Program comparison
NVIDIA NCP-AII vs NCP-AIO: deploy infrastructure or operate it?
For an experienced NVIDIA infrastructure professional choosing deployment validation or ongoing operations
Official sites. No commission.
The NVIDIA Certified Professional AI Infrastructure (NCP-AII) and AI Operations (NCP-AIO) certifications validate intermediate-level expertise in managing NVIDIA data center environments. Both require two to three years of operational experience with NVIDIA hardware solutions and are valid for two years. However, they target different phases of the infrastructure lifecycle. The NCP-AII focuses on the physical deployment, configuration, and validation of hardware and control planes. Conversely, the NCP-AIO emphasizes the ongoing monitoring, workload administration, and troubleshooting of active AI clusters using tools like Kubernetes and Slurm.
Facts side by side
Swipe or scroll the table to compare both programs.
| Fact | NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Infrastructure (NCP-AII) | NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Operations (NCP-AIO) |
|---|---|---|
| Price | USD 400 (USD 400 for one exam attempt, normalized from the dollar amount on NVIDIA's official US page; preparation and repeat attempts are separate.)[1] | USD 500 (USD 500 for one exam attempt, normalized from the dollar amount on NVIDIA's official US page; preparation and repeat attempts are separate.)[2] |
| Duration | 120 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation time[1] | 120 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation time[2] |
| Level | Professional[1] | Professional[2] |
| Credential | NVIDIA Certification[1] | NVIDIA Certification[2] |
| Format | Online, remotely proctored certification exam[1] | Online, remotely proctored certification exam with 30 multiple-choice questions and 3 hands-on labs[2] |
| Prerequisites | Two to three years of operational experience working in a data center with NVIDIA hardware solutions. The candidate should be able to deploy all the parts of a data center infrastructure in support of AI workloads.[1] | Two to three years of operational experience working in a data center with NVIDIA hardware solutions. The candidate should be able to monitor and manage all the parts of a data center infrastructure in support of AI workloads.[2] |
Official sites. No commission.
Provider-listed modules and exam domains
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Infrastructure (NCP-AII)
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Operations (NCP-AIO)
What the credentials are
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Infrastructure (NCP-AII)
- Credential type
- NVIDIA Certification · [1]
- Credential
- NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Infrastructure · [1]
- Issuer
- NVIDIA · [1]
- Sharing
- Digital badge and optional certificate after passing. · [1]
- Expiry and renewal
- Valid for two years from issuance; recertification by retaking the exam. · [1]
- Exam requirement
- Pass the certification exam; passing threshold is not stated. · [1]
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Operations (NCP-AIO)
- Credential type
- NVIDIA Certification · [2]
- Credential
- NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Operations · [2]
- Issuer
- NVIDIA · [2]
- Sharing
- Digital badge and optional certificate after passing. · [2]
- Expiry and renewal
- Valid for two years from issuance; recertification by retaking the exam. · [2]
- Exam requirement
- Pass the certification exam; passing threshold is not stated. · [2]
Cost for the stated scope
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Infrastructure (NCP-AII)
Estimate for the stated payment scope: USD 400 × 1 = USD 400.
- One certification exam attempt: USD 400 × 1 = USD 400. One exam registration; not preparation cost or a guarantee of passing. · [1]
Scope: USD 400 for one exam attempt, normalized from the dollar amount on NVIDIA's official US page; preparation and repeat attempts are separate. · [1]
Retakes: General NVIDIA certification retake policy (NVIDIA certification FAQ, as shown in the United States on 6 October 2026): "If you don’t pass an exam on the first attempt, you can purchase the exam again. There’s a 14-day waiting period before the exam can be retaken." "You may not take any given exam more than five times per year (12 months)." The USD 400 above is the price of one attempt; the FAQ states no separate retake amount. · [9]
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Operations (NCP-AIO)
Estimate for the stated payment scope: USD 500 × 1 = USD 500.
