources. · Source
← All programs