Program profile · official sources

AI Essentials for Business

AI Essentials for Business is an on-demand Harvard Business School Online course, taught by HBS professors Karim R. Lakhani and Marco Iansiti, on how AI is transforming business. Four modules (The Age of AI, The Rise of Generative AI, Strategy: Network Effects and Learning Effects, and Transformation Journey) take 16-24 hours over 4 weeks, with case-based exercises. It is aimed at business professionals, leaders, aspiring leaders and functional specialists; no prerequisites are stated. Completing the course earns a Certificate of Completion, and it counts toward a Certificate of Specialization when three Digital Transformation and AI courses are completed within 18 months. As shown in the United States on 6 October 2026, the price is USD 1,949.

Facts checked 6 Oct 2026

Price
USD 1949
As shown in the United States on 6 October 2026, the official course page displays Price $1,949 for this on-demand course. Taxes are not stated.
Time
4 weeks, 16-24 hours in total, 4-6 hours per module (provider-listed)
Level
Not listed
Credential
Certificate of completion

The course page presents the certificate as a resume credential ("Boost your resume with a Certificate of Completion from HBS Online"); no digital sharing or verification method is stated on the captured pages.

Prerequisites
No prerequisites are stated on the captured course page.
Format
On-demand online course from HBS Online; start anytime; four modules with case-based examples, polls, quizzes and peer discussion

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Chart scrolls horizontally. Open the full-size chart.

AI Essentials for Business: USD 1,949; position among 17 other executive and university with accepted USD prices. Payment scopes differ. This price checked 2026-10-06. Registry snapshot 2026-10-06.

See the full registry price landscape. Prices retain their stated payment scope; they are not comparable completion costs.

What’s covered

  • The Age of AI
  • The Rise of Generative AI
  • Strategy: Network Effects and Learning Effects
  • Transformation Journey

Prerequisites: No prerequisites are stated on the captured course page.

Explore Harvard Business School Online

What you actually do

  • The Age of AI : 5-6 hours; Module 1 of 4; provider-listed hours, estimate · Source
  • The Rise of Generative AI : 4-5 hours; Module 2 of 4; provider-listed hours, estimate · Source
  • Strategy: Network Effects and Learning Effects : 5-6 hours; Module 3 of 4; provider-listed hours, estimate · Source
  • Transformation Journey : 4-5 hours; Module 4 of 4; provider-listed hours, estimate · Source

What the credential is

Credential type
Certificate of completion · online.hbs.edu / what-you-earn
Credential
Certificate of Completion from HBS Online · online.hbs.edu / what-you-earn online.hbs.edu / ai-essentials-for-business
Issuer
Harvard Business School Online · online.hbs.edu / what-you-earn online.hbs.edu / ai-essentials-for-business
Sharing
The course page presents the certificate as a resume credential ("Boost your resume with a Certificate of Completion from HBS Online"); no digital sharing or verification method is stated on the captured pages. · online.hbs.edu / ai-essentials-for-business
Exam requirement
Finish all coursework in a thoughtful and timely manner, including completing each module, meeting required deadlines, offering feedback on others' reflections and contributing to conversations on the course platform. No separate exam is stated. A Certificate of Specialization needs three courses from the Digital Transformation and AI Learning Track completed within 18 months. · online.hbs.edu / what-you-earn

Total cost to finish

Estimate for the stated payment scope: USD 1949 × 1 = USD 1949.

  • Displayed course price: USD 1949 × 1 = USD 1949. One enrollment in this course as displayed on the official page. · Source

Scope: Displayed course price only; taxes, refunds and payment terms are not stated on the captured page. · Source

Alternatives in the registry

Related by topic or level.

Change log

  • : Initial record from the official course page and the HBS Online credentials page captured from the United States on 6 October 2026. · Source
← All programs