Program profile · official sources

Machine Learning Specialization

Machine Learning Specialization is a beginner-level, three-course program created by DeepLearning.AI and Stanford Online. It covers supervised learning, neural networks, decision trees, clustering, recommenders and reinforcement learning, using Python-based tools including NumPy, scikit-learn and TensorFlow. Learners should understand basic coding and high-school arithmetic and algebra. DeepLearning.AI Pro offers an assessment-based certificate route, while Coursera has separate payment and certificate conditions. This is not a no-code business overview. Check the selected platform's award requirements and Coursera certificate-eligibility window before paying.

Facts checked 15 Oct 2026

Price
See pricing

Pro membership provides access and certificate route. Prices explicitly USD 30 per month billed monthly / USD 25 per month equivalent billed annually from program page. As shown in the United States on 1 October 2026. No fixed completion total or explicit regular/reference price is verified.

Time
Publisher content: 94h58m. Publisher pacing: about 10 weeks at 5 hours/week; Coursera pacing: 2 months at 10 hours/week, with course estimates 33/34/28 hours. Different provider estimates, not a completion guarantee.
Level
Beginner
Credential
Course completion certificate

The Coursera route offers a shareable career certificate for LinkedIn, resume/CV and social media; publisher Pro award terms are separate.

Format
Online, self-paced three-course specialization with video lessons, code examples and graded assignments.
Prerequisites
Basic coding knowledge (for loops, functions and if/else statements) plus high-school arithmetic and algebra. Additional math is explained along the way; no heavy math background or deep coding experience is required.

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Chart scrolls horizontally. Open the full-size chart.

Machine Learning Specialization: USD 50; position among 38 other courses and tracks with accepted USD prices. Payment scopes differ. This price checked 2026-09-06. Registry snapshot 2026-09-25.

See the full registry price landscape. Prices retain their stated payment scope; they are not comparable completion costs.

What’s covered

  • Introduction to Machine Learning
  • Regression with multiple input variables
  • Classification
  • Neural Networks
  • Neural network training
  • Advice for applying machine learning
  • Decision trees
  • Unsupervised learning
  • Recommender systems
  • Reinforcement learning

Prerequisites: Basic coding knowledge (for loops, functions and if/else statements) plus high-school arithmetic and algebra. Additional math is explained along the way; no heavy math background or deep coding experience is required.

Explore DeepLearning.AI

Do I need coding experience for Machine Learning Specialization?

The specialization is labeled Beginner, but that does not mean no preparation is needed. Its prerequisite FAQ asks for basic coding knowledge, including loops, functions and conditional statements, plus high-school arithmetic and algebra. Additional mathematics is explained as needed. The curriculum uses Python-based machine-learning tools and programming assignments. Consider it for a technical introduction to building and evaluating models; it is not a substitute for a non-coding overview of AI use cases for business.

What does access to Machine Learning Specialization cost?

Pro membership provides access and certificate route. Prices explicitly USD 30 per month billed monthly / USD 25 per month equivalent billed annually from program page. As shown in the United States on 1 October 2026. No fixed completion total or explicit regular/reference price is verified. Coursera FAQ states a subscription costs 49/month (currency not specified). As shown in the United States on 1 October 2026. Program-level Coursera Plus inclusion was not established; no publisher plan price is transferred to Coursera.

How long does the specialization take and what certificate is available?

The publisher lists 94 hours and 58 minutes of content, while its pacing FAQ totals about ten weeks at five hours weekly. Coursera separately estimates two months at ten hours weekly. These figures are provider estimates on different bases, not a guaranteed schedule. Pro certificates depend on required assessments. The publisher's certificate FAQ refers to four courses despite the three-course curriculum; confirm that discrepancy before purchase. Its 180-day Coursera certificate-eligibility window is not stated as expiry of an already-issued credential.

