Program comparison
NVIDIA NCA-ADS vs NCP-ADS: associate foundation or professional depth?
For an experienced GPU data practitioner choosing the appropriate validation depth
NVIDIA offers two primary credentials for data practitioners looking to validate their skills in GPU-accelerated workflows: the NVIDIA-Certified Associate Accelerated Data Science (NCA-ADS) and the NVIDIA-Certified Professional Accelerated Data Science (NCP-ADS). Both certifications verify proficiency in utilizing GPU tools and libraries to enhance data pipelines. While the associate-level NCA-ADS targets entry-level practitioners with fundamental RAPIDS and ETL knowledge, the intermediate-level NCP-ADS demands deeper expertise in distributed processing, advanced optimization, and end-to-end MLOps deployment. This comparison outlines their scope, prerequisites, and format to help you choose the right path.
Facts side by side
Swipe or scroll the table to compare both programs.
| Fact | NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Accelerated Data Science (NCA-ADS) | NVIDIA-Certified Professional: Accelerated Data Science (NCP-ADS) |
|---|---|---|
| Price | USD 125 (USD 125 for one exam attempt, normalized from the dollar amount on NVIDIA's official US page; taxes, preparation and repeat attempts are separate.)Official source · checked | USD 200 (USD 200 for one exam attempt, normalized from the dollar amount on NVIDIA's official US page; taxes, preparation and repeat attempts are separate.)Official source · checked |
| Duration | 60 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation timeOfficial source · checked | The official page says 90 minutes in its overview and 120 minutes in its exam-details table; neither is preparation timeOfficial source · checked |
| Level | AssociateOfficial source · checked | ProfessionalOfficial source · checked |
| Credential | NVIDIA CertificationOfficial source · checked | NVIDIA CertificationOfficial source · checked |
| Format | Online, remotely proctored certification examOfficial source · checked | Online, remotely proctored certification examOfficial source · checked |
| Prerequisites | 1–2 years of experience in accelerated data science, using GPU-based tools to efficiently process and analyze large datasets and improve the performance of machine learning, ETL, and analytics workloads.Official source · checked | Two to three years of hands-on experience in accelerated data science; Strong foundation in machine learning and GPU-accelerated computing; Experience in GPU-based optimization strategies and accelerated data manipulation techniques; Deep understanding of end-to-end data science workflows, from data preparation and cleansing to model development and deployment, with a focus on leveraging GPU acceleration for enhanced performance and efficiencyOfficial source · checked |
Provider-listed modules and exam domains
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Accelerated Data Science (NCA-ADS)
- Data Manipulation and Preparation — Exam domain; 23%. · Source
- Machine Learning With RAPIDS — Exam domain; 16%. · Source
- Data Science Pipelines and Workflow Automation — Exam domain; 13%. · Source
- Descriptive Analysis and Visualization — Exam domain; 13%. · Source
- Foundations of Accelerated Data Science — Exam domain; 12%. · Source
- Introductory MLOps Practices — Exam domain; 10%. · Source
- Advance Data Structures — Exam domain; 7%. · Source
- Software and Environment Management — Exam domain; 6%. · Source
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: Accelerated Data Science (NCP-ADS)
What the credentials are
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Accelerated Data Science (NCA-ADS)
- Credential type
- NVIDIA Certification · Source
- Credential
- NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Accelerated Data Science · Source
- Issuer
- NVIDIA · Source
- Sharing
- Digital badge and optional certificate after passing. · Source
- Expiry and renewal
- Valid for two years from issuance; recertification by retaking the exam. · Source
- Exam requirement
- Pass the certification exam; passing threshold is not stated. · Source
- Exam required
- Yes · Source
- Credential expires
- Yes · Source
- Renewal
- Retake the exam. · Source
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: Accelerated Data Science (NCP-ADS)
- Credential type
- NVIDIA Certification · Source
- Credential
- NVIDIA-Certified Professional: Accelerated Data Science · Source
- Issuer
- NVIDIA · Source
- Sharing
- Digital badge and optional certificate after passing. · Source
- Expiry and renewal
- Valid for two years from issuance; recertification by retaking the exam. · Source
- Exam requirement
- Pass the certification exam; passing threshold is not stated. · Source
- Exam required
- Yes · Source
- Credential expires
- Yes · Source
- Renewal
- Retake the exam. · Source
Cost for the stated scope
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Accelerated Data Science (NCA-ADS)
Estimate for the stated payment scope: USD 125 × 1 = USD 125.
