Program profile · official sources

Data Science with Python

A Python-based statistical-learning course for professionals moving into data science or extending practical IT skills.

Commercial disclosure: This page uses a plain GetSmarter program link, not an affiliate link. Official site. No commission. Commercial relationships do not buy rankings.

Who it is for

Professionals moving into data science and IT professionals building practical skills are the stated audience.

Who should skip it

Prepare the recommended mathematics, statistics and programming familiarity first if those gaps would prevent you from engaging with technical examples; they are recommendations rather than mandatory admission rules.

Official source · 2026-09-18

Facts checked 11 Oct 2026

Price
USD 660 (Price details observed 2026-10-11. Displayed programme fee on 11 October 2026, as shown in the United States; not a verified checkout total. A time-limited promotion was displayed on 11 October 2026.)Official source · Checked ; Official source · Checked
Time
8 weeks excluding orientation; 7–10 hours per week.Official source · Checked
Level
Not listed
Official source · Checked
Credential
Certificate of completion
Official source · Checked
Prerequisites
Fundamental mathematics and statistics, plus familiarity with at least one programming language, are recommended. These recommendations are not stated as mandatory admission requirements.Official source · Checked
Format
Online cohort-based short course; self-paced study within the cohort.

What you actually do

Tree-based methods, neural networks and clustering connect statistical-learning concepts with data-science practice and real-world applications. No standardised course level is established. The delivery arrangement and the university credential are distinct from applying directly to the university, which matters when comparing this short course with a university admissions pathway.

Official source · 2026-10-11

Before you start

Fundamental mathematics and statistics, plus familiarity with at least one programming language, are recommended. These recommendations are not stated as mandatory admission requirements.

Official source · 2026-09-18

Curriculum

The expanded UCT curriculum does not establish individual module study durations. Its topic sequence is retained without an equal-time allocation, a fabricated total or a guaranteed pace for completing practical assignments.

EntrySubjectListed timeShareRoleObserved
1Welcome to your Online CampusNot statedNot calculatedOrientation; excluded from the stated programme duration.2026-09-18
2Data science and statistical learningNot statedNot calculated2026-09-18
3Tree-based methodsNot statedNot calculated2026-09-18
4Managing the complexity of tree-based methodsNot statedNot calculated2026-09-18
5Neural networksNot statedNot calculated2026-09-18
6Managing the complexity of neural networksNot statedNot calculated2026-09-18
7K-means clusteringNot statedNot calculated2026-09-18
8Hierarchical clusteringNot statedNot calculated2026-09-18
9Data science in the real worldNot statedNot calculated2026-09-18

US price

Purchase informationRecorded terms
Access and billingThe programme fee displayed in the United States on 2026-10-11 was USD660 for one enrolment. A time-limited promotion was displayed that day; this is not a current-price or checkout-total guarantee. Terms observed 2026-10-02 allow additional required-resource, software, device, internet and bank-fee costs. Assignment rewrites are prohibited and re-marks are separate; a whole-course repeat-enrolment price is not established.
Refund and retakesStudent terms observed 2026-10-02 prohibit assignment rewrites and treat assignment re-marks separately. Whole-course repeat-enrolment conditions and price remain unestablished; assignment rules do not imply an included second enrolment. A refund entitlement is not established by these recorded details.

Official source · 2026-10-11 | Official source · 2026-10-02 | Official source · 2026-10-02 | Official source · 2026-09-18

Alternatives

Applied AI and Data Science Program

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
MIT Professional Education · Live online program with MIT faculty lectures, mentored small-group sessions, hands-on projects and a capstone; delivered in collaboration with Great LearningNot statedThe page lists both: Course Length "15 Weeks" (session Nov 21, 2026 - Mar 28, 2027) and, in its curriculum section, "The program is 14 weeks long"; pre-work adds 11 hours of video contentCertificate of completionUSD 3900. As shown in the United States on 27 October 2026, the official course page displays a Course Fee of $3,900 for the live online session dated Nov 21, 2026 to Mar 28, 2027. Taxes are not stated.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?Professionals interested in a career in data science and machine learning, professionals leading data science and machine learning initiatives at their companies, and entrepreneurs.
What preparation is required?Prerequisites: basic knowledge of computer programming and statistics (provider wording). Pre-work covers Python and statistics.
How is the award earned?Successful fulfillment of requirements earns the certificate of completion; the page mentions weekly quizzes and projects in testimonials but states no separate exam.
What remains unconfirmed?Shareability, expiry and refund terms are not stated on the captured page; 16 CEUs are listed separately. The page says the program may be taken standalone or as part of the Professional Certificate Program in Machine Learning & Artificial Intelligence, contributing 5 days toward that certificate.

Official source · 2026-10-27

Official source · 2026-10-27

Data scientist

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
365 Data Science · 100% online career trackIntermediate69 hours of content (provider-listed)Provider-issued certificationAs shown in the United States on 3 October 2026, the 365 Data Science pricing page displays a Free plan at $0/month (course previews, projects, exercises and practice exams) and a Self-study plan at $29/month billed annually, shown against a $36/month reference price; a billed-monthly option is shown without a separate amount in the captured page. The FAQ states $29/month. A Lifetime plan shows no amount (Contact us). Accredited certificates are listed under Self-study, not Free. These are platform subscription quotes, not a fixed career-track completion total.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?Learners breaking into data science roles; the provider labels the track intermediate.
What preparation is required?No formal prerequisite is stated on the track page. The provider labels the track intermediate.
How is the award earned?Finish the career track (track page); 365 states career-track certificates involve course and career-track exams and that certifications require 60% or above on the respective exam.
What remains unconfirmed?Expiry, renewal and retake conditions are not stated. The exam condition comes from the 365 certificates page. Provider-listed accreditations are not treated as equivalence.

Official source · 2026-10-03 | Official source · 2026-10-03

Official source · 2026-10-03 | Official source · 2026-10-03

Questions before enrolling

What completion work is required, and when might the digital credential arrive?

Credential conditions observed 2026-09-18: Successful completion requires continuous practical online assignments and the requirements in the handbook available at the start. The digital credential is issued in the learner's legal name; administration may delay issuance by weeks or months. A separate exam, numerical pass mark, sharing mechanism and expiry or renewal are not established in that programme-page scope.

Official source · 2026-09-18

Change log

  • : Initial recorded review of the exact GetSmarter programme, curriculum, credential, cohort and buyer terms. · Source
  • : Price and start-date fields rechecked only; other facts retain original dates. Historical evidence retained in the internal source audit. · Source
  • : Programme fee rechecked on 24 September 2026, as shown in the United States. Price fields only; unrelated factual observation dates retained. · Source
  • : US displayed fee and dated conditional promotion checked; no discounted checkout total inferred. Historical terms dates preserved. · Source
  • : US displayed fee rechecked and dated conditional promotion checked; no discounted checkout total inferred. · Source
  • : Recheck on the official programme page captured from the United States on 11 October 2026: displayed fee USD 654 -> USD 660; displayed start date 02 November 2026 and the payment-plan table start date unchanged. · Source
← All programs