Program comparison

Associate AI Engineer for Developers vs. Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists: which fits your learning goal?

For a Python practitioner choosing application development or model development training

Official sites. No commission.

For a Python practitioner deciding between application development and model development training, both DataCamp learning tracks offer structured preparation. The Developer track focuses on building software applications using APIs and existing models, while the Data Scientist track addresses the mechanisms of model training and deep learning. Both award a Statement of Accomplishment for track completion. That completion artifact is distinct from a separately assessed DataCamp certification.

Facts side by side

Swipe or scroll the table to compare both programs.

Price and duration retain their stated scope.
FactAssociate AI Engineer for DevelopersAssociate AI Engineer for Data Scientists
PriceDataCamp Premium · USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price[1]DataCamp Premium · USD 35/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price[1]
Duration29 content hours[2]40 hours of listed content[3]
CredentialStatement of Accomplishment[2]Statement of Accomplishment[3]
FormatLearning track Online DataCamp learning track; 13 courses plus 2 bonus projects (15 track items).[3]
PrerequisitesThe formal prerequisites section states there are no prerequisites for this track.[2]Formal prerequisites section: There are no prerequisites for this track. Context qualification: the audience section says it builds on existing machine-learning and Python knowledge.[3]

Official sites. No commission.

Provider-listed modules and exam domains

Associate AI Engineer for Developers

  • Working with the OpenAI API · Course · [9]
  • Prompt Engineering with the OpenAI API · Course · [9]
  • Planning a Trip to Paris with the OpenAI API · Bonus project · [9]
  • Working with Hugging Face · Course · [9]
  • LLMOps Concepts · Course · [9]
  • Working with the OpenAI Responses API · Course · [9]
  • Introduction to Embeddings with the OpenAI API · Course · [9]
  • Topic Analysis of Clothing Reviews with Embeddings · Bonus project · [9]
  • Building AI Applications with Pinecone · Course · [9]
  • Software Engineering Principles in Python · Course · [9]
  • Developing LLM Applications with LangChain · Course · [9]
  • Introduction to Model Context Protocol (MCP) · Course · [9]

Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists

  • Supervised Learning with scikit-learn · Course · [3]
  • Unsupervised Learning in Python · Course · [3]
  • Working with Hugging Face · Course · [3]
  • Introduction to Deep Learning with PyTorch · Course · [3]
  • Explainable AI in Python · Course · [3]
  • Intermediate Deep Learning with PyTorch · Course · [3]
  • Developing Multi-Input Models For OCR · Bonus project · [3]
  • Responsible AI Data Management · Course · [3]
  • Introduction to LLMs in Python · Course · [3]
  • Analyzing Car Reviews with LLMs · Bonus project · [3]
  • Working with Llama 3 · Course · [3]
  • MLOps Concepts · Course · [3]
  • Software Engineering Principles in Python · Course · [3]
  • Introduction to Git · Course · [3]
  • Introduction to Testing in Python · Course · [3]

What the credentials are

Associate AI Engineer for Developers

Credential type
Statement of Accomplishment · [10]
Credential
Statement of Accomplishment · [10]
Issuer
DataCamp · [10]
Sharing
Downloadable and shareable on LinkedIn, resume/CV, social media and performance review. · [10]
Credential scope
This is the completion artifact for the preparation Career Track, not the AI Engineer for Developers Associate Certification. · [10]
Exam required
provider does not state · [10]
Credential expires
provider does not state · [10]
Renewal
provider does not state · [10]

Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists

Credential type
Statement of Accomplishment · [3]
Credential
Statement of Accomplishment · [3]
Sharing
Share on LinkedIn, a resume or CV, social media, or in a performance review. · [3]
Credential scope
Completing the track earns a Statement of Accomplishment. The page separately advertises preparation for certification; track completion alone is not that certification. · [3]
Exam required
provider does not state · [3]
Credential expires
provider does not state · [3]
Renewal
provider does not state · [3]

Cost for the stated scope

Associate AI Engineer for Developers

Conditional regular-price estimate: If you purchase 1 monthly billing period of Premium for course content, USD 35 × 1 = USD 35.

USD 35/month, billed monthly. [1]

Premium for Individuals. English public pages with USD explicitly selected; visitor country not stated. Monthly regular access observed 2026-09-08 was USD 35. Annual regular access observed 2026-09-05 was USD 330, billed annually; a time-limited promotion was displayed on 5 September 2026. Access price is not a guarantee of track completion.

This is an access-payment scenario, not a guarantee of finishing within that time. Course hours do not determine billing periods. Activity-plan upgrades and future renewals are not included or assumed.

Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists

Conditional regular-price estimate: If you purchase 1 monthly billing period of Premium for course content, USD 35 × 1 = USD 35.

USD 35/month, billed monthly. [1]

Premium for Individuals. English public pages with USD explicitly selected; visitor country not stated. Monthly regular access observed 2026-09-08 was USD 35. Annual regular access observed 2026-09-05 was USD 330, billed annually; a time-limited promotion was displayed on 5 September 2026. Access price is not a guarantee of track completion.

This is an access-payment scenario, not a guarantee of finishing within that time. Course hours do not determine billing periods. Activity-plan upgrades and future renewals are not included or assumed.

