Funding guide · 12 min read

Who Pays for an AI Program?

Your employer's own policy decides whether it pays for your AI program; a provider page cannot decide that for you. The pages do show how each provider takes company money, which funding it refuses, and what you can lose.

The short answer

The question we see is "will my employer reimburse wharton's ai and analytics program?" No provider page answers it; seven program pages answer the questions around it, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026. "No accepted price" means the page shows no program fee amount, not that the program is free.

ProgramPrice stateCompany paymentPayment planFinancial aidFunding restrictions and scope
Wharton Leadership Program in AI and Analytics (Emeritus)no accepted price; only amount: US$250 registration for the optional on-campus eventnot stated on the Wharton programme page captured on 14 October 2026full-payment and installment options, no schedulequestions go to the program teamGI Bill or similar military education funding; Title IV
Berkeley AI: Business Strategies and Applications (Emeritus)priced: $3,050.00 program fee, cohort Nov 12, 2026 to Jan 28, 2027invoice issued to you after paymentinstallments on the payment pagetuition assistance for participants who qualifyGI Bill or similar military education funding; Title IV
HBS Online AI Essentials for Businesspriced: $1,949, on-demandtax ID and bank details for a sponsor; Enterprise Agreementpay in full before the deadline; two credit card transactions, minimum $350 firstIncome-Based Grant, Military Grantchecks; Veterans Affairs Benefits; late awards
MIT Sloan AI Essentialspriced: $5,700 tuition, Live Online, December 14 to 16, 2026invoice payable upon receiptnot stated on the MIT Sloan Executive Education FAQ page captured on 14 October 2026Nocertificate programs outside a degree requirement not eligible for VA benefits
Stanford Artificial Intelligence Professional Programpriced: $2,045 per course; three courses; no total shown for this offeringcompany invoiced after approvalinterest-free on the All-Access Plan for most programs; not on this pageno scholarships or traditional aidVA list covers approved graduate certificates; this program not stated
Oxford Artificial Intelligence Programme (GetSmarter)priced: $3,243 USD, start 11 November 2026; a time-limited promotion was displayed on 14 October 2026invoice, balance by a set datetwo interest-free payments, $1,622.00 and $1,621.00no bursaries or scholarshipspurchase orders not accepted as payment
Google AI Professional Certificate (Coursera)priced: $49 per month in the U.S. and CanadaCoursera for Teams: card, PayPal or invoicemonthly subscriptionFAQ says yesTeams: no checks

We read 25 provider and IRS pages plus the Wharton letter template, with no checkout and no calculated totals (how we check).

Who pays: your employer's tuition assistance

IRS Publication 15-B (2026) says an employer can exclude up to $5,250 a year of educational assistance under an educational assistance program from an employee's wages, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026. Publication 970 (2025) says that above $5,250 you must generally pay tax on the excess, unless it also qualifies as a working condition fringe benefit.

Publication 15-B calls such a program "a separate written plan that provides educational assistance only to your employees", with tests that include reasonable notice to employees. It generally covers books, equipment, fees, supplies and tuition, not lodging, meals or transportation. It adds: "Employer-provided AI literacy and skill development programs may be tax-free as working condition fringe benefits if they maintain or improve employee job skills at their current job." No provider page can tell you what your employer's plan covers.

How providers take company money, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026:

  • Wharton: "Emeritus collects all program payments, provides learner enrollment and program support, and manages learning platform services." See our answers on employer reimbursement and pitching your manager.
  • Berkeley: "We can assist you with the necessary documentation and support." You email your invoicing requirements; the invoice is issued to you after payment.
  • HBS Online: "approximately one-third of HBS Online participants report receiving financial support from their company", by HBS Online's account. It gives a sponsor its tax ID and bank details but does no vendor-setup paperwork for individual payments. Enterprise Agreements take at least 2 to 4 weeks.
  • MIT Sloan: "Each participant is responsible for ensuring that his or her invoice is paid." A personal card used to hold your seat can be refunded upon receipt of payment on your behalf. Billing through a company procurement system costs the organization $1,000 one-time plus $250 per invoice.
  • Stanford Online: Stanford "will contact the representative for approval and then invoice the company". The voucher, purchase order, letter of credit or tuition assistance form must arrive before the start date; payment is due within 30 days of registration or before the start, whichever comes first, and access begins once it is received. If your employer does not pay, you are dropped and remain responsible for all tuition and fees.
  • Oxford via GetSmarter: The Oxford page says: "Of our past students, 37 percent have received financial assistance from their employers." If a sponsor pays, you are still bound by the payment terms; sponsor terms agreed with GetSmarter may govern cancellation or postponement and your sponsor's refund eligibility, and may supersede the general terms.
  • Coursera for Teams: groups of up to 499 people. Its price estimator, for 2 to 499 licenses, shows $399 per license per year on annual billing, or $438.90 per license per year paid every three months with an annual commitment.

