Program profile · official sources

NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI Multimodal (NCA-GENM)

The NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI Multimodal (NCA-GENM) is an entry-level credential offered by NVIDIA. It evaluates foundational skills for designing, implementing, and managing AI systems across text, image, and audio data. NVIDIA lists a basic understanding of generative AI as the prerequisite. The online, remotely proctored assessment requires a 60-minute sitting time, excluding any preparation. Official sources present an inconsistency, indicating the exam contains either 50 questions or 50 to 60 multiple-choice questions. Administered in English, the US page displays $125, recorded here as USD 125 under the US-source currency rule. Individuals who pass receive a digital badge and an optional certificate. The certification remains valid for two years and requires retaking the exam for recertification.

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Price
USD 125USD 125 for the stated exam registration, normalized from $125 on the official US page; taxes, optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate.
Duration
60 minutes for the exam assessmentnot preparation time
Level
Associate
Format
Proctored certification exam
Credential
industry certification
Prerequisites
Basic understanding of generative AI.

What’s covered

  • Experimentation
  • Core machine learning and AI knowledge
  • Multimodal data
  • Software development and engineering
  • Data analysis and visualization
  • Performance optimization
  • Trustworthy AI

Prerequisites: Basic understanding of generative AI.

Explore NVIDIA

View official program ↗

What is the format and duration of the NCA-GENM exam?

The NCA-GENM is an online, remotely proctored examination administered in English. The exam involves a 60-minute sitting time, which applies strictly to the testing period and does not account for any preparation duration. There is an inconsistency in the current official NVIDIA documentation regarding the exact number of questions. The main page notes that it includes 50 questions, while the details table specifies a range of 50 to 60 multiple-choice questions. The official US page displays $125, recorded here as USD 125 under the US-source currency rule. No passing threshold is disclosed in the provided information.

What topics does the NCA-GENM exam cover?

The exam evaluates candidates across seven specific domains related to artificial intelligence systems. The largest portion focuses on experimentation, making up 25% of the assessment. Core machine learning and AI concepts account for 20%, followed by multimodal data and software development, which each represent 15% of the exam. Data analysis and visualization, as well as performance optimization, each comprise 10%. Finally, trustworthy AI topics make up the remaining 5% of the questions. The credential assumes a basic prerequisite understanding of generative AI prior to taking the assessment.

How long is the certification valid and what do you receive upon passing?

Upon passing the assessment, individuals receive a digital badge from NVIDIA, along with an optional certificate recognizing their foundational skills in generative AI across text, image, and audio systems. The credential remains valid for a period of exactly two years from the date of achievement. To maintain the certification after this two-year period, candidates must complete the recertification process, which requires them to retake the examination. NVIDIA recommends training courses for this credential, but they are entirely separate, optional, and not required to sit for the exam.

What you actually do

  • Experimentation — Exam domain; 25%. · Source
  • Core machine learning and AI knowledge — Exam domain; 20%. · Source
  • Multimodal data — Exam domain; 15%. · Source
  • Software development — Exam domain; 15%. · Source
  • Data analysis and visualization — Exam domain; 10%. · Source
  • Performance optimization — Exam domain; 10%. · Source
  • Trustworthy AI — Exam domain; 5%. · Source

What the credential is

Credential type
industry certification · Source
Credential
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI Multimodal · Source
Issuer
NVIDIA · Source
Sharing
Digital badge and optional certificate after passing. · Source
Expiry and renewal
Valid for two years from issuance; recertification by retaking the exam. · Source
Exam requirement
Pass the certification exam; passing threshold not stated. · Source
Exam required
Yes · Source
Credential expires
Yes · Source
Renewal
Retake the exam. · Source

Total cost to finish

Estimate for the stated payment scope: USD 125 × 1 = USD 125.

  • One certification exam attempt: USD 125 × 1 = USD 125. One exam registration/attempt; not preparation cost or a guarantee of passing. · Source

Scope: USD 125 for the stated exam registration, normalized from $125 on the official US page; taxes, optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate. · Source

Retakes: Repeat-attempt cost is not established in the reviewed source. · Source

Who should skip it

  • Skip it if you lack the stated basic understanding of generative AI. · Source
  • Choose a professional-level assessment instead if you need advanced validation rather than an entry-level Associate exam. · Source
  • Do not treat the 60-minute exam sitting as a preparation estimate; the source does not state preparation duration. · Source

Alternatives in the registry

Related by topic or level.

  • NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI LLMs (NCA-GENL) — USD 125 (US price: USD 125 for one exam attempt; confirm booking charges. Optional preparation and additional attempts are not included.); 60 minutes.
  • AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - Associate — USD 150 (USD 150 for one MLA-C01 attempt; English testing ends September 28, 2026. Japanese, Korean and Simplified Chinese continue until MLA-C02 general availability. Preparation is separate.); 130 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation time.
  • Databricks Certified Machine Learning Associate — USD 200 (USD 200 for one attempt, normalized from $200 in the official US-hosted guide; taxes, optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate.); 90 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation time.

Change log

  • : Initial recorded review of official exam, scope, price and credential facts. · Source
← All programs