Program profile · official sources
Build Chat Applications with OpenAI and LangChain
365 Data Science's 'Build Chat Applications with OpenAI and LangChain' is an advanced online course taught by Hristina Hristova, Head of Data Content. Featuring a headline duration of seven hours, the curriculum trains students to construct context-aware chatbots using OpenAI language models and the LangChain framework. Key modules cover token economics, prompt templates, output parsers, and the LangChain Expression Language (LCEL) using Runnable sequences. Learners build a full Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG) system with Chroma vector stores and complete a hands-on Q&A chatbot project. Offering 8 CPE credits, earning the verifiable course certificate requires passing the course exam; general certificate terms specify at least 60%. Intermediate Python proficiency and an OpenAI API key are required.
Facts checked 27 Sep 2026
- Price
- See pricing
Price observation recorded 27 Sep 2026 (not a current price): No total course price is stated. The platform-wide Self-Study plan displays a regular comparison price of $36/month, an observed $12.50/month billed annually offer, and an FAQ mentions a $29/month rate, as observed in United States captures dated 2026-09-27. ISO currency and a separately monthly-billed amount were not established; these subscription rates are not treated as a source-checked completion total. The course requires an OpenAI API key; usage fees and included credits are not quantified. Certificates are included with the Self-study learning plan.
- Time
- Provider headline: 7 hours; page separately lists lessons
- (4 hours), practice exams (3 hours), and projects (8 hours). These are source categories, not an inferred total completion time.
- Level
- Advanced
- Credential
- Provider-issued certification
Verifiable credential with Credential ID and Credential Link; sharable on LinkedIn/resumes; downloadable upon passing. Certificates are included with the Self-study learning plan.
- Prerequisites
- Python (version 3.8 or later), OpenAI API key, LangChain library, and a code editor or IDE (e.g., VS Code or Jupyter Notebook) Intermediate Python skills are required. Basic concepts in natural language processing (NLP) is helpful but not mandatory.
Commercial status: no commercial relationship is documented for this page. The verification link goes directly to the official provider source.
- Duration
- Provider headline: 7 hourspage separately lists lessons (4 hours), practice exams (3 hours), and projects (8 hours). These are source categories, not an inferred total completion time.
- Level
- Advanced
- Format
- 100% online, self-paced course
- Credential
- Provider-issued certification
- Prerequisites
- Python (version 3.8 or later), OpenAI API key, LangChain library, and a code editor or IDE (e.g., VS Code or Jupyter Notebook) Intermediate Python skills are required. Basic concepts in natural language processing (NLP) is helpful but not mandatory.
Sources ↗
No accepted numeric price in this registry. See the sourced pricing details below.
See the full registry price landscape. Prices retain their stated payment scope; they are not comparable completion costs.
What’s covered
- Introduction to the Course
- Tokens, Models, and Prices
- Setting Up the Environment
- The OpenAI API
- Model Inputs
- Output Parsers
- LangChain Expression Language (LCEL)
- Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG)
- Course project and exam
Prerequisites: Python (version 3.8 or later), OpenAI API key, LangChain library, and a code editor or IDE (e.g., VS Code or Jupyter Notebook) Intermediate Python skills are required. Basic concepts in natural language processing (NLP) is helpful but not mandatory.
What you actually do
- Introduction to the Course · 21 min; Section 1 · Source
- Tokens, Models, and Prices · 9 min; Section 2 · Source
- Setting Up the Environment · 13 min; Section 3 · Source
- The OpenAI API · 17 min; Section 4 · Source
- Model Inputs · 38 min; Section 5 · Source
- Output Parsers · 8 min; Section 6 · Source
- LangChain Expression Language (LCEL) · 52 min; Section 7 · Source
- Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG) · 86 min; Section 8 · Source
- Course project and exam · 570 min; Section 9 · Source
What the credential is
- Credential type
- Provider-issued certification · 365datascience.com / build-chat-applications-with-openai-and-langchain
- Credential
- Course Certificate · 365datascience.com / certificates
- Issuer
- 365 Data Science · 365datascience.com / certificates
- Sharing
- Verifiable credential with Credential ID and Credential Link; sharable on LinkedIn/resumes; downloadable upon passing. Certificates are included with the Self-study learning plan. · 365datascience.com / certificates
- Exam requirement
- Pass the course exam; general certificate terms state 60% or above. Certificates are included with the Self-study learning plan. · 365datascience.com / certificates
- Credential expires
- provider does not state · 365datascience.com / build-chat-applications-with-openai-and-langchain
- Renewal
- provider does not state · 365datascience.com / build-chat-applications-with-openai-and-langchain
Who should skip it
- Check the course-specific preparation before enrolling: Python (version 3.8 or later), OpenAI API key, LangChain library, and a code editor or IDE (e.g., VS Code or Jupyter Notebook) Intermediate Python skills are required. Basic concepts in natural language processing (NLP) is helpful but not mandatory. · Official source · 2026-09-27
Alternatives in the registry
Related by topic or level.
- Introduction to Hugging Face · Check official price; 2 hours (provider headline; module and exam timings listed separately).
- LLM Engineering in Practice with Streamlit and OpenAI · Check official price; 4 hours (provider headline; module and exam timings listed separately).
- Intro to LLMs · Check official price; 3 hours (provider headline; module and exam timings listed separately).
Change log
- : Initial recorded review of official program details. · Source
Cost details
The course requires an OpenAI API key and local Python virtual environment. Associated OpenAI API usage fees and total completion prices are not quantified by the provider.
Official source · 2026-09-27