Program profile · official sources

Machine Learning Fundamentals in R

An introductory R track for classification, regression and unsupervised learning.

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Who it is for

Learners seeking R-based classification, regression and unsupervised methods can assess this six-course fundamentals route through its caret and tidymodels coverage.

Who should skip it

Compare a Python route if that is your intended ecosystem; the curriculum here uses R packages including caret and tidymodels.

Official source · 2026-09-09

Facts checked 9 Sep 2026

Price
DataCamp Premium · USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price
Premium for Individuals. English public pages with USD explicitly selected; visitor country not stated. Monthly regular access observed 2026-09-08 was USD 35. Annual regular access observed 2026-09-05 was USD 330, billed annually; a time-limited promotion was displayed on 5 September 2026. Access price is not a guarantee of track completion. ·
Provider link

See price and enroll at DataCamp (official site) ↗

Official site. No commission.

Time
24 hours

Provider-listed track duration; not guaranteed elapsed completion time.

Level
Beginner
Credential
Statement of Accomplishment

Add this credential to your LinkedIn profile, resume, or CV; share it on social media and in your performance review.

Format
Track
Prerequisites
There are no prerequisites for this track

Course and activity access

Career and Skill tracks: Basic not included; Premium included.. Official source

What you actually do

DataCamp connects six core courses with a bonus project and skill assessment. The programme addresses learners exploring data-science and AI-specialist interests without imposing prerequisites. Those career interests do not make a course-completion statement a professional licence or a guarantee of readiness for every role.

The R ecosystem is the main practical distinction when comparing this track with a Python foundation route. Similar ML concepts can be taught through different tools, and the most useful choice depends partly on the environment in which you intend to practise. A language preference alone does not establish that one track is more advanced or universally better.

The progression across classification, regression and unsupervised learning is relevant when you want an introductory view of different problem types. Predicting a category, estimating a quantity and examining patterns without labelled outcomes involve different objectives. The track can provide a learning context for those distinctions without guaranteeing that any method is appropriate for every dataset.

No prerequisites are stated, but your own familiarity with R may affect how you approach the examples. That is a personal planning consideration rather than an additional admission rule. Use the named packages and course topics to decide where preparation would be helpful, while avoiding an invented requirement to complete another credential first.

The longer R Scientist alternative offers a way to compare breadth and commitment, while the IBM route has its own language and mathematical expectations. Read those differences before assuming that all ML fundamentals or professional-certificate titles refer to the same starting point.

For a concrete learning objective, describe the question you want an analysis to answer before choosing an algorithm. That exercise can reveal whether the immediate gap concerns data, implementation or interpretation. It is a way to judge course fit, not an extra provider assessment or a prediction of professional readiness. For example, learning to implement a method in R can be distinct from understanding why that method suits a question. Both may matter, but one can be the more immediate gap. Using that distinction helps avoid choosing solely by the number of courses or the apparent length of a track. Choosing R for foundational study is most useful when that is the language you intend to use for your own analysis. The language context helps distinguish otherwise similarly named introductory tracks.

Official source · 2026-09-09

Before you start

There are no prerequisites for this track

Official source · 2026-09-09

Curriculum

Twenty-four provider-listed hours are a content estimate. The six-course core and bonus activities do not establish an individual’s required number of study weeks or subscription payments.

EntrySubjectListed timeShareRoleObserved
1Supervised Learning in R: ClassificationNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
2Supervised Learning in R: RegressionNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
3Unsupervised Learning in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
4Machine Learning with caret in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
5Modeling with tidymodels in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09
6Machine Learning with Tree-Based Models in RNot statedNot calculated2026-09-09

US price

Purchase informationRecorded terms
Access and billingPremium access was USD35 for a regular month on 2026-09-08. That rate gives an access-period comparison for the R fundamentals track; its 24-hour headline does not fix a total subscription bill.
Refund and retakesRefund and retake terms are not established in these stored policy fields.

Official source · 2026-09-08 | Official source · 2026-09-09

Alternatives

Machine Learning Scientist in R

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
DataCamp · TrackNot stated65 hoursStatement of AccomplishmentUSD 35. Regular one month of Premium access; not guaranteed total cost to finish.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?This track is best suited for those who want to land a job as a machine learning scientist. It will help users learn the essential skills needed to work as a data scientist, research scientist, or AI engineer. Beyond this, people wanting to gain a more in-depth knowledge of machine learning and R programming can also make use of this track.
What preparation is required?The panel states no prerequisites. The beginner FAQ expects R programming and basic machine-learning concepts and recommends mathematics. Another FAQ says prior machine-learning knowledge is not necessary but says the track is best suited to basic R and machine-learning familiarity.

Official source · 2026-09-09

Official source · 2026-09-09 | Official source · 2026-09-08

IBM Machine Learning Professional Certificate

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
IBM · Online, flexible schedule, learn at your own paceIntermediate level3 months to complete at 10 hours a weekProvider-issued course certificateNo specific total price is stated. The page lists 'Enroll for free' and 'Financial aid available' as shown in the United States on 11 October 2026.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?Aspiring data scientists; scientists, software developers, and business analysts who want to round their analytical skills, and anyone with a passion for data.
What preparation is required?The provider recommends familiarity with programming on a Python development environment, a fundamental understanding of calculus, linear algebra, probability, and statistics, as well as a background in math, statistics, and computer programming.
How is the award earned?The program includes hands-on labs, a final capstone project, and a final presentation. Earning the credential requires program completion, but it is not explicitly established whether a separate comprehensive final exam is required.
What remains unconfirmed?Exam requirement, certificate expiry, renewal, and retake conditions are not explicitly established.

Official source · 2026-10-11

Official source · 2026-10-11

Questions before enrolling

What completion requirement earns the R track statement, and can I share it?

Completion observation 2026-09-09: finish the six core R Fundamentals courses to receive DataCamp's Statement of Accomplishment. The credential can be shared on LinkedIn, a resume or CV, social media and in a performance review. A separate final exam, passing threshold, expiry and renewal are unstated.

Official source · 2026-09-09

Change log

  • : Registry admission from previously reviewed official evidence; individual fact dates are preserved. · Source
← All programs