What you actually do

  • Introduction to Machine Learning : Course 1: Supervised Machine Learning: Regression and Classification; provider-listed week 1 in this course. The full specialization has three courses and ten listed week-level units. · Source
  • Regression with multiple input variables : Course 1: Supervised Machine Learning: Regression and Classification; provider-listed week 2 in this course. The full specialization has three courses and ten listed week-level units. · Source
  • Classification : Course 1: Supervised Machine Learning: Regression and Classification; provider-listed week 3 in this course. The full specialization has three courses and ten listed week-level units. · Source
  • Neural Networks : Course 2: Advanced Learning Algorithms; provider-listed week 1 in this course. The full specialization has three courses and ten listed week-level units. · Source
  • Neural network training : Course 2: Advanced Learning Algorithms; provider-listed week 2 in this course. The full specialization has three courses and ten listed week-level units. · Source
  • Advice for applying machine learning : Course 2: Advanced Learning Algorithms; provider-listed week 3 in this course. The full specialization has three courses and ten listed week-level units. · Source
  • Decision trees : Course 2: Advanced Learning Algorithms; provider-listed week 4 in this course. The full specialization has three courses and ten listed week-level units. · Source
  • Unsupervised learning : Course 3: Unsupervised Learning, Recommenders, Reinforcement Learning; provider-listed week 1 in this course. The full specialization has three courses and ten listed week-level units. · Source
  • Recommender systems : Course 3: Unsupervised Learning, Recommenders, Reinforcement Learning; provider-listed week 2 in this course. The full specialization has three courses and ten listed week-level units. · Source
  • Reinforcement learning : Course 3: Unsupervised Learning, Recommenders, Reinforcement Learning; provider-listed week 3 in this course. The full specialization has three courses and ten listed week-level units. · Source

What the credential is

Credential type
Course completion certificate · www.deeplearning.ai / machine-learning-specialization
Credential
Machine Learning Specialization completion certificate · www.deeplearning.ai / machine-learning-specialization www.coursera.org / machine-learning-introduction
Issuer
DeepLearning.AI · www.deeplearning.ai / machine-learning-specialization www.coursera.org / machine-learning-introduction
Sharing
The Coursera route offers a shareable career certificate for LinkedIn, resume/CV and social media; publisher Pro award terms are separate. · www.deeplearning.ai / machine-learning-specialization www.coursera.org / machine-learning-introduction
Credential scope
Publisher Pro members completing required assessments receive a certificate; free auditors do not. Paid Coursera course certificates require programming assignments, and the publisher states a 180-day Coursera certificate-eligibility window requiring repurchase afterward. This is not post-issue expiry. The publisher FAQ says complete all 4 courses although the curriculum consistently lists 3; confirm that source discrepancy. No external certification exam, post-issue expiry or renewal is stated. · www.deeplearning.ai / machine-learning-specialization www.coursera.org / machine-learning-introduction
Exam required
provider does not state · www.deeplearning.ai / machine-learning-specialization
Credential expires
provider does not state · www.deeplearning.ai / machine-learning-specialization
Renewal
provider does not state · www.deeplearning.ai / machine-learning-specialization

Cost details

Membership and refund terms: As shown on 15 October 2026, the DeepLearning.AI refund help page says Pro includes a 7-day free trial that can be cancelled any time during the trial to avoid charges; renewals, upgrades or new payments after the trial are non-refundable; no partial refunds are issued for cancelling or downgrading before the end of a billing cycle, and the plan stays active until the next renewal date; if you were charged incorrectly or cancelled during the trial but were still billed, Support reviews the case and, if eligible, issues a full refund, which typically takes 5 to 10 business days depending on your bank. · Source

Source differences retained

As checked on 15 October 2026, the official page gives differing information on the points below. Each reading is kept as found; none is reconciled.

  • Language: As checked on 15 October 2026, the same-course structured metadata states inLanguage="en" and availableLanguage=["en","jp","kr"]. English is retained; the additional literal codes do not establish whether they describe teaching audio, subtitles or another language option. No additional delivery language is verified. · Source
  • Duration: As checked on 15 October 2026, the page shows 94h58m of content, while the same-course structured metadata gives a course workload of PT1H. The visible content time and the pacing estimates are retained; the metadata value is not used. · Source
  • Access: As checked on 15 October 2026, the same-course structured metadata lists an offer in the Free category, while the page says "Earn a certificate with PRO" and marks its 42 graded assignments PRO; the Coursera route page metadata states isAccessibleForFree=True while its FAQ says you cannot take the course for free. No free certificate or free graded completion is inferred. · Source

Alternatives in the registry

Programs from other providers, a comparison and a guide.

