Provider profile · official sources

Amazon Web Services

AWS offers certification exams for different roles and levels. The registry includes AI Practitioner and Machine Learning Engineer - Associate. Compare the individual exam objectives, recommended background and version availability before booking; the exam fee does not include every preparation choice.

Facts checked 6 September 2026 against Amazon Web Services’s official page ·
Sources ↗
· Next check October 2026

Available programs (6)

AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate

Price
USD 150USD 150 for one MLA-C01 attempt. The last English test day was September 28, 2026; Japanese, Korean and Simplified Chinese continue until MLA-C02 general availability. Preparation is separate.
Duration
130 minutes for the exam assessmentnot preparation time
Level
Associate
Format
Proctored certification examQuestions: 65.
Credential
industry certification
Prerequisites
Provider describes an intended candidate with at least 1 year using Amazon SageMaker and other AWS ML-engineering services; the guide also recommends at least 1 year in a related role. No formal prerequisite is stated.

AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01)

Price
USD 100Before booking costs
Duration
90 minutes (exam only; not preparation time)
Level
Foundational
Format
Certification examPearson VUE test center or online proctored
Credential
AWS Certification
Prerequisites
AWS describes familiarity with AI/ML on AWS and up to six months of exposure as the target candidate profile, not a mandatory experience duration. Candidates must be at least 13; ages 13–17 require parent or guardian consent.

AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional (AIP-C01)

Price
USD 300USD 300 for one attempt; foreign-exchange rates, regional pricing, optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate.
Duration
180 minutes for the exam assessmentnot preparation time
Level
Professional
Format
Certification examQuestions: 65 scored questions plus 10 unscored questions.
Credential
industry certification
Prerequisites
No prior certification is required. Target profile: 2+ years building production-grade applications on AWS or open-source technologies, general AI/ML or data-engineering experience, and 1 year implementing generative-AI solutions.

AWS Certified AI Business Strategist (AIB-C01 beta)

Price
USD 50USD 50 beta exam price; AWS lists USD 100 as the standard exam price. Preparation and repeat attempts are separate.
Duration
170-minute scheduled appointment on the certification pagethe exam guide separately states 130 minutes to complete the exam; neither is preparation time
Level
Business
Format
Beta certification examPearson test center or online proctored Questions: 85.
Credential
AWS Certification
Prerequisites
No mandatory coding, AWS implementation experience or prior AWS certification; AWS recommends basic AI familiarity and about six months working with or alongside AI initiatives.

AWS Certified Data Engineer - Associate

Price
USD 150USD 150 for one attempt; foreign-exchange rates, regional pricing, optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate.
Duration
130 minutes for the exam assessmentnot preparation time
Level
Associate
Format
Certification examQuestions: 65 questions.
Credential
Professional certification
Prerequisites
No required prerequisites. Target profile: equivalent of 2-3 years of experience in data engineering or data architecture and a minimum of 1-2 years of hands-on experience with AWS services.

AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate (MLA-C02, beta)

Price
USD 75As shown in the United States on 4 October 2026, the AWS certification page lists the MLA-C02 beta exam at $75 USD, labelled beta pricing. The price for general availability is not stated; general availability registration and delivery dates are TBD. Tax treatment is not stated on the captured beta page; optional preparation is separate from the exam fee.
Duration
Beta exam: 170 minutes for 85 questionsnot preparation time
Level
Associate
Format
Proctored certification exam, beta version (Pearson VUE testing center or online proctored)Questions: 85.
Credential
industry certification
Prerequisites
No prerequisite certification is stated on the captured pages. The exam guide recommends at least 1 year of experience using Amazon SageMaker AI, Amazon Bedrock and other AWS services for ML engineering, plus at least 1 year in a related role, with experience in both traditional ML and generative AI.
Retired programs (1)

AWS Certified Machine Learning - Specialty

This certification was retired by Amazon Web Services on 31 March 2026.

Related certification: AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate. The AWS page captured on 3 October 2026 names no replacement. Its retirement FAQ answers what AWS offers for machine learning with AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate; we record that as a related certification, not a successor. · Official retirement notice

Duration
180 minutes for the former examnot preparation time
Level
Specialty
Format
Proctored certification exam (retired; Pearson VUE test center or online proctored when offered)Questions: 65.
Credential
industry certification
Prerequisites
No prior certification is required. Per AWS, the ideal candidate has 2 or more years developing, architecting and running ML or deep learning workloads in the AWS Cloud.

Credential policy

For Machine Learning Engineer - Associate, AWS lists three-year validity and recertification by passing the latest exam version before expiry. A Credly badge can be shared on social media and in email signatures. Check the individual credential page for its requirements. · Source Source

What’s covered

Explore the individual programs above for topics, entry requirements and official course links.

Verify current provider details ↗

← All providers