Program profile · official sources

AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01 beta)

A strategic AI assessment for people evaluating investments, business cases, governance and scaled adoption.

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Who it is for

The business candidate profile includes product and programme managers, business leaders, consultants, analysts, and sales or marketing professionals who evaluate, champion or scale AI initiatives.

Who should skip it

Choose a technical assessment if you need to demonstrate coding or AWS implementation, or an introductory course if you need foundational teaching rather than a strategic examination.

Official source · 2026-10-04

Facts checked 4 Oct 2026

Price
USD 50
USD 50 beta exam price; AWS lists USD 100 as the standard exam price. Preparation and repeat attempts are separate.
Provider link

See price and enroll at Amazon Web Services (official site) ↗

Official site. No commission.

Time
170-minute scheduled appointment on the certification page; the exam guide separately states 130 minutes to complete the exam; neither is preparation time
Level
Business
Credential
three years

Valid for three years; renew by passing the latest version of the exam.

Prerequisites
No mandatory coding, AWS implementation experience or prior AWS certification; AWS recommends basic AI familiarity and about six months working with or alongside AI initiatives.
Format
Beta certification exam; Pearson test center or online proctored

What you actually do

AIB-C01 beta assesses business decision-making about AI. The accepted landing-page observation says AWS services knowledge is not assessed. Beta registration was announced from September 1, 2026 and delivery from September 29; scheduling was open in the October 4 capture. The page lists 85 multiple-choice and multiple-response questions, English and Japanese, and Pearson test-centre or online-proctored delivery.

The relevant choice is whether you need an assessment of strategic judgement or technical implementation. A person evaluating an investment or developing a business case can have a different objective from someone deploying an AWS service. The beta’s business scope provides a way to compare those aims without assuming that a certification title establishes hands-on engineering ability.

Also separate a scheduled appointment from time allowed to answer the exam. The accepted source contains both figures, and neither describes how long you will need to prepare for the assessment.

For preparation, connect each assessed business responsibility with a decision you have encountered. An investment case, adoption recommendation or organisational trade-off can reveal gaps in your own knowledge without creating a new eligibility test. The exam assesses a defined strategic scope; it is not evidence that every AI-related leadership responsibility or implementation task is included. A practical comparison with technical alternatives should therefore start with the responsibilities you want assessed, before considering the credential name or the cost of a sitting. For example, deciding whether an initiative supports an organisational objective calls for a different kind of evidence from configuring the service that delivers it. Match the assessment to that responsibility rather than assuming that a single AI credential covers both.

Official source · 2026-10-04

Before you start

No mandatory coding, AWS implementation experience or prior AWS certification; AWS recommends basic AI familiarity and about six months working with or alongside AI initiatives.

Official source · 2026-10-04

Curriculum

The AIB-C01 entries represent exam coverage rather than taught modules. They supply no preparation-hour allocation, and the examination's sitting time must remain distinct from the learning a candidate may need beforehand.

EntrySubjectListed timeShareRoleObserved
1AI Fundamentals and LiteracyNot statedNot calculatedExam domain; 24%.2026-10-04
2AI Strategy and Business Value CreationNot statedNot calculatedExam domain; 28%.2026-10-04
3AI Governance and Responsible AI LeadershipNot statedNot calculatedExam domain; 24%.2026-10-04
4Business Readiness, Leadership, and AI TransformationNot statedNot calculatedExam domain; 24%.2026-10-04

US price

Purchase informationRecorded terms
Access and billingUSD50 beta versus USD100 standard exam price, observed 4 October 2026. Preparation and repeat attempts are separate.
Refund and retakesAWS FAQ, 4 October 2026: after failure, wait 14 calendar days before retaking. Attempts are unlimited, with the full registration fee payable each time. A separate beta-retake amount is not stated; USD50 is the recorded initial beta price.
Currency basisExplicit USD on AWS page.

Official source · 2026-10-04 | Official source · 2026-10-04 | Official source · 2026-10-04 | Official source · 2026-10-04 | Official source · 2026-10-04

Alternatives

Microsoft Certified: AI Business Professional (Exam AB-730)

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
Microsoft Learn · Proctored certification examBeginner45 minutes to complete the exam assessment; not preparation timecertificationAs shown in the United States on 13 October 2026, no accepted price: the captured certification page states only "Price based on the country or region in which the exam is proctored." and no amount is rendered in the captured page text.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?Business users who use generative AI-powered productivity tools, including Microsoft 365 Copilot and agents, to improve daily work, drive business outcomes and make informed decisions, without building AI apps or writing code.
What preparation is required?No prerequisite certification is stated on the captured pages. Microsoft says candidates should have experience using generative AI-powered productivity tools such as Microsoft 365 Copilot and agents, be comfortable with core Microsoft 365 apps (Outlook, Word, Microsoft Teams, PowerPoint and Excel) and be familiar with common business processes; no app building or coding is required.
How is the award earned?Pass Exam AB-730; a score of 700 or greater is required to pass.

Official source · 2026-10-13 | Official source · 2026-10-13

Official source · 2026-10-13

Google Cloud Generative AI Leader

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
Google Cloud · Certification exam; online-proctored or onsite-proctoredNot stated90 minutes (exam sitting only; not preparation time)Google Cloud CertificationUSD 99. One exam attempt. Explicit USD is supported by the Spanish page for the same Generative AI Leader exam. The English US capture on 27 September 2026 displays $99 plus tax where applicable; the USD attribution above retains its historical Spanish-source date.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?Anyone in any job role, with or without hands-on technical experience.
What preparation is required?None
How is the award earned?Pass the Generative AI Leader certification exam.

Official source · 2026-09-05 | Official source · 2026-09-04

Official source · 2026-10-14 | Official source · 2026-09-27 | Official source · 2026-09-04 | Official source · 2026-09-04

Questions before enrolling

What score earns the AWS Business Strategist credential, and how is it renewed?

The award title is AWS Certified AI Business Strategist, with issuer Amazon Web Services. Pass AIB-C01; the guide states a minimum scaled score of 700. Valid for three years; renew by passing the latest version of the exam. Credly digital badge issued by Amazon Web Services Training and Certification for passing the AWS Certified AI Business Strategist exam; AWS offers one-click badge sharing on social media newsfeeds and verifiable badges for websites or email signatures.

Official source · 2026-10-04 | Official source · 2026-10-04 | Official source · 2026-10-04 | Official source · 2026-10-04 | Official source · 2026-10-04

Change log

  • : Initial recorded review of official exam, scope, price and credential facts. · Source
← All programs