Format guide · 11 min read

Live Cohort or Self-Paced? What AI Program Pages Say About Classmates, Live Sessions and Deadlines

Choose by the published participation rules, deadlines, and access window. Self-paced and on-demand labels can still come with module deadlines, while a cohort label can coexist with self-paced study, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026 across 5 named business AI program pages.

Related reading: program funding, learning paths for leaders, executive AI programs, the enrollment checklist, and Wharton Leadership in AI and Analytics.

The short answer

Across 5 named AI course and program pages, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026, format labels do not map to a single attendance or deadline rule. Self-paced and on-demand pages can still state incremental or required module deadlines, while live-session and cohort pages also rely on recorded videos or discussion forums.

Compare the delivery wording, participation, calendar, and access window on every course page rather than treating cohort and self-paced as opposite buckets. A single offering can combine self-paced online study with weekly modules and incremental deadlines, or pair webinars with moderated discussion groups.

ProgramPublished delivery wordingParticipation evidencePublished timing/access detailEvidence date
365 AI StrategyQAS Self StudyInstructor-question prompt; mandatory peer activity not stated on this course page or its embedded data, checked on 28 October 2026Course-specific live and assignment-deadline timetables not stated on this course page or its embedded data, checked on 28 October 202628 October 2026
MIT Sloan AI EssentialsLive Online for the named offeringAI Team Simulation described in the course experience14 to 16 December 2026; 3 days; 5 hours/day; sample schedules are Eastern Time and may change28 October 2026
Berkeley AI Business Strategies and ApplicationsLive and recorded sessionsFour listed live sessions, subject to change; moderated peer discussions; webinars/office hours per scheduleRegistered-participant materials/platform access for 24 months after program start, under terms28 October 2026
Oxford AI ProgrammeCohort-based and self-paced onlineDiscussion forums with students and teaching team6 weeks excluding orientation; 11 November 2026 start; weekly modules with incremental deadlines28 October 2026
HBS Online AI Essentials for BusinessOn-Demand; Start AnytimeExpected feedback on reflections and contributions to platform conversations90-day access from enrollment; module questions by required deadlines; access ends after window28 October 2026

For 365 AI Strategy, the page lists QAS Self Study for leaders, managers, and decision-makers.

What classmates and live teaching mean

Published peer and faculty interaction rules vary widely across programs, from an instructor question link to a role-based team simulation or 4 listed live sessions that remain subject to change on the Berkeley school page, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. Do not assume every cohort label guarantees fixed live seminars.

On the 365 AI Strategy page, the visible interaction prompt is an Ask Bernard a question link alongside its named instructor, Bernard Marr, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. That question link establishes an on-page prompt, not a live session, response-time guarantee, personal coaching entitlement, or required peer work. Mandatory peer activity is not stated on the AI Strategy page or in its embedded page data, which does not prove that broader platform community features are absent.

For group work, the course experience text for MIT Sloan AI Essentials: Accelerating Impactful Adoption describes an AI Team Simulation in which leaders take roles in a cross-functional project team, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. This confirms a named collaborative activity within the course experience, though the page description does not guarantee specific classmate profiles, group sizes, or graded outcomes.

Berkeley AI Business Strategies and Applications describes its program on the school page as combining live and recorded sessions, case studies, interactive discussions, and applied learning, and lists 4 live sessions while expressly stating that the live sessions mentioned are subject to change, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. On Berkeley's program enrollment page (em-executive.berkeley.edu), the FAQ on how time is spent describes faculty video lectures, webinars, and office hours according to the program schedule, alongside moderated discussion groups with peers. These statements identify the delivery components without establishing mandatory live attendance, peer-group size, or individual faculty contact amounts.

Cohort and on-demand programs can also route peer interaction through discussion forums and platform conversations. The Oxford AI Programme page states that learners can ask questions and interact with fellow students and the teaching team through Online Campus discussion forums, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026, which describes forum access rather than a scheduled live seminar. Meanwhile, the course-specific FAQ for HBS Online AI Essentials for Business expects social participation through feedback on others' reflections and contributions to conversations on the platform, establishing a peer participation rule rather than one-to-one instructor coaching.

Self-paced still has a calendar

Even when a provider uses self-paced or on-demand wording, schedules can still apply: 2 named programs in this comparison state explicit module deadline rules alongside self-paced or on-demand format labels, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. Always check whether progress is governed by incremental weekly releases or required module deadlines.

The Oxford AI Programme page uses both Cohort-based learning and Self-paced learning online to describe its format, listing a duration of 6 weeks excluding orientation and a start date of 11 November 2026, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. Rather than allowing unrestricted completion at any time, the Oxford page describes weekly modules with incremental deadlines, noting that content and assignments are presented at the beginning of each module.

On the broader GetSmarter platform FAQ, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026, the general rule states that there are one or more activity submissions due each week and that some courses may have live online events learners need to attend, with submission and live-session times and dates shared ahead of time when each module is released. That is a platform rule for some courses, not a confirmed number of Oxford live sessions.