- One certification exam attempt: USD 125 × 1 = USD 125. One exam registration; not preparation cost or a guarantee of passing. · Source
Scope: USD 125 for one exam attempt, normalized from the dollar amount on NVIDIA's official US page; taxes, preparation and repeat attempts are separate. · Source
Retakes: Repeat-attempt cost is not established in the reviewed sources. · Source
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: Accelerated Data Science (NCP-ADS)
Estimate for the stated payment scope: USD 200 × 1 = USD 200.
- One certification exam attempt: USD 200 × 1 = USD 200. One exam registration; not preparation cost or a guarantee of passing. · Source
Scope: USD 200 for one exam attempt, normalized from the dollar amount on NVIDIA's official US page; taxes, preparation and repeat attempts are separate. · Source
Retakes: Repeat-attempt cost is not established in the reviewed sources. · Source
Who should skip these options
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Accelerated Data Science (NCA-ADS)
- Professionals with less than one to two years of experience using GPU-based tools for data science and ETL workloads. · Source
- Individuals seeking a permanent or lifetime credential, as this certification expires after two years and requires retaking the exam to renew. · Source
- Candidates who require the exam in a language other than English. · Source
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: Accelerated Data Science (NCP-ADS)
Prerequisites and Target Audience
Both certifications target a similar core audience of data scientists, data engineers, and machine learning engineers, though the professional credential adds applied data scientists to its profile. The primary distinction lies in required experience. The entry-level NCA-ADS recommends one to two years of experience using GPU-based tools for dataset processing and workflow improvement. In contrast, the intermediate-level NCP-ADS requires two to three years of hands-on accelerated data science experience. Professional candidates are expected to possess a strong foundation in machine learning, GPU optimization strategies, and end-to-end workflow deployment from preparation to production, indicating a shift from foundational usage to advanced implementation and strategy.
Scope and Exam Blueprint Topics
While both exams cover data preparation and machine learning, their emphases differ significantly. The NCA-ADS focuses heavily on data manipulation (23%) and machine learning with RAPIDS (16%), testing foundational concepts like GPU versus CPU workloads and basic pipeline automation. The NCP-ADS shifts focus toward broader architectural and deployment challenges, dedicating 19% to MLOps, including deploying and monitoring production models. It also emphasizes data manipulation and software literacy (19%), testing candidates on distributed frameworks like Dask, data caching, and dependency management with Docker. The professional exam expects deeper knowledge of optimization, distributed processing, and the CRISP-DM methodology compared to the associate credential.
Exam Format, Pricing, and Validity
Both credentials are remotely proctored in English, valid for two years, and renewed by retaking the exam. NCA-ADS costs USD 125 and lists 50–60 questions in 60 minutes. NCP-ADS costs USD 200 and lists 60–70 questions, but its page conflicts on sitting time: the overview says 90 minutes while the details table says 120 minutes. Neither duration is a preparation estimate. The Associate page states one to two years of relevant experience; the Professional page states two to three years plus deeper machine-learning, GPU-computing and end-to-end workflow knowledge. Confirm the Professional appointment length before booking.
Which to choose if…
NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Accelerated Data Science (NCA-ADS)
Choose the NCA-ADS if you have one to two years of experience and want to validate entry-level proficiency in using GPU-accelerated tools like RAPIDS for foundational data preparation, machine learning, and ETL pipelines.
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: Accelerated Data Science (NCP-ADS)
Choose the NCP-ADS if you have two to three years of hands-on experience and need to validate intermediate-level expertise in distributed computing, advanced GPU optimization, and deploying end-to-end MLOps workflows into production.
Alternatives in the registry
Related by topic or level.
- AWS Certified Machine Learning Engineer - AssociatePrice: USD 150 (USD 150 for one MLA-C01 attempt; English testing ends September 28, 2026. Japanese, Korean and Simplified Chinese continue until MLA-C02 general availability. Preparation is separate.)Official source · checked Duration: 130 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation timeOfficial source · checked
- Databricks Certified Machine Learning ProfessionalPrice: USD 200 (USD 200 for one attempt plus applicable taxes under local law; optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate.)Official source · checked Duration: 120 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation timeOfficial source · checked
- Databricks Certified Generative AI Engineer AssociatePrice: USD 200 (USD 200 for the stated exam registration scope. The official US page displays $200; USD is normalized under the accepted US-source rule, not quoted as a literal ISO label. Preparation, taxes and repeat-attempt costs are separate.)Official source · checked Duration: 90 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation timeOfficial source · checked
Official pages and editorial sources
- NVIDIA-Certified Associate: Accelerated Data Science (NCA-ADS) — official page ↗
- NVIDIA-Certified Professional: Accelerated Data Science (NCP-ADS) — official page ↗
Editorial checked . No commercial relationship is documented for this comparison.