GI Bill and VA benefits

Each provider's own rule, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026:

  • Wharton and Berkeley programs with Emeritus "may not be paid for with (a) funds from the GI Bill, the Post-9/11 Educational Assistance Act of 2008, or similar types of military education funding benefits or (b) Title IV financial aid funds."
  • HBS Online does not accept Veterans Affairs Benefits and lists a separate Military Grant.
  • MIT Sloan: "Certificate programs and professional learning opportunities at MIT that are not part of an undergraduate or graduate requirement, are not eligible."
  • Stanford Online: veterans "may be eligible to use VA educational benefits" for approved graduate certificate programs; this program is not stated to be on that list or off it.

Payment plans

Only Oxford's two payments, finalised at checkout and due Nov 3, 2026 and Dec 3, 2026, and Stanford's All-Access Plan "for most programs" are called interest-free, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026. Wharton and Berkeley offer installments with no schedule on the page. HBS Online fees are due in full before the enrollment deadline.

Refunds and deferrals

As shown in the United States on 14 October 2026 (see also our Wharton refund answer).

ProviderRefundDeferral or transfer
Wharton (Emeritus)Non-delivery: request within 15 calendar days of the notice, 100% of course and miscellaneous fees, application fees non-refundable. Other reasons: no refund. Refunds go to the original payer unless it gives written and signed instruction otherwise.One deferral per enrolment. Before core start: no fee. Within 90 days after core start or 10 days before the first on-campus portion, whichever is earlier: USD 1,000.00. Later: none. Installments continue unless Emeritus approves a change.
Berkeley (Emeritus)Non-delivery: request within 15 calendar days of the notice; 100% of course and miscellaneous fees, application fees non-refundable. Otherwise: full refund of course and miscellaneous fees if requested within 14 days after commencement with no earlier deferral; application fees non-refundable; no partial refunds; none after. Refunds go to the original payer.One deferral per enrolment. Within 30 days of start: no fee. On or after 30 days following the start, before the end date: USD 200.00. On or after the end date: none.
HBS Online (on-demand)Up to 24 hours after access, minus a nonrefundable $100 processing fee; after that none, unless HBS Online elects otherwise. Corporate Learning enrollments follow separate terms.confirm with HBS Online
MIT Sloan (Live Online)Cancellation by days before start: 30 or more, none; 29 to 15, 25%; 14 to 8, 50%; 7 to 1, 100%; 0 or after, 100%. Enrollment is confirmed only on payment. GetSmarter and Emeritus courses excluded.Transfer: 30 or more, none; 29 to 15, 10%; 14 to 8, 25%; 7 to 1, 50%; 0 or after, 100%.
Stanford Online (cohort-based)Full refund until the end of the day before start; from day one to the cohort drop deadline, 100% minus a $150 drop fee; no tuition refund after. Stanford may decline requests.After the course starts, transfers to future sections may be allowed, subject to a change fee; instructor-paced rules may differ.
Oxford via GetSmarter (four weeks or more)Unless agreed sponsor terms say otherwise: full fee, or the portion paid, if the Change Registration form is in within 21 calendar days of start; none after. Sponsor-paid fees go back to the sponsor. If your sponsor is your employer, you need its written approval to cancel.No refund if you cancel in a presentation you postponed to; no postponement for courses of 3 weeks or less.
Coursera for TeamsMoney back within 14 days; earned certificates revoked.confirm with Coursera

Financial aid and scholarships

As shown in the United States on 14 October 2026, Wharton's FAQ asks "Is there any discount or financial aid?" and "Are there any restrictions on the types of funding that can be used to pay for the program?" and sends those questions to the program team.