Who should skip these options

Associate AI Engineer for Developers

  • Skip this route if you want only a no-code overview: the curriculum uses Python, APIs, and software-development libraries. · [9]
  • Do not choose track completion as a substitute for earning the separate certification; the page describes certification preparation and a completion statement separately. · [9]

Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists

  • Skip this track if you want to avoid coding and model development: its sequence includes Python, PyTorch, model training, and testing. · [12]
  • Do not use the completion statement as a substitute for the separately advertised certification; the page distinguishes completion from certification preparation. · [12]

Curriculum and Audience Focus

The Associate AI Engineer for Developers track targets software developers and emphasizes practical integration of artificial intelligence into applications. Its curriculum centers on working with the OpenAI API, Hugging Face, LangChain, vector databases like Pinecone, LLMOps, and embeddings. Learners will review software engineering principles in Python while navigating coursework and encountering bonus projects covering topics such as planning a trip to Paris and topic analysis of clothing reviews.

Conversely, the Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists track targets data scientists transitioning into AI engineering and production-ready work. Its model-development curriculum covers supervised and unsupervised learning, scikit-learn, PyTorch, explainable AI with SHAP and LIME, and responsible data management. The syllabus also explores LLMs, Llama 3, CNNs, RNNs, LSTMs, GRUs, Git, and Python testing. This track presents coursework and bonus projects related to developing multi-input models for OCR and analyzing car reviews.

Content Workload and Prerequisites

The Developer track contains 29 hours of listed content workload. The official prerequisites section explicitly states there are no prerequisites for beginning this track. (Figures as checked on 8 September 2026.)

The Data Scientist track represents a larger volume of material, featuring 40 hours of listed content. While its formal prerequisites section also lists no entry requirements, the audience description qualifies that the material builds upon existing machine-learning and Python knowledge. For both tracks, the published hours represent the provider's estimate of content workload, not a promised or estimated calendar schedule for completion. (Figures as checked on 6 September 2026.)

Credentials and Subscription Access

Both tracks name their completion artifact a Statement of Accomplishment. That shared name does not establish identical credential terms or turn either track into an exam certification. The reviewed facts leave exam requirements, expiry, and renewal for these completion statements unknown. Keep any separate Career Certification terms attached to that separate credential.

Both tracks have a sourced regular DataCamp Premium price of USD 35 for one month of access. This is a like-for-like access payment, not a fixed completion tuition. The total amount paid depends on the subscription route and billing periods selected, so the shorter listed workload does not by itself guarantee a lower bill. Choose the curriculum for the skills you want to practise rather than treating an equal monthly price as evidence of equal course scope. (Figures as checked: Developer track price 8 September 2026; Data Scientist track price 6 September 2026.)

Which to choose if…

Associate AI Engineer for Developers

Choose the Associate AI Engineer for Developers track if you want to focus on integrating APIs, LangChain, and Pinecone into software applications with an application-integration emphasis.

Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists

Choose the Associate AI Engineer for Data Scientists track if you intend to train and explain models using PyTorch and scikit-learn, and you already possess foundational machine-learning knowledge.

Alternatives in the registry

Related by topic or level.

  • AI engineerPrice: Check official price · Price observation recorded 6 Sep 2026: No separately sold track price is stated. The platform-wide Self-Study plan displays a regular comparison price of $36/month and an observed $29/month billed annually offer. ISO currency and a separately monthly-billed amount were not established; neither display is treated as a source-checked completion total.[4]Duration: 32 hours of content[5]
  • Introduction to Generative AI Learning Path SpecializationPrice: Coursera Plus Monthly · USD 59 / month regular. Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout.[6]Duration: Hero: 4 weeks at 10 hours per week; four course estimates total 4 hours 16 minutes. Conflicting provider estimates with distinct scopes, not completion guarantees.[22]
  • IBM AI Developer Professional CertificatePrice: Coursera Plus Monthly · USD 59 / month regular. Outside the US, local currency and pricing are shown at checkout.[6]Duration: 6 months at 4 hours per week[8]

Sources

Editorial checked . No commercial relationship is documented for this comparison.

  1. www.datacamp.com/pricing?period=monthly · checked
  2. www.datacamp.com/tracks/associate-ai-engineer-for-developers · checked
  3. www.datacamp.com/tracks/associate-ai-engineer-for-data-scientists · checked
  4. 365datascience.com/pricing/ · checked
  5. 365datascience.com/career-tracks/ai-engineer/ · checked
  6. www.coursera.org/courseraplus/special/cplus-monthly-august-2026-global · checked
  7. www.coursera.org/specializations/introduction-to-generative-ai · checked
  8. www.coursera.org/professional-certificates/applied-artifical-intelligence-ibm-watson-ai · checked
  9. www.datacamp.com/tracks/associate-ai-engineer-for-developers · checked
  10. www.datacamp.com/tracks/associate-ai-engineer-for-developers · checked
  11. www.datacamp.com/certification/ai-engineer-for-developers-associate · checked
  12. www.datacamp.com/tracks/associate-ai-engineer-for-data-scientists · checked
  13. support.datacamp.com/hc/en-us/articles/360017301033-DataCamp-Tracks · checked
  14. support.datacamp.com/hc/en-us/articles/360037240453-Statements-of-Accomplishment-Frequently-Asked-Questions · checked
  15. www.datacamp.com/pricing?period=monthly · checked
  16. www.datacamp.com/tracks/associate-ai-engineer-for-developers
  17. www.datacamp.com/tracks/associate-ai-engineer-for-data-scientists
  18. support.datacamp.com/hc/en-us/articles/360017301033-DataCamp-Tracks · checked
  19. support.datacamp.com/hc/en-us/articles/360037240453-Statements-of-Accomplishment-Frequently-Asked-Questions · checked
  20. www.datacamp.com/certification/ai-engineer-for-developers-associate · checked
  21. www.datacamp.com/tracks/associate-ai-engineer-for-data-scientists · checked
  22. www.coursera.org/specializations/introduction-to-generative-ai · checked
← All comparisons