Program comparison
Should You Choose DataCamp's Image Processing or Deep Learning in Python Track?
For a Python learner choosing image-processing applications or broader neural-network training across images and text.
When choosing between DataCamp's Image Processing in Python and Deep Learning in Python tracks, Python learners must decide whether their immediate goal is applied image manipulation or broader neural network training. Both beginner-level tracks are available through a DataCamp Premium subscription—priced at USD 35 for a regular one-month period as of September 2026—but they serve distinctly different technical objectives. The Image Processing track focuses specifically on preparing, analyzing, and modeling visual data using Keras. In contrast, the Deep Learning track offers a more comprehensive introduction to the PyTorch framework, extending beyond imagery to include text and transformer models.
Facts side by side
Swipe or scroll the table to compare both programs.
| Fact | Image Processing in Python | Deep Learning in Python |
|---|---|---|
| Price | DataCamp Premium — USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular priceOfficial source · checked | DataCamp Premium — USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular priceOfficial source · checked |
| Duration | 12 hours (Provider-listed track duration; not guaranteed elapsed completion time.)Official source · checked | 18 hoursOfficial source · checked |
| Level | BeginnerOfficial source · checked | BeginnerOfficial source · checked |
| Credential | Statement of AccomplishmentOfficial source · checked | Statement of AccomplishmentOfficial source · checked |
| Format | TrackOfficial source · checked | Online self-paced learning trackOfficial source · checked |
| Prerequisites | There are no prerequisites for this trackOfficial source · checked | There are no prerequisites for this trackOfficial source · checked |
Provider-listed modules and exam domains
Image Processing in Python
Deep Learning in Python
- Introduction to Deep Learning with PyTorch — Course; provider-listed track item. · Source
- Intermediate Deep Learning with PyTorch — Course; provider-listed track item. · Source
- Building an E-Commerce Clothing Classifier Model — Bonus project · Source
- Deep Learning for Images with PyTorch — Course; provider-listed track item. · Source
- Deep Learning for Text with PyTorch — Course; provider-listed track item. · Source
- Transformer Models with PyTorch — Course; provider-listed track item. · Source
What the credentials are
Image Processing in Python
- Credential type
- Statement of Accomplishment · www.datacamp.com / image-processing
- Credential
- Statement of Accomplishment · www.datacamp.com / image-processing
- Issuer
- DataCamp · www.datacamp.com / image-processing
- Sharing
- Add this credential to your LinkedIn profile, resume, or CV; share it on social media and in your performance review. · www.datacamp.com / image-processing
Deep Learning in Python
- Credential type
- Statement of Accomplishment · www.datacamp.com / deep-learning-in-python
- Credential
- Statement of Accomplishment · www.datacamp.com / deep-learning-in-python
- Issuer
- DataCamp · www.datacamp.com / deep-learning-in-python
- Sharing
- Add this credential to your LinkedIn profile, resume, or CV; share it on social media and in your performance review. · www.datacamp.com / deep-learning-in-python
- Exam required
- provider does not state · www.datacamp.com / deep-learning-in-python
- Credential expires
- provider does not state · www.datacamp.com / deep-learning-in-python
- Renewal
- provider does not state · www.datacamp.com / deep-learning-in-python
Who should skip these options
Image Processing in Python
Deep Learning in Python
- Learners starting from no machine-learning background should consider the narrative's recommendation for familiarity with traditional ML, even though the formal prerequisite section lists none. · Source
- Learners choosing primarily for a one-time purchase: the sourced access route is a Premium subscription, with billing periods to consider. · Source
Curriculum Scope and Learner Tradeoffs
While both tracks are listed at the beginner level, they serve different starting points. The Image Processing in Python track is tailored for developers and image analysts focusing specifically on visual data, covering biomedical image analysis and modeling with Keras. You should skip this track if your goal is to understand modern natural language processing or general-purpose neural network architectures. Conversely, the Deep Learning in Python program is designed for learners familiar with traditional machine learning who want to transition to deep learning. It uses PyTorch to teach models for both images and text, including transformer architectures. The provider nevertheless lists no prerequisites and labels the track Beginner. Familiarity with traditional machine learning is audience guidance, not an established mandatory entry requirement.
Time Commitment and Access Costs
Both programs operate on DataCamp's subscription model, granting access through a recurring Premium membership rather than an upfront purchase. The Image Processing track is listed with 12 hours of track content, while the Deep Learning track lists 18 official track hours. These figures are provider estimates and do not guarantee your actual elapsed completion time. As checked in September 2026, a regular month of Premium access costs USD 35. Because the subscription renews monthly, your total financial commitment depends on your learning pace; this access price does not represent a guaranteed total cost to finish either curriculum. Upon completing either track, learners receive a Statement of Accomplishment. The accepted program facts do not establish exam requirements, expiration dates or renewal terms for these credentials.
Bottom line
Ultimately, the choice between these two DataCamp tracks depends on the breadth of your machine learning ambitions. The Image Processing program provides a shorter, 12-hour focused path for learners who need immediate, specialized skills for visual data analysis and modeling. The Deep Learning program lists a longer estimate of 18 hours and offers a wider foundation in PyTorch, equipping them to tackle modern neural network challenges across both images and natural language text.
Which to choose if…
Image Processing in Python
Choose Image Processing in Python if your primary objective involves direct image analysis, restoration, or specialized fields like biomedical imaging, and you prefer working within the Keras framework.
Deep Learning in Python
Choose Deep Learning in Python if you already understand traditional machine learning concepts and want a comprehensive introduction to the PyTorch ecosystem that covers both visual and text-based neural network models.
Alternatives in the registry
Related by topic or level.
- Keras FundamentalsPrice: DataCamp Premium — USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular priceOfficial source · checked Duration: 16 hours (Provider-listed track duration; not guaranteed elapsed completion time.)Official source · checked
- Machine Learning Fundamentals in PythonPrice: DataCamp Premium — USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular priceOfficial source · checked Duration: 16 hoursOfficial source · checked
- AI FundamentalsPrice: DataCamp Premium — USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular priceOfficial source · checked Duration: Approximately 9 hoursOfficial source · checked
Official pages and editorial sources
Editorial checked . No commercial relationship is documented for this comparison.