Program profile · official sources

Databricks Certified Generative AI Engineer Associate

Databricks Certified Generative AI Engineer Associate assesses the design and implementation of LLM-enabled solutions using Databricks. Its blueprint covers application design, data preparation, development, deployment, governance, evaluation and monitoring. The provider recommends related training and at least six months of relevant practical experience, while listing no formal prerequisites. The proctored exam has 45 scored multiple-choice questions and a 90-minute sitting time; additional unscored content may appear. Its advertised registration fee is $200, but the reviewed page does not establish an ISO currency. The credential lasts two years and requires the current exam for recertification. It is not a substitute for learning the implementation tasks or a general, vendor-neutral course.

Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.

Price
200Currency not specified in the source; Provider does not state an ISO currency on the reviewed official page; dollar symbol alone was not normalized to USD.
Duration
90 minutes for the exam assessmentnot preparation time
Level
Associate
Format
Proctored certification exam
Credential
proctored certification
Prerequisites
None, but related training is highly recommended; 6+ months of relevant hands-on experience is recommended.

What’s covered

  • Design Applications
  • Data Preparation
  • Application Development
  • Assembling and Deploying Apps
  • Governance
  • Evaluation and Monitoring

Prerequisites: None, but related training is highly recommended; 6+ months of relevant hands-on experience is recommended.

Explore Databricks

View official program ↗

Who is Databricks Certified Generative AI Engineer Associate for?

This certification is relevant when you want to demonstrate knowledge of building generative-AI solutions in the Databricks environment. Use its weighted exam domains to identify the platform tasks and application concepts you need to understand. Recommended hands-on experience is preparation guidance rather than an admission condition. If you need a taught introduction or a portfolio project, plan that learning separately: registering for the exam does not itself supply a complete training sequence.

What does Databricks Certified Generative AI Engineer Associate cost?

The official page displays a registration fee of $200, but the reviewed evidence does not identify an ISO currency. We therefore retain the amount and the currency uncertainty separately. This is an exam registration price, not a guaranteed budget for preparation or successful certification. Before booking, confirm the currency, taxes and final total, then decide whether you need optional preparation based on the exam domains and your existing experience.

What should I know about study time and the credential?

Databricks lists a 90-minute proctored assessment and recommends at least six months of relevant hands-on experience. It does not state that this recommended experience is a formal prerequisite. The listed modules are weighted exam domains, not courses with known preparation hours. The certification is valid for two years. Use the objectives to identify learning gaps, and confirm the current exam and recertification conditions rather than treating the sitting time as a study plan.

What you actually do

  • Design Applications — Exam domain / not a course module; 14% of the blueprint. · Source
  • Data Preparation — Exam domain / not a course module; 14% of the blueprint. · Source
  • Application Development — Exam domain / not a course module; 30% of the blueprint. · Source
  • Assembling and Deploying Apps — Exam domain / not a course module; 22% of the blueprint. · Source
  • Governance — Exam domain / not a course module; 8% of the blueprint. · Source
  • Evaluation and Monitoring — Exam domain / not a course module; 12% of the blueprint. · Source

What the credential is

Credential type
proctored certification · Source
Credential
Databricks Certified Generative AI Engineer Associate · Source Source
Issuer
Databricks · Source Source
Sharing
Databricks' official certification page says earned badges and certifications can be showcased and certification success can be posted on social media. · Source
Expiry and renewal
2 years. Take the current exam every 2 years to maintain certified status. · Source Source
Exam requirement
Pass the certification exam. · Source Source
Exam required
Yes · Source Source
Credential expires
Yes · Source Source
Renewal
Take the current exam every 2 years to maintain certified status. · Source Source

Who should skip it

  • Choose training instead if you need a taught introduction: this offering is a certification assessment, not a course curriculum. · Source
  • Review the recommended practical background before booking; an exam registration does not provide the preparation needed for the listed implementation tasks. · Source

Alternatives in the registry

Related by topic or level.

  • Transforming Your Business with AI — EUR 2100 (Tuition fee for the Standard journey; fee subject to change and local taxes excluded.); 5 content weeks after a launch week, followed by 2 extra weeks for project completion and peer review; pause week(s) may occur..
  • MIT Sloan AI Essentials: Accelerating Impactful Adoption — USD 5700 (Tuition is USD 5,700 for either dated 2026 offering: September 24–25 in person or December 14–16 live online. A separate undated in-person offer displays USD 5,500; confirm the selected offering before booking.); In person: 2 days, 8 hours/day (September 24–25, 2026). Live online: 3 days, 5 hours/day (December 14–16, 2026)..
  • NVIDIA-Certified Professional: Generative AI LLMs — 200 (Provider does not state an ISO currency on the reviewed page; en-US URL and US country selector were not treated as proof of USD.); 120 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation time.

Change log

  • : Initial recorded review of official program, credential and payment-scope facts. · Source
← All programs