HBS Online states "Financial aid and flexible pricing is available for all HBS Online offerings." and "Availability of financial aid varies by program." Its two grants are applied for in application windows, and "a Grant award may be considered taxable scholarship income; see IRS Publication 970". It lists lenders "not as an endorsement"; each course needs its own loan, disbursed before the start.

Berkeley's FAQ says: "Tuition assistance is available for participants who qualify." MIT Sloan answers "No." Stanford: "We do not offer scholarships." GetSmarter: "we are not able to offer any funding" (bursaries or scholarships). Coursera's FAQ says yes for the Google certificate. Income-share or deferred-tuition financing is not stated on any of the 29 pages captured on 14 October 2026.

Hidden costs and failure points

As shown in the United States on 14 October 2026:

  • Procurement charges: MIT Sloan bills the organization $1,000 one-time plus $250 per invoice to use its own procurement system.
  • Refund and deferral limits: short refund windows at Wharton, Berkeley and HBS Online, and paid deferrals at Wharton and Berkeley; see the table.
  • Payments that do not count: GetSmarter does not accept purchase orders as payment; its FAQ says fees must be received by the start date, while the Oxford page shows a payment plan finalised at checkout. HBS Online refuses awards that arrive after the deadline, and completion-only awards unless they reimburse you directly.
  • Outside the fee: Wharton excludes the US$250 optional event registration, accommodation for that event and travel, including visa fees (what is included).

What to hand your manager

ProgramWhat the page offers, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026
WhartonWord letter "Employee Sponsorship Mailer" with blanks for start date, fee and your name
Berkeleydocumentation support; an invoice issued to you after payment
HBS Onlinecourse syllabus; Acceptance Letter, Letter of Enrollment and Letter Confirming Course Completion on request
MIT Sloaninvoice in the acceptance email; downloadable invoice with editable billing details
Stanford Onlinecompany invoice after the representative approves
Oxford via GetSmarterinvoice showing your purchase order number; an "interactive worksheet" for the meeting with your boss
Coursera for Teamspayment by invoice

Tax forms: Emeritus is "unable to issue IRS Form 1098-T". HBS Online: "you will not receive a 1098-T form." "GetSmarter will not issue or complete any tax or related forms."

What the pages do not tell you

  • Employer or company payment is not stated on the Wharton programme page captured on 14 October 2026.
  • A payment plan is not stated on the MIT Sloan Executive Education FAQ page captured on 14 October 2026.
  • Form 1098-T information is not stated on the MIT Sloan Executive Education FAQ page, the Stanford Online tuition, fees and payments page, or the Coursera Google AI Professional Certificate page, each captured on 14 October 2026.
  • Stanford shows no total for its current $2,045 per-course offering; Coursera states no completion total.
  • Income-share or deferred-tuition financing is not stated on any of the 29 pages captured on 14 October 2026.

FAQ

Will my employer reimburse an AI program?

Your employer decides, under its own policy. Provider pages only show how they take company payment and what you owe if it does not pay.

Is the $5,250 figure a cap on what my employer can pay?

No. It is the yearly amount an employer can exclude from your wages under an educational assistance program, as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026; above it, you must generally pay tax on the excess unless it is a working condition fringe benefit.

Can I use the GI Bill?

It depends: Wharton and Berkeley exclude it, HBS Online refuses Veterans Affairs Benefits, MIT Sloan says such certificate programs are not eligible, and Stanford points to approved graduate certificates.

What happens if I cancel after my employer paid?

Emeritus refunds go to the original payer. GetSmarter refunds a sponsor-paid fee to the sponsor, and an employer sponsor must approve your cancellation in writing, unless agreed sponsor terms say otherwise.

Where to go next

Berkeley, HBS Online, MIT Sloan, Stanford, Oxford, Google AI. True cost, enrollment checklist, executive AI programs.

Sources

All provider pages as shown in the United States on 14 October 2026; IRS editions are named above.

Compare listed program details →

Last reviewed: 14 October 2026. See the editorial policy.

← All decision guides