Program profile · official sources

Introduction to Vector Databases with Pinecone

A Pinecone semantic-search course for learners ready to use intermediate Python and a third-party API account.

Commercial disclosure: Academies.ai has an affiliate agreement with 365 Data Science. If you enroll through links on this page we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This does not affect our assessment; rankings cannot be purchased.

Who it is for

The stored audience statement focuses on implementing Pinecone semantic search with real data.

Who should skip it

Do not select this if you cannot supply the required Pinecone account and API key or follow intermediate Python work.

Official source · 2026-09-09

Facts checked 7 Oct 2026

Price
365 Data Science Self-Study · USD 36/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price
365 Data Science Self-Study · USD 36/month for course content, billed monthly at the regular price. (see
USD price displayed on the official English pricing page, checked 9 September 2026; regional checkout pricing and taxes are not established. ·
Provider link

See price and enroll at 365 Data Science (official site) ↗

We may earn a commission. It does not change our facts.

Time
2 hours

Listed content hours, not completion time. Official course-page advertised content duration, not total completion time; the 365 course catalog also showed 2 hours of content on 3 October 2026.

Level
Advanced
Credential
Course certificate
Format
Online self-paced course
Prerequisites
Python (version 3.8 or later), Pinecone account and API key, and a code editor or IDE (e.g., VS Code or Jupyter Notebook); Intermediate Python skills are required. Familiarity with embeddings, APIs, or LangChain is helpful but not mandatory.

Course and activity access

Individual courses are included in Self-Study; the plan provides access to certification exams and accredited certificates. Free includes course previews.. Official source

What you actually do

You examine vector spaces and embedding algorithms before implementing semantic search with Python and Pinecone. A case study uses custom data to connect the concepts to an application. The course's focus is the search component and its implementation, which is a more specific objective than studying a whole AI-engineering pathway.

Clarify whether the search component is the part of your intended application you need to understand. If you are still learning Python or have not worked with API accounts, those requirements may be the immediate preparation task. If you already have that foundation, a case study with custom data can be a useful criterion for comparing this focused course with a wider programme. It is not evidence that every retrieval or application problem is covered.

Official source · 2026-10-07

Before you start

Python (version 3.8 or later), Pinecone account and API key, and a code editor or IDE (e.g., VS Code or Jupyter Notebook); Intermediate Python skills are required. Familiarity with embeddings, APIs, or LangChain is helpful but not mandatory.

Official source · 2026-09-09

Curriculum

Pinecone's case-study and exam allocations retain their own recorded durations. The denominator is their summed entry minutes; account setup and additional API experimentation are not priced or timed by that calculation.

EntrySubjectListed timeShareRoleObserved
1Introduction To Vector Databases12 min8.1%2026-09-09
2Basics Of Vector Space And High-Dimensional Data15 min10.1%2026-09-09
3Introduction To The Pinecone Vector Database29 min19.6%2026-09-09
4Case Study Semantic Search With Pinecone And Custom Data62 min41.9%2026-09-09
5Course Exam30 min20.3%Provider-listed exam or combined project/exam section; duration kept separate from advertised content hours.2026-09-09

Allocation denominator: 148.0 summed minutes; each displayed share = entry minutes / 148.0 × 100, rounded to one decimal.

US price

Purchase informationRecorded terms
Access and billingAs observed in the United States on 2026-09-09, USD 36 buys one month of Self-Study access at the regular monthly price. This is not a fixed completion total; third-party usage may cost extra.
Refund and retakesRefund and retake terms are not established in these stored policy fields.

Official source · 2026-09-09 | Official source · 2026-09-09

Alternatives

The alternatives widen the view from a vector-database implementation to an engineering path and retrieval-augmented generation. Compare them according to the part of the workflow you need to learn, then examine their assessment and access conditions. A component course and an end-to-end learning sequence should not be ranked by their content-time figures alone.

AI Engineer in Python

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
Dataquest · Self-paced online career path with interactive lessons and exercises in the browser and guided projectsBeginner friendly11 months at 5 hours a week (provider headline, shown as "11 months (5 hrs/week)"); each of the 33 courses is listed with its own hours on the path outline. Provider estimates, not an elapsed completion promise.Provider-issued certificateNo accepted price. As shown in the United States on 12 October 2026, the Dataquest plans page lists Free (forever), Premium and Team plans and says Premium is billed monthly or annually, but no Premium or Team amount is rendered in the captured page text. The path page shows "Enroll For Free".
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
What preparation is required?No prerequisite is listed for the path: the Dataquest plans page FAQ says "No prerequisites are required" and that its career paths start from the very basics; the path page labels it "Beginner friendly".
How is the award earned?Dataquest says it awards a certificate for every course and path you complete and that certificates are earned by completing courses, which requires a paid subscription; the plans page lists Assessments and Certificates for Premium and Team, not for the Free plan. No passing score is stated on the captured pages.
What remains unconfirmed?Passing score, certificate expiry and renewal are not stated on the captured pages.

Official source · 2026-10-12 | Official source · 2026-10-12

Official source · 2026-10-12 | Official source · 2026-10-12

Retrieval Augmented Generation (RAG)

Provider and formatLevelWorkloadAwardUS price observation
DeepLearning.AI · Online, self-paced course with 49 video lessons, 9 code examples and 10 graded assignments in five modules; also offered on CourseraIntermediateCoursera page (27 October 2026): 3 weeks at 10 hours a week, modules of 6, 6, 6, 7 and 6 hours to complete. DeepLearning.AI course page (27 October 2026), a different estimate: 26h3m of content and about a month at about 5 hours per week. Both are recorded as shown; no combined duration is computed.Course completion certificateAs shown in the United States on 27 October 2026, the DeepLearning.AI course page shows no price: the certificate comes with the PRO membership, whose plan amounts did not render on the captured membership page. On Coursera the course is shown as included with Coursera Plus, displayed at $59/month (7-day free trial, cancel anytime) or $399/year (14-day money-back guarantee). These are subscription prices, not a fixed course completion total.
Entry and assessment questionsRecorded answer
Who is it aimed at?Engineers working in AI who want to design, build and evaluate production RAG systems, with intermediate Python and basic generative AI knowledge.
What preparation is required?No admission requirement is stated on the captured pages. Recommended background: intermediate Python skills are required; basic knowledge of generative AI and high school level math is helpful.
How is the award earned?No separate certification exam is stated. The course page FAQ says you receive a certificate if you pay or receive financial aid and complete the assessments; certificate eligibility is limited to 180 days, after which the course must be re-purchased; free auditors receive no certificate.
What remains unconfirmed?Expiry and renewal of the certificate are not stated on the captured pages.

Official source · 2026-10-27

Official source · 2026-10-27 | Official source · 2026-10-27 | Official source · 2026-10-27 | Official source · 2026-10-27

Questions before enrolling

What is required for the Pinecone course certificate?

The award is Course certificate, issued by 365 Data Science. Provider curriculum includes course exam; exact pass requirements not captured.

Official source · 2026-09-09

Change log

  • : Registry admission from previously reviewed official evidence; individual fact dates are preserved. · Source
← All programs