Change log

  • : First recorded source review; three courses and ten units, platform-specific credential terms and distinct workload estimates. Governing membership reconciliation separates regular USD50/month from discounted monthly/annual payments. · Source
  • : US source recheck updated the language, pricing model, minimum plan, minimum plan billing, minimum plan evidence, minimum plan sources, price amount, price note, price source link, price sources, access-cost scenario, cost note, cost source link, Coursera route price, Coursera route note and cost omission note. Historical source reviews retained. · Source
  • : Recheck of the official programme page (the listed address now redirects to https://www.deeplearning.ai/specializations/machine-learning, same programme), the Coursera route page and the DeepLearning.AI refund help page, captured from the United States on 15 October 2026: Pro refund terms added; language-code, workload and free-offer metadata disclosed; courses, units, Pro prices, prerequisites and certificate routes unchanged. · Source

Visitor answers

Are the YouTube lectures basically the same content as the Coursera courses… If they are different, which one would you recommend for someone who wants to build a strong foundation

Checked 18 September 2026

The answer

Yes, you can watch the lectures free, and no, free watching does not end in a certificate — the seller says both, on the same page, in two sentences that do not agree with each other. That contradiction is the most useful thing on the page, so here it is first.

Coursera's FAQ for the Machine Learning Specialization, under "Can I take the course for free?": "No, you cannot take this course for free. When you enroll in the course, you get access to all of the courses in the Specialization, and you earn a certificate when you complete the work. If you cannot afford the fee, you can apply for financial aid."

The same FAQ, under "Will I receive a certificate at the end of the Specialization?": "You will receive a certificate at the end of each course if you pay for the courses and complete the programming assignments. There is a limit of 180 days of certificate eligibility, after which you must re-purchase the course to obtain a certificate. If you audit the course for free, you will not receive a certificate."

— https://www.coursera.org/specializations/machine-learning-introduction, read 2026-09-18. This page carries no last-updated date, so 2026-09-18 is our read date, not the seller's.

Read together: auditing free exists, and the first answer says it does not. The second answer is the one that tells you what you get. So the honest version of your question's answer is: the lectures are available to watch; the certificate is what you are paying for; and the graded programming assignments are the thing that separates them.

Three facts about the paid side that the price alone will not tell you — all from the same FAQ, read 2026-09-18:

  • The certificate has a shelf life on your side of the transaction. "a limit of 180 days of certificate eligibility, after which you must re-purchase the course to obtain a certificate." Stop for seven months mid-way and finishing is a second purchase.
  • It is a subscription, not a price. The FAQ states "A Coursera subscription costs $49 / month." What you pay is that figure times however many months you take, which is your pace, not their number.
  • Pricing update, 1 October 2026. Pro membership provides access and certificate route. Prices explicitly USD 30 per month billed monthly / USD 25 per month equivalent billed annually from program page. As shown in the United States on 1 October 2026. No fixed completion total or explicit regular/reference price is verified. Coursera FAQ states a subscription costs 49/month (currency not specified). As shown in the United States on 1 October 2026. Program-level Coursera Plus inclusion was not established; no publisher plan price is transferred to Coursera.

On "which would you recommend" — we do not recommend, and here is what is more useful than one. The teaching does not differ: the lectures are the lectures. What differs is where you land:

  • Watch the lectures on YouTube. Free. You learn the material. Nothing is issued, and nothing is graded, so nothing tells you whether you actually understood it.
  • Audit on Coursera. Free. Same material inside the platform. No certificate — the seller states this plainly in the second answer above.
  • Subscribe. You do the graded programming assignments and receive a per-course certificate, plus a Specialization certificate on completing all three. Subject to the 180-day eligibility window.

The question that decides it is not "which is better", it is "does the grading matter to me, or does the certificate?" — because they arrive together and you cannot buy one without the other. If you want to be checked, or you want something to show, that is the paid route. If you want the content, it is free and the seller does not dispute that.

What we have not established. We did not find a statement about the Deep Learning Specialization, the other programme you named — it is not in this registry as of 2026-09-18, and we did not review its page. We hold no expiry or renewal terms for the Machine Learning Specialization certificate (our page states no expiry or renewal terms, checked 6 September 2026) — the 180 days above is the window for earning it, not the life of the certificate once earned, and we have not found a statement on the latter. Both are bounded to the sources and dates named here.

What you can check yourself, and where. The FAQ quoted above is on the Coursera Specialization page — open "Show all 25 frequently asked questions", because the two answers that matter are not among the three shown by default. Compare its answer to DeepLearning.AI's own page (https://www.deeplearning.ai/courses/machine-learning-specialization/), which sells a different subscription for the same material at a different price. And whichever page you read: check whether it carries a date. This one does not.