A similar distinction between headline flexibility and internal pacing appears on HBS Online AI Essentials for Business. The landing page labels the format On-Demand, says Start Anytime, and offers 90 days of full access starting the day of enrollment, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. However, the course-specific HBS FAQ states that each module is expected to be completed and its questions fully answered by the required deadline, meaning the 90-day window does not remove module deadline expectations.

Recordings and access windows

Post-enrollment access rules depend on both the length of the window and the date that starts the clock: Berkeley's enrollment FAQ gives registered participants 24 months of platform and material access following the program start date, while HBS Online gives 90 days of full access starting the day of enrollment, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026.

On the Berkeley AI Business Strategies and Applications enrollment page, recordings of live sessions are made available with video chapters and transcripts, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. Its technical FAQ explains that video content is not available to download, that video lectures must be streamed, and that livestream webinars and office hours require internet access, while noting that those sessions are always recorded to view later. Having recorded sessions available to stream later does not automatically waive other course participation requirements.

By contrast, HBS Online AI Essentials for Business anchors its 90 days of full access to the day of enrollment, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. Its course-specific FAQ confirms that learners can access materials in prior modules as they progress, while course-material and platform access ends after the 90-day on-demand access window. Berkeley's 24-month window for learning platform, video, and program material access is anchored to the program start date rather than the learner's completion date, with access restricted to registered participants under the terms of agreement, and does not grant perpetual access.

Hidden costs and failure points

Scheduling conflicts and access expirations create practical failure points: MIT Sloan's Live Online offering lists 3 days with a commitment of 5 hours per day from 14 to 16 December 2026, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026, and its sample schedule is in Eastern Time and subject to change without notice.

  • Changing live session counts: While the Berkeley AI Business Strategies and Applications school page lists 4 live sessions as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026, it expressly states that the live sessions mentioned are subject to change. Learners should not treat the count of 4 as an immutable appointment guarantee.
  • Overlooking deadlines inside self-paced or on-demand courses: Treating Self-paced learning online on the Oxford AI Programme or On-Demand and Start Anytime on HBS Online AI Essentials for Business as deadline-free would be a planning error. Oxford's 6-week structure (excluding orientation, starting 11 November 2026) sets weekly modules with incremental deadlines, and HBS expects each module to be completed and its questions fully answered by the required deadline, alongside its 90-day access window, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026.
  • Losing platform access: Review the access-window section before delaying work: HBS and Berkeley use different starting dates and limit access.

Questions before you choose

Before selecting any of the 5 named AI programs compared here, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026, verify how the provider pairs its format label with actual calendar and participation rules. The five questions below summarize what the official pages state and where their limits are.

Does online mean self-paced?

No universal rule applies across the 5 pages examined. MIT Sloan AI Essentials offers a Live Online format for 14 to 16 December 2026 spanning 3 days at 5 hours per day, Berkeley AI Business Strategies and Applications combines live and recorded sessions, the Oxford AI Programme uses both Cohort-based learning and Self-paced learning online, and HBS Online AI Essentials for Business labels its format On-Demand and Start Anytime, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026.

Does a cohort label mean every lesson is live?

No. On the Oxford AI Programme page, Cohort-based learning coexists with Self-paced learning online, and interaction with fellow students and the teaching team takes place through Online Campus discussion forums, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. Similarly, Berkeley AI Business Strategies and Applications combines live and recorded sessions, pairing faculty video lectures and moderated peer discussion groups with webinars and office hours according to the program schedule. Coexisting recorded lessons and forum activities do not prove that every lesson is a mandatory live class.

Can I start anytime and still face deadlines?

Yes, on a course-specific basis. HBS Online AI Essentials for Business advertises Start Anytime and On-Demand with 90 days of full access starting the day of enrollment, yet its course-specific FAQ states that each module is expected to be completed and its questions fully answered by the required deadline, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. Starting on your own enrollment day does not eliminate module deadlines inside the course.

Is a discussion forum equivalent to required participation?

Published pages describe different mechanisms rather than a single participation standard, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. The Oxford AI Programme page describes access to Online Campus discussion forums to ask questions and interact with students and the teaching team. The HBS Online AI Essentials for Business FAQ states an explicit expectation of social participation through feedback on others' reflections and contributions to platform conversations. Meanwhile, the 365 AI Strategy page presents an Ask Bernard a question link alongside instructor Bernard Marr, which is only a question prompt.

Can I assume recordings will stay available indefinitely?

No. For Berkeley and HBS Online, the two programs whose access windows this guide covers, access is time-limited and anchored differently, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. Berkeley AI Business Strategies and Applications makes live-session recordings available with video chapters and transcripts and records livestream webinars and office hours to view later via streaming, but registered participants under the terms of agreement only have access to the learning platform, videos, and materials for 24 months following the program start date. HBS Online AI Essentials for Business allows access to prior modules as learners progress, but platform and course-material access ends after the 90-day on-demand access window starting the day of enrollment.

Sources

The facts in this comparison of 5 named programs come from the provider and enrollment pages listed below, as shown in the United States on 28 October 2026. Check the current dates, participation rules, and access terms on those pages before choosing a course.

Compare listed program details →

Last reviewed: 28 October 2026. See the editorial policy.

← All decision guides