Program profile · official sources

Databricks Certified Machine Learning Associate

An assessment of basic Databricks ML work spanning data processing, model development and deployment.

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Who it is for

Practitioners doing basic machine-learning work on Databricks are the audience, spanning preparation, model development and deployment.

Who should skip it

Compare a more advanced assessment if you need enterprise-scale production ML, and choose separate training if you need AWS deployment instruction.

Official source · 2026-09-25

Facts checked 12 Oct 2026

Price
USD 200
(USD 200 for one attempt, normalized from $200 in the official US-hosted guide; optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate.)
Provider link

See the official exam guide at Databricks ↗

Official site. No commission.

Time
90 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation time
Level
Associate
Credential
two years

Valid for two years; recertification requires taking the full currently live exam.

industry certification
Format
Proctored certification exam
Questions: 48 scored items.
Prerequisites
No prerequisite required. Course attendance and six months of hands-on experience are highly recommended, with working Python, scikit-learn, SparkML, Unity Catalog and related data-management knowledge.

What you actually do

The 48 scored items cover AutoML, Unity Catalog, MLflow, feature engineering, model training and deployment. Course attendance and six months of practical experience are highly recommended, along with working knowledge of the named Python and ML tools, but no prerequisite is required. Four self-paced preparation courses are listed separately; their inclusion in the exam fee is not established.

Start by distinguishing a basic ML assessment from a programme that teaches the skills. This exam checks work on Databricks across preparation, development and deployment. The reviewed source does not establish the recommended courses as included in the exam registration fee. Registration also does not guarantee that you already have the practical background those tasks require. The separate training list is relevant when planning preparation, while the examination fee answers the narrower question of registration.

The basic-task scope also helps you compare Associate with Professional. A practitioner seeking assessment of enterprise-scale production responsibilities may need a different examination. Conversely, a candidate working on the foundational Databricks tasks should not assume that the more advanced title is automatically a better match. Choose according to the work you want assessed, rather than interpreting credential names as a universal ranking.

The tool context matters for the same reason. Python, scikit-learn, SparkML and Unity Catalog familiarity support the named workflow, but the guide's recommendations do not create a mandatory prior certificate. Review what you can already do with the relevant tools and where you need practice. That can help frame a study plan without converting six months of recommended experience into a fixed admission rule.

Finally, keep the assessment duration separate from your preparation. A 90-minute sitting says how long the test takes, not how many hours a learner needs to become comfortable with the material. Neither an unstated passing threshold nor a short exam duration provides a reliable shortcut for estimating that work.

Official source · 2026-10-12

Before you start

No prerequisite required. Course attendance and six months of hands-on experience are highly recommended, with working Python, scikit-learn, SparkML, Unity Catalog and related data-management knowledge.

Official source · 2026-09-25

Curriculum

The Associate exam's 90-minute sitting is distinct from study preparation. Its domain outline and separately recommended training courses do not provide a complete preparation-time estimate or a calculated learning-hour split.

EntrySubjectListed timeShareRoleObserved
1Databricks Machine LearningNot statedNot calculatedExam section; no weight stated.2026-09-25
2Data ProcessingNot statedNot calculatedExam section; no weight stated.2026-09-25
3Model DevelopmentNot statedNot calculatedExam section; no weight stated.2026-09-25
4Model DeploymentNot statedNot calculatedExam section; no weight stated.2026-09-25

US price

Purchase informationRecorded terms
Access and billingAs shown in the United States on 25 September 2026, the guide lists a $200 registration fee for one exam attempt. Our editorial rule reads a dollar sign on a US official page as USD, so this is shown as USD 200; the PDF does not print an ISO currency code. Preparation, repeat attempts and tax are not established as included. Repeat-attempt cost is not established in the reviewed source.
Refund and retakesRefund and retake terms are not established in these stored policy fields.
Currency basisEditorial rule: a dollar sign on a US official page is read as USD; source displays $200 without a literal ISO label.

Official source · 2026-09-25

Alternatives

The alternatives contrast more advanced Databricks ML responsibilities with an AWS engineering assessment. Shared ML terminology does not make the platform-specific work identical. Compare the intended tasks and practical background before the price, and read the credential conditions for whichever assessment matches your goal. The appropriate choice depends on your present responsibilities and the platform tasks you want formally assessed.

Databricks Certified Machine Learning Professional

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
Databricks · Proctored certification examProfessional120 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation timeindustry certificationUSD 200. USD 200 for one attempt, plus applicable taxes as required per local law; optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?Practitioners designing, implementing and managing enterprise-scale machine-learning solutions on Databricks.
What preparation is required?No prerequisite required. Course attendance and one year of hands-on Databricks experience are highly recommended, plus Python, scikit-learn, SparkML, MLflow, Lakehouse Monitoring and Model Serving knowledge.
How is the award earned?Pass the certification exam; passing threshold not stated.

Official source · 2026-09-07

Official source · 2026-10-06 | Official source · 2026-09-07 | Official source · 2026-09-23

AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
Amazon Web Services · Proctored certification examAssociate130 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation timeindustry certificationUSD 150. USD 150 for one MLA-C01 attempt. The last English test day was September 28, 2026; Japanese, Korean and Simplified Chinese continue until MLA-C02 general availability. Preparation is separate.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?backend software developers, DevOps engineers, data engineers, MLOps engineers, data scientists
What preparation is required?Provider describes an intended candidate with at least 1 year using Amazon SageMaker and other AWS ML-engineering services; the guide also recommends at least 1 year in a related role. No formal prerequisite is stated.
How is the award earned?Pass the certification exam.

Official source · 2026-09-06

Official source · 2026-10-13 | Official source · 2026-09-06 | Official source · 2026-10-03

Questions before enrolling

Is a passing threshold stated, and what is required to recertify?

The award title is Databricks Certified Machine Learning Associate, with issuer Databricks. Pass the certification exam; passing threshold not stated. Valid for two years; recertification requires taking the full currently live exam.

Official source · 2026-09-25

Change log

  • : Initial recorded review of official exam, scope, price and credential facts. · Source
← All programs