  • Buyer's question, verbatim: "Are the YouTube lectures basically the same content as the Coursera courses… If they are different, which one would you recommend for someone who wants to build a strong foundation" Observed question: https://www.reddit.com/r/learnmachinelearning/comments/1wce3i6/, read 2026-09-13 · 27 up / 7 comments as observed · the quote is shortened where marked (…)
  • Programme named on the paid side and held by us: Machine Learning Specialization, DeepLearning.AI and Stanford Online · deeplearning-ai-stanford-machine-learning-specialization · checked 2026-09-06
  • Also named and NOT held by us: Deep Learning Specialization. Searched all 84 records on 2026-09-18; no record for it. Bounded to that search of this registry — not a statement about the programme.
  • Checked 18 September 2026

Observed: 2026-09-13, 2026-09-06, 2026-09-18

Coursera's FAQ for the Machine Learning Specialization, under "Can I take the course for free?": "No, you cannot take this course for free. When you enroll in the course, you get access to all of the courses in the Specialization, and you earn a certificate when you complete the work. If you cannot afford the fee, you can apply for financial aid."

The same FAQ, under "Will I receive a certificate at the end of the Specialization?": "You will receive a certificate at the end of each course if you pay for the courses and complete the programming assignments. There is a limit of 180 days of certificate eligibility, after which you must re-purchase the course to obtain a certificate. If you audit the course for free, you will not receive a certificate."

— https://www.coursera.org/specializations/machine-learning-introduction, read 2026-09-18. This page carries no last-updated date, so 2026-09-18 is our read date, not the seller's.

Observed: 2026-09-18

https://www.coursera.org/specializations/machine-learning-introduction

Three facts about the paid side that the price alone will not tell you — all from the same FAQ, read 2026-09-18:

Observed: 2026-09-18

  • The certificate has a shelf life on your side of the transaction. "a limit of 180 days of certificate eligibility, after which you must re-purchase the course to obtain a certificate." Stop for seven months mid-way and finishing is a second purchase.
  • It is a subscription, not a price. The FAQ states "A Coursera subscription costs $49 / month." What you pay is that figure times however many months you take, which is your pace, not their number.
  • Pricing update, 1 October 2026. Pro membership provides access and certificate route. Prices explicitly USD 30 per month billed monthly / USD 25 per month equivalent billed annually from program page. As shown in the United States on 1 October 2026. No fixed completion total or explicit regular/reference price is verified. Coursera FAQ states a subscription costs 49/month (currency not specified). As shown in the United States on 1 October 2026. Program-level Coursera Plus inclusion was not established; no publisher plan price is transferred to Coursera.

Observed: 2026-09-06

What we have not established. We did not find a statement about the Deep Learning Specialization, the other programme you named — it is not in this registry as of 2026-09-18, and we did not review its page. We hold no expiry or renewal terms for the Machine Learning Specialization certificate (our page states no expiry or renewal terms, checked 6 September 2026) — the 180 days above is the window for earning it, not the life of the certificate once earned, and we have not found a statement on the latter. Both are bounded to the sources and dates named here.

Observed: 2026-09-06

Can you provide textbooks, links, youtube channels, udemy/coursera courses or just a knowledge from yourself?

Checked 5 October 2026

From the providers' own pages, a developer who already codes can piece together one possible three-step path across DeepLearning.AI's programs. The order below is our reading of each program's background description, not a sequence set across programs on the pages we read. Those pages name no textbook and no YouTube channel, so that part of your list has to come from elsewhere.

Step 1, this Specialization. DeepLearning.AI writes that it is "suitable for learners with some basic knowledge of programming and high-school level math, as well as early-stage professionals in software engineering and data analysis who wish to upskill in machine learning." The coding it expects is basic: "Learners should understand basic coding (for loops, functions, if/else statements) and high school-level math (arithmetic, algebra)." You will "Build and train machine learning models in Python using NumPy, scikit-learn, and TensorFlow". On the maths: "the math that underpins each algorithm sits in optional videos you can watch or skip." It is three courses, and DeepLearning.AI writes: "We recommend taking the courses in the prescribed order". That order is for its own three courses.

Step 2, the maths, if you want it. DeepLearning.AI's Mathematics for Machine Learning and Data Science lists "a beginner’s understanding of machine learning concepts" among what will help you, so it reads as a companion to Step 1 rather than a gate before it. Its labs use Python: "Assignments and labs are written in Python but the course introduces all the machine learning libraries you’ll use."

