Program comparison
NVIDIA NCA-GENM vs NCA-GENL: multimodal breadth or LLM application depth?
For a professional choosing a first NVIDIA generative-AI credential
Official sites. No commission.
For a first NVIDIA generative-AI credential, choose by the systems you want the exam to cover. The two Associate exams share the same listed fee, sitting time and validity period, but their technical scope differs.
Facts side by side
Swipe or scroll the table to compare both programs.
| Fact | NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI Multimodal (NCA-GENM) | NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI LLMs (NCA-GENL) |
|---|---|---|
| Price | USD 125 (USD 125 for the stated exam registration, normalized from $125 on the official US page; optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate.)[1] | USD 125 (US price: USD 125 for one exam attempt; confirm booking charges. Optional preparation and additional attempts are not included.)[2] |
| Duration | 60 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation time[1] | 60 minutes[3] |
| Level | Associate[1] | Associate[3] |
| Credential | industry certification[1] | NVIDIA Certification with digital badge and optional certificate[3] |
| Format | Proctored certification exam[1] | Online, remotely proctored certification exam; The certification prose lists 50 questions, while the exam-details section lists 50–60 multiple-choice questions. |
| Prerequisites | Basic understanding of generative AI.[1] | Basic understanding of generative AI and large language models.[3] |
Official sites. No commission.
Provider-listed modules and exam domains
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI Multimodal (NCA-GENM)
- Experimentation · Exam domain; 25%. · [1]
- Core machine learning and AI knowledge · Exam domain; 20%. · [1]
- Multimodal data · Exam domain; 15%. · [1]
- Software development · Exam domain; 15%. · [1]
- Data analysis and visualization · Exam domain; 10%. · [1]
- Performance optimization · Exam domain; 10%. · [1]
- Trustworthy AI · Exam domain; 5%. · [1]
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI LLMs (NCA-GENL)
- Fundamentals of machine learning and neural networks · Exam domain / not a course module · [2]
- Prompt engineering · Exam domain / not a course module · [2]
- Alignment · Exam domain / not a course module · [2]
- Data analysis and visualization · Exam domain / not a course module · [2]
- Experimentation · Exam domain / not a course module · [2]
- Data preprocessing and feature engineering · Exam domain / not a course module · [2]
- Experiment design · Exam domain / not a course module · [2]
- Software development · Exam domain / not a course module · [2]
- Python libraries for LLMs · Exam domain / not a course module · [2]
- LLM integration and deployment · Exam domain / not a course module · [2]
What the credentials are
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI Multimodal (NCA-GENM)
- Credential type
- industry certification · [1]
- Credential
- NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI Multimodal · [1]
- Issuer
- NVIDIA · [1]
- Sharing
- Digital badge and optional certificate after passing. · [1]
- Expiry and renewal
- Valid for two years from issuance; recertification by retaking the exam. · [1]
- Exam requirement
- Pass the certification exam; passing threshold not stated. · [1]
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI LLMs (NCA-GENL)
- Credential type
- NVIDIA Certification with digital badge and optional certificate · [2]
- Credential
- NCA Generative AI LLMs · [2]
- Issuer
- NVIDIA · [2]
- Sharing
- Credentials can be shared on LinkedIn, professional social channels and email signatures; digital certificates can be downloaded and printed. Accept the Credly badge after notification. · [7]
- Expiry and renewal
- Valid for two years from issuance. Recertification is available by retaking the exam. · [2]
- Exam requirement
- Pass the exam; digital badge and optional certificate indicate certification level and topic. · [2]
Cost for the stated scope
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI Multimodal (NCA-GENM)
Estimate for the stated payment scope: USD 125 × 1 = USD 125.
- One certification exam attempt: USD 125 × 1 = USD 125. One exam registration/attempt; not preparation cost or a guarantee of passing. · [1]
Scope: USD 125 for the stated exam registration, normalized from $125 on the official US page; optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate. · [1]
Retakes: General NVIDIA certification retake policy (NVIDIA certification FAQ, as shown in the United States on 5 October 2026): "If you don’t pass an exam on the first attempt, you can purchase the exam again. There’s a 14-day waiting period before the exam can be retaken." "You may not take any given exam more than five times per year (12 months)." The USD 125 above is the price of one attempt; the FAQ states no separate retake amount. · [12]
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI LLMs (NCA-GENL)
Estimate for the stated payment scope: USD 125 × 1 = USD 125.