- One certification exam attempt: USD 500 × 1 = USD 500. One exam registration; not preparation cost or a guarantee of passing. · [2]
Scope: USD 500 for one exam attempt, normalized from the dollar amount on NVIDIA's official US page; preparation and repeat attempts are separate. · [2]
Retakes: General NVIDIA certification retake policy (NVIDIA certification FAQ, as shown in the United States on 6 October 2026): "If you don’t pass an exam on the first attempt, you can purchase the exam again. There’s a 14-day waiting period before the exam can be retaken." "You may not take any given exam more than five times per year (12 months)." The USD 500 above is the price of one attempt; the FAQ states no separate retake amount. · [9]
Who should skip these options
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Infrastructure (NCP-AII)
- Professionals lacking two to three years of operational experience working in a data center with NVIDIA hardware solutions. · [1]
- Individuals who are not yet capable of deploying all components of a data center infrastructure in support of AI workloads. · [1]
- Learners seeking a foundational or beginner-level certification, as this credential is characterized as intermediate-level. · [1]
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Operations (NCP-AIO)
- Individuals without two to three years of operational experience working in a data center with NVIDIA hardware solutions. · [2]
- People who are not comfortable using a Linux command-line interface to operate live clusters with Slurm, Kubernetes, and Base Command Manager. · [2]
- Those seeking an introductory credential rather than an intermediate-level, professional assessment. · [2]
Scope and Target Audience
The NCP-AII is designed for infrastructure, network, and storage administrators focused on the initial build phase. Its scope covers system and server bring-up, physical layer management, control plane installation, and cluster verification. Candidates must know how to deploy data center infrastructure for AI workloads, including physical GPUs and cabling. The NCP-AIO is tailored for MLOps engineers, DevOps engineers, and system architects responsible for day-to-day operations. Its scope centers on administering existing infrastructure, managing workloads, and troubleshooting. AIO candidates must be capable of monitoring and managing infrastructure using software tools like Base Command Manager, Kubernetes, and Run:ai; its emphasis is operations, administration, workloads and troubleshooting, while its blueprint also includes installation and deployment.
Exam Format and Delivery
While both certifications feature 120-minute, remotely proctored online exams, their structures differ significantly. The NCP-AII exam consists entirely of approximately 70 to 75 questions, testing knowledge on topics like network topologies, firmware upgrades, and cluster burn-in testing. In contrast, the NCP-AIO exam integrates practical assessment, consisting of 30 multiple-choice questions alongside three hands-on lab exercises. The AIO lab environment is automatically provisioned during the exam, and candidates must be comfortable navigating a Linux command-line interface on live clusters running Slurm, Kubernetes, and Base Command Manager to successfully complete the practical requirements within the standard time limit.
Pricing and Exam Focus Areas
The financial investment and specific technical domains vary between the two credentials. The NCP-AII is priced at $400 and heavily weighs cluster test and verification (33%) and system and server bring-up (31%), with remaining sections covering control plane configuration (19%), troubleshooting (12%), and physical layer management (5%). The NCP-AIO is priced higher at $500. Its curriculum is divided into installation and deployment (31%), alongside equal 23% weightings for administration, workload management, and troubleshooting and optimization. While AII emphasizes hardware validation like High-Performance Linpack (HPL) execution, AIO focuses on software orchestration, such as deploying training and inference workloads.
Which to choose if…
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Infrastructure (NCP-AII)
Choose NCP-AII if your role centers on bringing up, configuring and validating NVIDIA AI infrastructure.
NVIDIA-Certified Professional: AI Operations (NCP-AIO)
Choose NCP-AIO if you operate live AI clusters and need the hands-on Linux, Slurm and Kubernetes assessment.
Alternatives in the registry
Related by topic or level.
- AWS Certified Generative AI Developer - Professional (AIP-C01)Price: USD 300 (USD 300 for one attempt; foreign-exchange rates, regional pricing, optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate.)[3]Duration: 180 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation time[3]
- Databricks Certified Machine Learning ProfessionalPrice: USD 200 (USD 200 for one attempt; optional preparation and repeat attempts are separate.)[4]Duration: 120 minutes for the exam assessment; not preparation time[4]
- Professional Machine Learning EngineerPrice: USD 200 (USD 200 for one certification exam registration/attempt. Optional preparation and repeat-attempt costs are separate. Currency is explicitly stated by the first-party Spanish localization.)[5]Duration: 2 hours for the exam assessment; not preparation time[6]
Sources
Editorial checked . No commercial relationship is documented for this comparison.
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/ai-infrastructure-professional/ · checked
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/ai-operations-professional/ · checked
- aws.amazon.com/certification/certified-generative-ai-developer-professional/ · checked
- www.databricks.com/sites/default/files/2025-10/databricks-certified-machine-learning-professional-exam-guide-september.pdf · checked
- cloud.google.com/learn/certification/machine-learning-engineer?hl=es · checked
- cloud.google.com/learn/certification/machine-learning-engineer · checked
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/ai-infrastructure-professional/
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/ai-operations-professional/
- www.nvidia.com/en-us/learn/certification/ · checked