Program profile · official sources
Artificial Intelligence Graduate Certificate
Stanford Online's Artificial Intelligence Graduate Certificate requires four graduate courses selected from its required and elective lists within three academic years. The program is online; most students take one to two years, with an estimated fifteen to twenty hours per week for each course. Applicants need a bachelor's degree, a qualifying undergraduate GPA and preparation in mathematics, probability and programming. A grade of B or better is required in every selected course. The published tuition range is separate from document and possible drop fees. This is not an introductory course for a learner without the stated technical prerequisites, and current course availability can limit immediate enrollment.
Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.
- Duration
- Most students complete in 1–2 yearsfour courses must be completed within three academic years. Average 15–20 hours per week per course.
- Level
- Graduate
- Format
- 100% online graduate coursesdelivery and availability depend on the selected course
- Credential
- Graduate certificate
- Prerequisites
- Conferred bachelor's degree with undergraduate GPA 3.0 or better; College-level calculus and linear algebra, including multivariate derivatives and matrix/vector notation and operations; Probability theory and basic continuous/discrete probability distributions; Programming experience and Linux command-line workflows.
Sources ↗
What’s covered
- Artificial intelligence principles
- Machine learning
- Computational logic
- Decision-making under uncertainty
- Deep learning
- Language models
- Robotics
- Computer vision
- Reinforcement learning
Prerequisites: Conferred bachelor's degree with undergraduate GPA 3.0 or better; College-level calculus and linear algebra, including multivariate derivatives and matrix/vector notation and operations; Probability theory and basic continuous/discrete probability distributions; Programming experience and Linux command-line workflows.
Who is Stanford's Artificial Intelligence Graduate Certificate for?
This is a graduate-level technical program, not a general introduction to using AI tools. Stanford lists a conferred bachelor's degree and an undergraduate GPA of at least 3.0, alongside calculus, linear algebra, probability, programming and Linux-workflow preparation. Compare those prerequisites with your documented background before applying. The required and elective options cover areas such as machine learning, logic, robotics, language and vision; you select four courses under the published program rules rather than take every listed option.
How much does the Stanford AI graduate certificate cost?
The program page displays a tuition range of $21,086–$25,952. The reviewed pages do not spell out the ISO currency, so this listing retains the dollar display without assigning a currency code. A separate one-time $250 document fee applies to the first Stanford course, and a $150 fee applies to a course dropped before the deadline. The final payment depends on the selected courses and applicable conditions; the listed range is not presented as an all-inclusive guaranteed total.
What must I complete to earn the Stanford certificate?
Complete four graduate courses within three academic years: one or two from the required list and two or three electives. Stanford requires a grade of B, equivalent to 3.0, or better in every program course. Most students finish in one to two years, but that is the provider's estimate, not a promise. The digital credential is shareable and verifiable. Credential expiry and renewal are not stated, and the reviewed evidence does not establish a separate certificate exam.
What you actually do
- CS221 — Artificial Intelligence: Principles and Techniques — Required-list option; Enrollment Full, Waitlist Open as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS229 — Machine Learning — Required-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS157 — Computational Logic — Elective-list option; Enrollment Open as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- AA228 — Decision Making Under Uncertainty — Elective-list option; Enrollment Open as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS230 — Deep Learning — Elective-list option; Enrollment Open as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS329H — Machine Learning from Human Preferences — Elective-list option; Enrollment Full, Waitlist Not Yet Open as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS224W — Machine Learning with Graphs — Elective-list option; Enrollment Open as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS237A — Principles of Robot Autonomy I — Elective-list option; Enrollment Full, Waitlist Full as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS236 — Deep Generative Models — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS330 — Deep Multi-task and Meta Learning — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS228 — Probabilistic Graphical Models: Principles and Techniques — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS237B — Principles of Robot Autonomy II — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS231A — Computer Vision: From 3D Reconstruction to Recognition — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS224V — Agentic AI — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS329A — Self Improving AI Agents — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS205L — Continuous Mathematical Methods with an Emphasis on Machine Learning — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS223A — Introduction to Robotics — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS246 — Mining Massive Data Sets — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS224N — Natural Language Processing with Deep Learning — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS234 — Reinforcement Learning — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS321M — AI Measurement Science — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS231N — Deep Learning for Computer Vision — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS224R — Deep Reinforcement Learning — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
- CS336 — Language Modeling from Scratch — Elective-list option; Enrollment Closed as checked 6 Sep 2026. Choose four courses under the program selection rule; availability changes by quarter. · Source
What the credential is
- Credential type
- Graduate certificate · Source
- Credential
- Stanford Graduate Certificate in Artificial Intelligence · Source
- Issuer
- Stanford University · Source
- Sharing
- Blockchain-verified digital credential can be shared and verified. · Source
- Credential scope
- Earn a grade of B (3.0) or better in every selected program course. Provider does not state a standalone certificate exam, credential expiry or renewal. Course assessment requirements are not inferred. · Source
- Exam required
- provider does not state · Source
- Credential expires
- provider does not state · Source
- Renewal
- provider does not state · Source
Alternatives in the registry
Related by topic or level.
- AI Fundamentals — Check official price; Approximately 9 hours.
- CS50’s Introduction to Artificial Intelligence with Python — Check official price; Seven weeks of material; self-paced.
- AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01) — USD 100 (One initial exam attempt; check applicable regional pricing and taxes. Optional preparation and retakes are not included.); 90 minutes (exam only; not preparation time).
Change log
- : First source-checked record: four-course selection, 24 current listed options, tuition display, graduate prerequisites and award conditions; course availability is date-specific. · Source