- One initial NCA-GENL exam attempt: USD 125 × 1 = USD 125. One exam registration; not total preparation cost or a guarantee of passing. · [2]
Scope: USD 125 × 1 = USD 125 for one initial exam attempt. Additional attempts and optional preparation are not included. · [2]
Who should skip these options
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI Multimodal (NCA-GENM)
- Skip it if you lack the stated basic understanding of generative AI. · [1]
- Choose a professional-level assessment instead if you need advanced validation rather than an entry-level Associate exam. · [1]
- Do not treat the 60-minute exam sitting as a preparation estimate; the source does not state preparation duration. · [1]
Start with what the two exams share
Both are NVIDIA Associate-level, entry-level certifications. Each official US page displays USD 125 for one exam attempt, lists a 60-minute online remotely proctored exam in English, and states two-year validity with recertification by retaking the exam. Those sitting times are not preparation-time estimates, and optional preparation or repeat attempts are separate.
Both pages currently contain the same question-count inconsistency: the overview says 50 questions while the detail table says 50 to 60 multiple-choice questions. That uncertainty does not distinguish the options, so confirm the current exam appointment details before booking.
Choose breadth across modalities or depth in LLM applications
NCA-GENM covers systems using text, image and audio. Its weighted domains include experimentation, core machine-learning and AI knowledge, multimodal data, software development, data analysis and visualization, performance optimization, and trustworthy AI.
NCA-GENL focuses on developing, integrating and maintaining generative-AI and large-language-model applications. Its listed topics include prompt engineering, alignment, Python libraries for LLMs, data preprocessing and feature engineering, software development, and LLM integration and deployment.
Use the credential as a scope signal, not a project substitute
NCA-GENM is the closer match when your intended work spans several data modalities and performance optimization. NCA-GENL is the closer match when you want an exam centered on LLM application methods, libraries, integration and deployment.
Both are knowledge assessments rather than evidence of a production portfolio. Match the published topics to work you can already perform, identify preparation gaps, and keep a separate plan for demonstrating implementation experience.
Which to choose if…
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI Multimodal (NCA-GENM)
Choose NVIDIA NCA-GENM if you want entry-level coverage across text, image and audio systems, including multimodal data and performance optimization.
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Generative AI LLMs (NCA-GENL)
Choose NVIDIA NCA-GENL if you want entry-level depth in LLM application concepts, including prompting, alignment, Python libraries, integration and deployment.
Alternatives in the registry
Related by topic or level.
- AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - AssociatePrice: USD 150 (USD 150 for one MLA-C01 attempt; English testing ends September 28, 2026. Japanese, Korean and Simplified Chinese continue until MLA-C02 general availability. Preparation is separate.)[4]Duration: 130 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation time[4]
- Databricks Certified Machine Learning AssociatePrice: USD 200 (USD 200 for one attempt, normalized from $200 in the official US-hosted guide; optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate.)[5]Duration: 90 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation time[5]
- NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Accelerated Data Science (NCA-ADS)Price: USD 125 (USD 125 for one exam attempt, normalized from the dollar amount on NVIDIA's official US page; preparation and repeat attempts are separate.)[6]Duration: 60 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation time[6]
Sources
Editorial checked . No commercial relationship is documented for this comparison.
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/generative-ai-multimodal-associate/ · checked
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/generative-ai-llm-associate/ · checked
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/generative-ai-llm-associate/ · checked
- aws.amazon.com/certification/certified-machine-learning-engineer-associate/ · checked
- www.databricks.com/sites/default/files/2025-02/databricks-certified-machine-learning-associate-exam-guide-1-mar-2025.pdf · checked
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/accelerated-data-science-associate/ · checked
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/ · checked
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/generative-ai-multimodal-associate/
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/generative-ai-llm-associate/
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/generative-ai-llm-associate/ · checked
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/ · checked
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/ · checked