Pre-purchase checklist · 9 min read

AI course enrollment checklist before you pay

Turn a promising course page into a dated decision record. If a material term is missing, record the gap before you enter payment details—not after access, renewal, or cancellation becomes a problem.

This Academies.ai Editorial Team checklist is for a learner or employer at the final verification stage. It is not legal, financial, or consumer-rights advice. Policies and protections vary by provider, product, payment method, and jurisdiction; use the provider’s current official terms and seek qualified advice where needed.

The checklist differs from our course-choice framework and total-cost worksheet. Those pages help compare fit and cost. This page creates a last-mile evidence record for the exact offer you are about to accept.

Capture the offer before it changes

Record the official program URL, offer date, provider, credential issuer, product name, delivery format, region, currency, and the page or checkout step where each material term appears. Save the confirmation and terms you receive. Do not rely on a search snippet, an affiliate summary, or a different product from the same provider.

Decision rule: use “verified,” “not stated,” “variable,” or “not applicable” for every field. Do not turn “not stated” into an assumption. A missing term may be a reason to pause.

1. Fit and prerequisites

  • What learner and role does the official page name?
  • Which prior knowledge, software, hardware, cloud account, or identity requirement is stated?
  • Which observable task should you be able to perform after the program?
  • Which important goal is outside the published scope?

2. Curriculum and evidence

  • Is there a current syllabus with tasks rather than only topic labels?
  • Are labs, projects, exams, feedback, peer review, or completion tracking described?
  • What artifact can you retain or explain after access ends?
  • Can you use approved, non-sensitive data and tools for the work?

Use the curriculum depth test when the official syllabus is too broad to judge, and the portfolio evidence guide to plan a realistic artifact.

3. Credential meaning

  • Who issues the credential: the platform, provider, university, or certification body?
  • Does it confirm participation, completion, assessed work, or a separate exam?
  • Is identity checked, and can a third party verify the result?
  • Does the credential expire, require renewal, or depend on continued subscription access?
  • Is an exam, badge, certificate claim, or verification service charged separately?

4. Price and billing state

Record the exact amount shown to you, currency, tax treatment if stated, billing cadence, trial period, promotional end date, and the amount or method that applies afterward. Separate tuition from assessment, software, cloud use, travel, retakes, and renewal.

For U.S. consumers, the Federal Trade Commission’s current consumer guidance advises checking free-trial terms, when charges begin, auto-renewal, and how to cancel before signing up. That guidance is U.S.-focused and does not determine your rights elsewhere. Read the FTC consumer guidance.

5. Access and completion window

  • When does access begin and end?
  • What happens to lessons, labs, feedback, community, files, and certificates after cancellation or expiry?
  • Can work be paused, deferred, transferred, or extended? Under which written terms?
  • What is the realistic weekly workload for your calendar?
  • Are live sessions recorded, and what attendance is required?

6. Refund, cancellation, and renewal

Locate the official policy that applies to the exact product and region. Record the refund window, exclusions, consumption or completion limits, cancellation method, effective date, renewal timing, and what evidence confirms cancellation. If checkout terms differ from a marketing page, pause until the applicable terms are clear.

The FTC’s consumer guidance also recommends keeping records related to cancellation and monitoring later statements for unexpected charges. This page does not state that U.S. rules apply to every learner or provider. Check the FTC’s current rule-status page rather than relying on an older summary of changing regulation.

7. Data, account, and tool conditions

  • Which account and personal details are required?
  • Will you submit code, prompts, documents, recordings, or workplace information?
  • Which third-party tools or cloud services are required, and who pays for them?
  • Can you delete or export your work, and what happens when access ends?
  • Does an employer need to approve the tools, data, invoice, or credential record?

Use three decision states

  1. Ready: the official sources answer the material questions, the program fits the task, and the cost and exit conditions are acceptable.
  2. Unresolved: one or more material terms are not stated or conflict. Ask the provider through an official route and keep the answer.
  3. Stop: the credential, assessment, total commitment, renewal, cancellation, required tools, or data conditions remain materially unclear.

A compact record to keep

Save one page containing: intended outcome; official URL and date; prerequisite status; curriculum and assessment evidence; credential type; total known cost; unknown costs; access end; renewal date; cancellation route; refund source; required accounts/tools; planned artifact; unresolved questions; and your ready, unresolved, or stop decision.

Ask for a focused learning shortlist

Commercial status: this page contains no paid ranking or provider recommendation. A future provider or affiliate relationship would require a nearby disclosure and would not change this checklist.

Editorial owner: Academies.ai Editorial Team. Primary sources checked: FTC Consumer Advice on trials, renewals, and cancellation, plus the FTC rule-status page. Last reviewed: 27 August 2026. Suggest a factual correction.

← All decision guides