Step 3, deep learning. The Deep Learning Specialization is listed as "Intermediate". Expected: "Learners should have intermediate Python experience". Recommended: "Learners should have an understanding of machine learning concepts (how to represent data, what an ML model does, etc.)" and "a basic knowledge of linear algebra (matrix-vector operations and notation)." Step 1 teaches machine learning concepts, and Step 2's first course is Linear Algebra for Machine Learning and Data Science. It names your profile: "It's a fit for software engineers moving into AI". The same page adds: "Prior machine learning experience helps but isn't required."

Textbooks and channels, bounded. Not found on the four provider pages reviewed on 5 October 2026: any textbook title or any YouTube channel recommended for these programs. Whether you can watch the lectures for free, and what a certificate costs, is answered in the YouTube lectures answer on this page.

What you can do.

  1. Check the goal before Step 1. You wrote that you want to use AI in your websites and desktop apps. These pages describe training models in Python. They do not describe adding ready-made AI features to an app. Read the provider's week-by-week syllabus before paying.
  2. Ask the provider for its reading list. Before you enroll, ask DeepLearning.AI: "Is there a recommended textbook or reading list for the Machine Learning Specialization?"
  3. Treat the order as one possible path. It is inferred from the providers' background descriptions, not set by them; the Deep Learning page says prior machine learning experience helps but is not required.

Does anyone know where I can get the original machine learning coursera course from Andrew Ng / Stanford?

Checked 9 October 2026

On the pages we read, the original Coursera course isn't offered: Coursera's page at coursera.org/learn/machine-learning opens the first course of the newer Machine Learning Specialization. For machine learning math and notes, Stanford's own CS229 page, a separate Stanford course, lists Andrew Ng's lectures, lecture notes and problem sets.

What the Coursera address shows now (as shown in the United States on 9 October 2026). The page at https://www.coursera.org/learn/machine-learning is titled "Supervised Machine Learning: Regression and Classification" and says "This course is part of Machine Learning Specialization". Its first module tells learners they're "joining millions of others who have taken either this or the original course, which led to the founding of Coursera". None of the three Coursera and DeepLearning.AI pages we read offers enrollment in the original course; they describe it only as the course the Specialization updates: "This 3-course Specialization is an updated and expanded version of Andrew’s pioneering Machine Learning course, rated 4.9 out of 5 and taken by over 4.8 million learners since it launched in 2012."

How the new version differs, in the providers' words. "Unlike the original course, the new Specialization is designed to teach foundational ML concepts without prior math knowledge or a rigorous coding background." "The assignments and lectures in the new Specialization have been rebuilt to use Python rather than Octave, like in the original course." DeepLearning.AI adds that "the math that underpins each algorithm sits in optional videos you can watch or skip." For someone in your position, Coursera's FAQ answers "I’ve completed the original Machine Learning course. Should I take the new Machine Learning Specialization?" with "This new Specialization is an excellent way to refresh the foundational concepts you have learned." That's the provider's view, not a test of whether it covers what you remember.

The Stanford route (as shown in the United States on 7 October 2026). Stanford Engineering Everywhere's CS229 page, instructor "Ng, Andrew", lists 20 lectures with "Watch Online", "Download" and transcript links, lecture-note handouts by topic, and Problem Sets 1 to 4 with solution sets. It asks for more background than the new Specialization: "Familiarity with the basic probability theory" and "Familiarity with the basic linear algebra". The page doesn't say whether these are the same recordings as CS229 on YouTube, and we didn't open the PDFs.

What we couldn't find. Not found on the four pages reviewed (7 and 9 October 2026): a way to enroll in or audit the original 2012 Coursera course, or its slides and course notes. That's bounded to those pages, not a statement that the course is gone everywhere. On the labs, the new first course lists ungraded labs and practice labs, and one reading is titled "[IMPORTANT] Reminder about end of access to Lab Notebooks"; we didn't read what it says.

What you can do.

  1. For the math and notes, start from the CS229 page on Stanford Engineering Everywhere (https://see.stanford.edu/Course/CS229): the handouts and problem sets are listed there by topic.
  2. For a slide-based refresh with labs, look at the first course's week list on Coursera before paying, and open the lab-access reading in week 3 so you know how long the notebooks stay open. Whether you can watch free and what a certificate costs is answered in the YouTube lectures answer on this page.
  3. Ask Coursera directly through its learner help center: "Is the original Machine Learning course by Andrew Ng, the Octave version, still available to enroll in or audit, and are its lecture slides or notes available anywhere?"
← All programs